Skip to content

Breadfruit Ravioli with Calabaza Squash Filling (Extras: Vegan Brown Butter Sauce) – THIS SITE HAS MOVED

January 15, 2012

THIS SITE HAS MOVED TO WWW.ISLANDLOVEGOURMET.COM

Untitled-1

 

Breadfruit Pumpkin Ravioli in Vegan Brown Butter Sauce Copyright Taymer Mason

Breadfruit Ravioli with Calabaza Squash Filling Copyright Taymer Mason

I have been tossing around an idea in my head for a while about Caribbean food and I want to bring that idea into reality. I will not say much yet but let this post be a hint to what is coming from me in the future. I am going to create a modern Caribbean cuisine  that focusses on vegetable cuisine. Enough said.

Today I present to  you homemade pasta with a twist. You know how pasta is mostly dependent on eggs well I substituted the eggs with Breadfruit which is a common starchy vegetable common in the Caribbean. For more info on Breadfruit click here. Do not get dishearten  as you can do the ravioli without the breadfruit and you would still get nice pasta but, breadfruit lends its starchy structure to making tender ravioli and tender pasta in general. I have been doing some research on breadfruit independently using my scientific background and  I will be sending proposals to governmental organizations soon to make use of this food in food processing as soon as possible. There is great potential in the breadfruit and the Caribbean people are sleeping as usual.

Breadfruit Ravioli

NOTE TO PEOPLE LIVING OUTSIDE THE CARIBBEAN: you can make this pasta without the breadfruit it would work, you can use local pumpkin where you live and  not Calabaza.

Calabaza Squash Filling

3 heaping tablespoons butter

2 bay leaves

2 shallots finely minced

2 cups of chopped Calabaza squash or pumpkin

1 1/2 tsp fresh thyme

1 1/2 tsp fresh sage

1 tbs nutritional yeast flakes

1 cup soy milk regular not too sweet

large pinch nutmeg

salt and pepper to taste

1 1/2 tsp arrowroot flour or cornstarch.

Heat butter up ( I used Earth Balance  soy free) and add shallots and  bay leaves. Add squash, thyme sage, nutritional yeast, milk, nutmeg and salt and pepper. Stir well and allow to cook on low heat until pumpkin is tender. When pumpkin is tender turn off heat and mash well. Stir in the arrowroot flour and set aside to cool. Take out bay leaves.

Breadfruit Pasta Sheets Copyright Taymer Mason

1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 3/4 cup semolina flour

3/4 cup mashed breadfruit

4 tablespoons olive oil

1 tsp salt

3/4 cup water or more as required

Combine all ingredients and knead well. If mixture is too wet add some more semolina flour. If the mixture is too dry  add some more water.

Divide dough into two pieces and cover with  plastic. Chill for two hours.

Then

Roll thinly with a rolling-pin and pastry mat…work in some semolina flour as you roll and try to stretch the dough by putting more pressure on the rolling-pin and  turning and flipping the dough often.

Step 1

Rolling

Rolling dough thin…you do not need a pasta maker Copyright Taymer Mason

The spoon mixture on to the pasta dough

Calabaza Squash Filling on Breadfruit Pasta Dough Copyright Taymer Mason

Then Cut

Cut  Calabaza Squash Ravioli  Copyright Taymer Mason

Cover with another sheet and use some flax meal with warm water strained to bind the two sheets together.

Covered Breadfruit Pumpkin Ravioli Copyright Taymer Mason

Then place on a lined tray with more semolina flour and refrigerate until ready to use

Breadfruit Ravioli Resting Copyright Taymer Mason

Then cook in vegetable broth. You can cook in salt water with celery and green onionsCooked unsauced Breadfruit Pumpkin Ravioli Copyright Taymer Mason

Now that was easy but we forgot the Sauces

Ravioli should be placed directly into the sauces and cooked for a few more minutes so that the sauce can absorb in the pasta.

Vegan Cheese Sauce for Ravioli Copyright Taymer Mason

Creamy  Cheese Sauce for Breadfruit and Pumpkin Ravioli Copyright Taymer Mason

Creamy Cheese Sauce for Ravioli Copyright Taymer Mason

2 heaping tbs butter ( Earth Balance)

1/2 cup soy milk

1 tsp fresh thyme

2 cloves finely minced garlic…could be less I love garlic

1 tsp fresh chopped sage or dried

1/4 tsp minced Scotch Bonnet pepper or pepper flakes

2 tsp good Dijon mustard

2 heaping tsp residual pumpkin filling, optional

1 tbs nutritional yeast flakes

salt  and pepper to taste

Add add ingredients in a pot and bring to a low simmer…stir and add in freshly cooked ravioli

Plate and enjoy

Do not feel like creamy? Here is this amazing Vegan Brown Butter Sauce made with Earth Balance.

Vegan Brown Butter Sage Sauce

Vegan Brown Butter Sauce Copyright Taymer Mason

3 tablespoons vegan butter

2 tsp chopped sauce

1 tsp chopped thyme

pinch of pepper flakes

1 pinch brown sugar

1 tsp balsamic vinegar

small pinch of salt to taste

Bring all ingredients to a low simmer

Add cooked ravioli to the sauce and serve hot.

WOAH…writing this was like preparing for a birth or something or the other. I am open to questions or just drolls over this one. Shoot me an email or post it on the Facebook wall if  you need help.

This is the first published recipe using breadfruit as pasta…I searched for hours.  Here is hoping I do not see this as an entry in a contest or sans the fat floating around the place…sorry I just had to say it again….I am done now.

Enjoy

23 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2012 6:17 pm

    That looks so delicious! I’ve never been able to find breadfruit locally, so I will just have to drool from afar!

    • Taymer permalink*
      January 15, 2012 6:19 pm

      make it without it works

  2. January 15, 2012 7:21 pm

    The ravioli look so delicious, Taymer! I love pasta and squash together; the texture and flavor combinations are great. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Nice to see you blogging again. 🙂

  3. January 15, 2012 8:26 pm

    yay your back…I missed you taymer. Now I can get more great caribbean recipes. I love this recipe and it sure looks yummy.

  4. Susan permalink
    January 15, 2012 11:01 pm

    Wow, this looks incredible!

  5. January 16, 2012 7:31 am

    I love it !

  6. January 17, 2012 10:55 am

    I am a visual person, and this helps a lot, thanks for the recipe and tutorial!

    • Taymer permalink*
      January 17, 2012 1:42 pm

      I am not too visual so I did not do this much when I use to write this blog now I prefer to do less blog post with more photos and tutorials…will be doing videos soon when I get that hooked up.

      • January 17, 2012 1:44 pm

        Love videos even more! That’s great Taymer! Thanks!

  7. Bajangyal permalink
    January 19, 2012 1:27 pm

    beautiful T! looks really tasty

  8. January 22, 2012 3:48 pm

    This looks just divine. I used to make a butternut squash tortellini quite like this. I must try this one out.

  9. January 25, 2012 12:22 am

    Amazing, can’t wait to make this!

  10. January 26, 2012 6:17 pm

    Just want to thank you for this blog! Have a friend who turned vegan a few months ago, which sparked my own interest. She was my fellow foodie, so I’m so glad I found this so I can share this with her. Will definitely get your book!

  11. Surya permalink
    March 31, 2012 6:51 pm

    For the Brown Butter Sage Sauce, you call for “2 tsp chopped sauce”.

    Did you mean chopped squash?

  12. July 24, 2012 10:21 am

    Such a good idea to add balsamic vinegar to the butter sauce for that “browned” effect since their are no dairy solids to brown up. Yay, Tamer!

  13. June 19, 2013 12:41 pm

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after going through a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

  14. June 24, 2013 7:15 am

    I leave a response whenever I like a article on a website or I have something to add
    to the conversation. Usually it’s caused by the fire communicated in the article I read. And after this post Breadfruit Ravioli with Calabaza Squash Filling (Extras: Vegan Brown Butter Sauce) | Vegan In The Sun. I was moved enough to post a leave a responsea response 😛 I actually do have some questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Could it be just me or do some of these comments appear like coming from brain dead
    people? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online sites, I’d like to follow everything new you have to post. Could you make a list every one of all your community pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  15. July 4, 2013 5:02 am

    I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing issues with your
    site. It looks like some of the written text within your posts are running
    off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too?
    This could be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Thank you

  16. July 28, 2013 5:55 am

    An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a coworker who
    had been conducting a little research on this. And he actually ordered me lunch simply because I discovered it for him.
    .. lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!
    ! But yeah, thanx for spending time to talk about this subject here on your blog.

  17. November 19, 2016 5:23 pm

    The brown butter sauce, how much does it serve? I am looking for a good vegan version to serve with my butternut squash ravioli on Thanksgiving. We have 7 guests to serve. Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Sunshine Award! Whee! « Hard Head Vegan
  2. Breadfruit Raviloi w/ Saltfish ‘n’ Ackee & Coconut Sauce | Loretta's Kitchen

Leave a comment