Skip to content

Dominica Part 4 of 5

May 20, 2011

Friday night I went into the kitchen ready to go into bed but there was so much to be done. I initially wanted to do breakfast for 30 plus lunch for 30 plus. I had less help that night and we worked our way through all the batters and sauces and we finished relatively early.  My worry was transferring my entire kitchen at the Anchorage Hotel to JTAS which is a private residence upstairs and an open air demo kitchen downstairs…take a look at their website here. They also offer cooking classes to tourist and then they serve a Dominican lunch at the end.

The owner of Khatts tours, Kenneth Dill took the liberty of picking me up that day and I was very surprised when he asked me to sign his copy of Caribbean Vegan which he had before the exposition. Remember Khatts tours was also a major sponsor of the event and if you are in Dominica do give them a call. They have many tours tailored for every fitness level, from hikes, to sit down tours to photo tours.

When we got to JTAS we had to unpack equipment, food and try to get sorted before guest arrived. Bush tea and juices needed to be made and pancakes and fritters needed to be made as well…

Here is how that part went

Health & Wellness Event - Pumpkin Fritter Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Learning to Breathe with Martha Cuffy Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

One important thing I learnt in Dominica was to relax and breathe. Here I am taking 5 minutes  to breathe. Martha also conducted yoga on the lawn before breakfast. It was really beautiful. Now I use her breathing methods in my everyday life. Check out Martha’s site relaxing your DNA via your Gene Keys to live a joyous high frequency life.

Health & Wellness Event - Cassava pancakes with nutmeg syrup Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - grounds st JTAS Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

The grounds were lovely, we did have a little rain that drizzled a bit but it went away after a while.

Devon newly appointed assistant cook at Anchorage Hotel making Soupsop Punch Copyright Laurent Guillaume

The punch was very good as he added a touch of lime which really lightened it up. Thanks Devon. The good thing about having Caribbean staff here at the expo was that they were familiar with everything I told them. I would say I want x thing done xyz a way and they would do it without problems.

Terri Henry and daughter handing out fresh local fruit Copyright Laurent Guillaume

Demo on Jerk Tofu Kebabs with Orange Barbeque Sauce Copyright Laurent Guillaume

Pizza Party Copyright Laurent Guillaume

I had to have a pizza party, one where you could pick your topping bake an enjoy. The night before the event I made mini sweet potato crust with organic cornmeal.

Sweet Potato Crust Caribbean Vegan Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Fresh Oyster Mushroom from Rainforest Mushrooms Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Thanks to Terri she devised a way to keep track of the pizzas so that everyone got their own pizza. I even packed some vegan cheese  for fun.

Health & Wellness Event - Pizza Pizza Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

The sauce is a new recipe adapted from my first book Caribbean Vegan and it was very flavouful and rich.

Health & Wellness Event - Pizza Assembly Line Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Then we had audience participation making Barbadian Coconut Turnovers..that was so much fun. Yes we all washed our hands!!!:)

Health & Wellness Event - Talking about Turnovers Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - group participation Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - loved her turnover fever Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Turnover making at JTAS Copyright Laurent Guillaume

Turnovers ready to go in the Oven Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Buffet number 2 Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Caribbean Vegan Macaroni Pie with Crisped Shallots Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

You cannot have a buffet in the Caribbean without this kinda pie..sorry but when I am at a buffet have to have my pie.

Plantains are a given..leave some for me Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Me sharing food Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Double Soaked Rum Cake Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

I ended the day with a quick interview for a documentary for Discover Dominica Authority.

Taymer Interview Copyright Laurent Guillaume

That was the end of day two. I felt great and was looking forward to my final day in Dominica and also wondering how I would do my cupcake display in the morning. I was also excited to teach Bernadine and the others how to make vegan quiche. As my muscles ached I decided to stop by a natural spring when I woke up in the morning.

To be continued.

There are more pictures on my facebook page click here

Thanking Celia Sorhaindo again for these beautiful pictures so full of colour and life… check her out at Tropical Ties click here

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 1:20 pm

    These are so wonderful!

    • Taymer permalink*
      May 20, 2011 4:35 pm

      Thanks Mel I know you would like any event like this.

  2. May 20, 2011 8:59 pm

    Seeing all these photos is making me re-live the tastes and the excitement of that day. Everyone really enjoyed it Taymer and we want you to come back soon! I’m going to try making the macaroni pie for my kids this weekend! Hope it turns out as nice as yours!

  3. Jae permalink
    May 20, 2011 9:15 pm

    Great work, Taymer, and it all looks so delicious, when are we going to have something like this here in Barbados?

    • Taymer permalink*
      May 20, 2011 9:28 pm

      I tried with Barbados and I was met with a lot of resistance and hate from some of the foreign and local chefs for no reason. I will just have to keep trying

  4. Celia permalink
    May 21, 2011 12:17 pm

    Food was just so tasty Taymer, it was a real eye-opener for me. Heard many good comments and the empty plates were testimony. You worked so hard, really well done!!

Leave a Reply

