Skip to content

Dominica Part 3 of 5

May 19, 2011

So Friday was here and after getting less than 2 hours of sleep I was like a charged battery ready to meet all the invited chefs. I was still running around 30 minutes before start time speaking to my newly adopted staff at The Anchorage Hotel and making sure that everything was close to perfect. Chefs started to file in from all over the island, some from hotels, small restaurants and even Eco Lodges chefs. One of the most funny events were that people were not expected someone so young to be facilitating the event so when I introduced myself I always got this facial expression from everyone…I smiled it off:)

Last minute preparations were made and I was ready to face 30 plus people and cook…I was tired as you can see in the photos but very excited.

Take a look at what happened ..please excuse my appearance I did not sleep that night.

Health & Wellness Event -Astaphans Sponsor's Table Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event -Deschamps arriving greeted by Terri Henry Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Hotel Manager of The Anchorage Yvonne Amour giving opening Address Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - The invited guest Chefs Workshop Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - starting to teach Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event -talking about braggs and other soy masking agents Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - doing seitan demo Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - finished seitan Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Vegan Chef Taymer Mason Cassava Pancakes Ready for Tasting Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - q&a Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Accra Demo Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Eggplant Accras from Caribbean Vegan Styled by the staff at Anchorage Hotel Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Tofish Caribbean Vegan Styled by the Staff at Anchorage Hotel Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

We did the Tofish Demo in detail speaking about pigments and seaweed strength. This was served with a new creole sauce recipe I made which is richer than the one in Caribbean Vegan.

Health & Wellness Event - Chefs Sample Tofish Recipe Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - The ever engaging Martha Cuffy tasting the Sauce Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event -Caribbean Vegan Love in Dominica Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event -The beautiful Debra poses with her copy of Caribbean Vegan Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - signing certificates for the chefs Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

I felt like I was writing lines but to be able to contribute of an event like this was amazing.

The food I choose to make was a mixture of recipes in Caribbean Vegan and new recipes I developed after my book was published. We decided to do a buffet for the chefs as it would be easier and they could choose what they want. I was aided by a 5-7 staff members at the Anchorage Hotel who  came  though for me. As tired as they all were Bernadine and Chef Nelson kept smiling and laughing at my corney jokes as we went in close to 2 am prepping for a buffet for 4o.

Health & Wellness Event -Open face sanwiches Tapenade (new recipes) , eggplant choka and a brushetta with ham Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Vegan Chef Taymer Mason Coconut Rice Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Vegan Chef Taymer Mason selection of chutneys Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Nelly with her plate Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Bara for the Doubles Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Vegan Chef Taymer Mason Tofu Pattys Chopped Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Bellyful o Food Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - chowing down Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event -New Fantastic Recipe a Raw Christophene Salad with Caribbean Secret Sauce Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

I would like to eat this salad everyday seriously it is so good.. Thanking Bernadine pastry chef and cook for following my quick verbal advice on the sauce..people raved about this.

Health & Wellness Event - I LOVE HER you should have been there to see her face Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event -a few desserts you know me all about real food but still Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

That is a rustic coconut and fruit tart at the back and rum cake topped with a pecan Dominican Praline. Bernadine decorated this as I was doing the class.

Here is Bernadine smiling even if she did not have any sleep too.

Health & Wellness Event - My rock Bernadine Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Vegan Brioche New Recipe Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - My support staff and Manager of the Anchorage Hotel making a speech Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

I was exhausted but so happy at the same time. I cannot thank the staff at the Anchorage Hotel enough. Chef Nelson the new chef at the Anchorage is Barbados trained. He really controlled the kitchen and was there for me every step of gthe way. Thanking Devon, Renwar Joseph, organic farmer and cook George, the amazing Elizabeth who smiled for ever demo I called her up to do, Bernadine, my rock and Yvonne Amour a long time vegetarian who opened her hotel to me to do these  events.

Health & Wellness Event - Terri handing out the certificates:) Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Health & Wellness Event - Thanks Guys Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

Later that night the Anchorage  Hotel in Dominica served vegan snacks using some of my recipes and their existing vegan options.

Health & Wellness Event - Vegan Snack Menu Anchorage Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

After this event my night started all over again. I had a big workshop in the forest compliments JTAS and I had even more people to cook for….The chefs workshop was a big success and news was flying fast around the island about what happened at the Anchorage Hotel.

What really made me want to tear up was hearing people speak about food memories as they ate. They were eating vegan food yet it was oh so familiar. Emotions stirred within me and I started to think more deeply about the effect of Dominica  was having on me. I was tired but I felt a calmness within and looking over at Terri smiling about that days success made me want to work even harder for the next workshop.

Before I go take a good look at this amazing woman Terri Henry who has pulled off this event for the last 3 years with this year being the biggest and most difficult.

Health & Wellness Event Terri Henry Event Organizer Copyright Celia Sorhaindo

A big thank you to Celia Sorhaindo from Tropical Ties for donating these photos.

You can also like Taymer Mason on Facebook to see other photos from that day.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 5:27 pm

    Great job Taymer. it looked like such a lot of work but everything seems to have been a success. Kudos.

    • Taymer permalink*
      May 19, 2011 5:32 pm

      yes lots of work goes into one day and lots of hands etc thanking you for your support

  2. May 19, 2011 5:41 pm

    Wow! Did you make all that delicious food at the demo? That’s a lot of work, but everything looks so tasty! Wish I was there…

    By the way, I’m making your Bajan Macaroni Casserole soon. I bought all the stuff I needed with my groceries this week. 🙂 Can’t wait!

    • Taymer permalink*
      May 19, 2011 5:47 pm

      I made a beautiful Macaroni Pie but no pics unfortunately. I made 14 dishes with the help of 7 chefs cooks and restaurant staff would not have finished all without them It was a lot of work indeed but people went home actually thinking they could be vegan after the event.

  3. May 19, 2011 7:46 pm

    Excellent stuff! So very happy for you. Continued success always!

  4. July 25, 2011 10:41 am

    Would love to try and win the contest! i hope this is how i enter, not to tech savvy. If i dont win it i hope to buy it as ITAL IS VITAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Dominica Wellness Events » A successful Caribbean Vegan Culinary Workshop.

Leave a Reply

