Skip to content

Stuffed Tomatoes and a Breakfast Memory

November 1, 2010

Stuffed Tomatoes

A  moist stuffed tomato is one of my favourite comfort foods. Easy to make, nice presentation and a crowd pleaser. I made this as a tester for my upcoming book (maybe) and also because I wanted to taste a really nice stuffed tomato again. To make the protein taste beefy you must add Vegan Worcestershire sauce and a bit of Marmite. Make sure your tomatoes are not those pale industrial ones that taste like water. Get a really firm tomato with lots of taste. Unfortunately these tomatoes cost us 16 euro:( but it was worth it because they tasted really good but as they were imported fresh from France the price was really ridiculous. Feel free to add some brown rice in your “meat mince” to give more texture and to make the stuffed tomatoes a balanced meal.

British Bajan Breakfast

So I met this guy the other day and I said I was from  Barbados and he said you are British then. I said no Barbados gained its independence since 1966  so I am not British. He laughed and said well you still have some mannerisms of the British and I then said yeah that is true. This is one version of  breakfast I  use to get in Barbados. I would get bacon and fried hotdogs which when you bit them would snap in your mouth, I maybe would get some scramble, some kinda hash and a Bajan(Bay Jan) bake which is a fritter that is slightly sweet, perfumed with vanilla and cinnamon and served warm with whatever breakfast you are having. I was a little silly not to include this recipe in Caribbean Vegan but the cornmeal bakes in the book are almost the same you would just have to sub flour instead of corn flour in the recipe. I apologize for the bite. I was not planning to show my breakfast this morning but then I was like  “Oh shoot it is Vegan MOFO…I should post this”  It is funny how in 2010 that you can have vegan hotdogs and bacon to replicate your favourite childhood dishes. My parents never made these version of Bajan Bakes at home and I use to buy them in the city in Barbados about 8  years ago. I would go into this restaurant that looked really seedy on the outside and  I  would have to go into this door and up a dark staircase and get these bakes nice and warm. They would ask ” Sweetheart ya want a piece o cheese inside” while chewing on their gum and getting restless and I would always decline as I liked my bakes just like that with a spot of tea in the morning. I stopped going into this weird restaurant a few months after discovering it as I grew tired of bakes every morning and I would bring my own breakfast to work but the taste of the first bite of these bakes I use to buy would be in my memory forever.

Bajan Bakes and more

Coming up this week Lentil Patties and thoughts of Vegetarianism at that time, banana bread from a friend, maybe Bajan Chicken and Chips…now how will Taymer do chicken now…this girl crazy…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. bajangyal permalink
    November 1, 2010 2:30 pm

    The tomatoes look very tempting and there is nothing like a just out of the pan bake…yum! that is some real comfort food I think bakes invoke fond memories fond memories for every Bajan.

  2. November 1, 2010 3:01 pm

    HA! Not crazy! INNOVATIVE! (I like Gardein if I HAVE to have a chicken sub–do you have it way out there?) Rock on with your deliciousness. CANNOT WAIT for the lentil patties. MMMMMmmmmm

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 1, 2010 3:53 pm

      not yet I am getting the Morning star one which is vegan but I brought pack a few packs from NYC but they are all gone …I want to retextture some tvp mushrooms and seitain to get a chicken piece but I am out of mushrooms I will see what I can do. Just did the lentil patties with that flaky crust all over the place…unfortunately my best one dropped because I was being nosy;)

  3. November 1, 2010 4:01 pm

    I have a recipe for lentil patties that I’m always comin across and thinking I need to make some. Can’t wait to see your post about the ones you make.

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 1, 2010 4:03 pm

      Not sure if we mean the same thing The patties I mean are pasties which have a flaky pastry and there is spicy lentil inside. I see American means burgers for patties

  4. November 1, 2010 4:40 pm

    Mmm, those tomatoes look luscious! What a cute story, I always think its funny to replicate some of the (admittedly, junky) food I ate as a kid.

  5. November 1, 2010 5:36 pm

    That looks amazing!!!

  6. November 2, 2010 2:40 am

    YUM! I haven’t had stuffed tomatoes in a loooong time – must remedy that.
    Happy MoFo’ing.
    🙂

  7. November 2, 2010 8:10 am

    Oh, these tomatoes look amazing! We use to pick up a box (10 lbs?) organic tomatoes each week, and I should really make stuffed tomatoes more often. 🙂

  8. November 6, 2010 9:13 pm

    Those stuffed tomatoes look AMAZING, Taymer!

Leave a Reply

