Skip to content

Borrowing from Friends: Spelt Banana Bread and a Puerto Rican Dish

November 2, 2010

I picked up a bag of Organic Spelt flour the other day and did not know what the heck to make with it. I kept hearing spelt thing spelt that on the blogs and forums but my brain never tuned into the do. I was left with a small bag of organic flour and I wanted a nice introduction to spelt. After crying out for help on the Post Punk Kitchen my publishing house mate Carla Kelly came to my rescue and sent me a  good few spelt recipes to try from her upcoming book Quick and Easy Vegan Bake Sale available for pre order on Amazon, check it out. Carla sent a recipe for her spelt banana bread and within  10 minutes of receipt I was ready to make something with spelt to taste this flour. I can attest that this bread is strong and even stood up to a 2o minutes gas absence. It was such a funny sight me running out of the house to get another bottle to save my first spelt flour experience. Carla is taking part in Vegan MOFO as well so check out her blog for more information. I loved shooting this bread it was very co operative unlike other dishes that make me cuss and give up so that is another plus photogenic results.

Spelt Banana Bread by Carla Kelly Quick and Easy Vegan Bake Sale

So I turned to another blogger Millie at Nuestra Cena Vegan American and Latin American Cusine as I wanted to use up some of the Dasheen(Taro) I had from the last post  but I did not want to have coconut milk mashed dasheen again so I made this from  her blog. It is cooked Dasheen ( Taro) with a bit of olive oil, sliced onions and a bit of avocado on top. In other parts of the Caribbean we would add some oil to  the ground provision if there was no sauce as it can be dry sometimes. What I loved about this dish is the raw onions contrasting with the cooked dasheen. I did have some left over Creole Sauce from my Dasheen post an  a slice of marinated un coated  Tofish so I made a meal of out the entire thing

So I am sick today. Woke up with a headache and a sore throat so I will lose one cooking day for Vegan Mofo but do not worry I have loads of dishes and maybe Lentil Patties tomorrow. No it is not a burger it is a pastie which is flaky pastry with a spicy lentil sauce/ paste inside.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 11:34 am

    I’m sorry you are ill! Everything looks beautiful and delicious, as always. Happy MoFo!

  2. November 2, 2010 12:07 pm

    the dish looks divine Taymer. I hope you enjoyed the Yautia with your creole… it must of been delightful. I often serve it with some bbq tofu or vegan sausage. I also hope you feel better soon, the chanhge of weather here in Ohio is crazy…one day its 40 degrees and the next day its almost 70 degrees…Not good for allergies and colds. I had never heard of selt but I will look for some tomorrow when i go to whole foods.

  3. November 2, 2010 12:12 pm

    Lovely photo of the bread, I am so pleased you enjoyed it! Thanks Taymer.

  4. November 2, 2010 12:56 pm

    Mmm that tofish looks luscious! Sorry you are feeling sick!

  5. November 2, 2010 3:31 pm

    That meal is beautiful! Perfect bread to. I’m putting your cookbook on my Christmas list unless I buy it before then.

  6. November 2, 2010 7:12 pm

    Both the bread and taro dish look lovely!

    I hope you feel better soon, it’s no fun feeling sick.

    And the taro I bought was from a local vegetable shop that has a good range. I think I can find cassava at another store but it’s across the city so I don’t get there often. I will keep an eye for callaloo too.

  7. November 6, 2010 9:14 pm

    Hope you feel better soon! The banana bread and food looks super delicious!

  8. August 16, 2011 3:41 am

    Wasn’t certain where you were going with this at initially, but as I kept reading I

Leave a Reply

