Skip to content

Holiday Ham Recipe from Caribbean Vegan – THIS SITE HAS MOVED

December 17, 2010

THIS SITE HAS MOVED TO WWW.ISLANDLOVEGOURMET.COM

Untitled-1

 

 

 

75 Comments leave one →
  1. mamta permalink
    December 17, 2010 1:04 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing the recipe from your cookbook. Happy holidays & Merry Christmas in advance. Will be waiting for many more interesting & yummy recipes from you especially Madeleines .

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 17, 2010 1:24 pm

      I can send it to your for your personal use plus I can use a tester for this. Not putting it up before I see it in some restaurant’s menu but I am happy to send it to individuals who want to try the vegan version of this french treat

      • December 17, 2010 1:34 pm

        Hi Taymer,
        I would love to try your madeleine recipe also. I’ve lived in France for three years now, and have attempted to make madeleines twice in an effort to veganize this local treat (and impress my children, who keep asking for some!), but both times the batter was too dense and didn’t rise at all (was it supposed to? I’m thinking it was!). I’d be glad to give you feedback and/or post photos…
        Au revoir!

      • Taymer permalink*
        December 17, 2010 1:42 pm

        I will send u in an hour Mine did the rise in the middle and I jumped for joy as I had humps! but the baking method is kinda crazy but all in the spirit to get good madelines:) Happy to have some testers for this before my other testers get it…so u are the pre pre testers. It took me 15 tries to get it right and I almost went out to buy some real ones to see what I was doing wrong but I got it right eventually.

    • mamta permalink
      December 18, 2010 8:27 am

      I would love to try the recipe and let you know how they came out. I love madeleines but since I don’t eat eggs anymore I miss the little treats. Thanks again .

    • mamta permalink
      December 18, 2010 8:32 am

      I just checked my mail and found the recipe . I will let you know once I try it.

  2. December 17, 2010 2:36 pm

    How fun! I might make this to take to my boyfriend’s mom’s house for Xmas. She asked me to bring my own “meat” so I’ll have something to eat too. This is much more original than just buying a Tofurky again.

  3. Serenity permalink
    December 17, 2010 7:09 pm

    This WILL be on my table this holiday. I can’t find the bitters though. Can I leave them out or substitute them with anything?

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 17, 2010 7:16 pm

      that the the only optional thing but sub water for it angostura sells in any west indian shop or liquor store but sub water or more smoke for it

  4. December 17, 2010 7:41 pm

    That is beautiful, Taymer! I think I know what I will be making over the holidays.

  5. December 17, 2010 8:37 pm

    Thank you so much! I’ve been looking at this pic on your blog for awhile and wishing I had the recipe. The book is on my wish list though so didn’t want to buy it in case I’m getting it as a present. Plenty of time to get the ingredients and prep for Christmas. I’m thinking maybe I can make the seitan ahead, then do the glaze/baking at the relatives house. Hope you have a great holiday!

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 17, 2010 8:50 pm

      u can do that just make sure it is wrapped well so it doesnt dry out the ham is small and will serve like 6 ppl..if u are going by family and more ppl would be eating i suggest you make 2…dont double the recipe make 2 it doesnt work when doubled

      • December 18, 2010 10:51 am

        Thanks for the info! That will help a lot. I think it would just be my family eating it, three of us, but if it turns out well perhaps a few people will be interested to sample it. 🙂

  6. Lexi from London (England) permalink
    December 19, 2010 3:44 pm

    I discovered your blog a few yeas ago and have been in love with it ever since. Sister, whatever HATERATION that is occuring with regards to your blog, book or other personal matters:- please stay strong and focused!

    As 2011 approaches, I wish you endless blessings & success.

  7. Misty permalink
    December 20, 2010 10:49 pm

    This looks delicious and I would love to make it. Could you tell me the size of your spoons and cups. I am in Australia and our measurements differ to America.

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 21, 2010 2:04 pm

      will email u today but i am really strapped for time
      letting u know i saw ur ques

      • Misty permalink
        December 22, 2010 9:50 pm

        Have been waiting for your email.. so I tried it with my Australian measurements and it didn’t seem to cook properly after the steam, still very mushy inside. So I will retry with American measures. Just so you know the difference is in the tablespoon. Ours is equal to 4 teaspoons and in America only 3 teaspoons to a tablespoon. That adds up to a lot of extra liquid over the recipe. Smells and tastes divine, texture is a little mushy though.

      • Taymer permalink*
        December 23, 2010 1:14 am

        i was on a plane all day i just came in after a long flight and i was meaning to get back to u on thursday hoping it would not be too late i used us cups if that helps sorry i will write more after i get some sleep

      • Taymer permalink*
        December 23, 2010 1:15 am

        texture is mushy due to incorrect measurement i will make this 2morrow and i follow the recipe exactly and it never gives me a bad result will post the glaze as well when i wake up

      • Misty permalink
        December 23, 2010 3:38 am

        Using the US tablespoon it worked out perfect! Yet to glaze it, but the consistency and taste are wonderful. I will make a few more for christmas, I have hungry children. Thank you!

      • Taymer permalink*
        December 23, 2010 3:49 am

        yippee i am glad it worked whew i am off to bed will do more when i settle in and the glaze

  8. December 21, 2010 8:12 pm

    This looks absolutely amazing! My mom always made a Christmas ham and I missed it last year. I did tamales instead which my family also does for Christmas. I think I’ll be making this to bring to my dad’s along with my vegan tamales this year. Thank you for sharing this! I’m also going to go look up your cook book and put it on my wish list.

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 21, 2010 8:39 pm

      Hi Lisa The reason I made this ham was because back in my prevegan we had ham and that was very caribbean xmas for me When I went vegan almost 6 years ago I missed that smoky smell in the oven on xmas eve and christmas did not feel like xmas anymore This is the first time I will be making this for my family and it would bring back that xmas tradition i loved growing up

  9. Hanna permalink
    December 28, 2010 7:53 am

    Wow,Taymer, we can’t wait to try this for new year’s dinner. I bet it would be great with Hoppin’ John and collards!
    If you need another madeline tester I’m at your service, too!

  10. January 1, 2011 12:56 am

    Thank you, Taymer. My partner and I really enjoyed preparing and eating this. It’s very similar to the way Christmas ham is prepared in the Philippines.

    • Taymer permalink*
      January 1, 2011 8:05 pm

      I am happy to hear that TJ
      I ate too much for Christmas but I am looking fwd to making it again!

  11. Sarah H. permalink
    January 19, 2011 12:13 pm

    I tried making this this weekend, but instead of steaming the ham for 40 mins I tried pressure cooking (set it on top of the steamer plate and added water) for just 20. I thought that with pressure cooking you could reduce any cooking time by half, but I think because its not sliced it takes longer in the pressure cooker than sliced because the center didn’t get done. I really liked the flavors and I will try again for sure but will increase cooking time. I wanted to let people know about the pressure cooker in case they wanted to try pressure cooking it. Thanks for this recipe.

    • Taymer permalink*
      January 19, 2011 12:15 pm

      i have a pressure cooker i can try along with u but the 40 mins usually cooks everything as it is a small ball anyways ur welcome

  12. Corinne DiLorenzo Brekke permalink
    April 22, 2011 5:43 pm

    Hi,

    Your recipe looks amazing! Can’t wait to try it… But I have to ask… is the picture really of this recipe? It looks too perfect!

    • Taymer permalink*
      April 22, 2011 6:45 pm

      yeah yes it is the recipe Yes it is this recipe balled and scored glazed and baked It is 2 hams but I did not double as the recipe does not work doubled I made two The one in the front is scored too deep and that one at the back looks near perfect! Thank you 🙂

    • Taymer permalink*
      April 22, 2011 10:51 pm

      no no no stock photos on this blog

      On Fri, Apr 22, 2011 at 6:45 PM, Taymer Mason wrote:

      > yeah yes it is the recipe > Yes it is this recipe balled and scored glazed and baked > It is 2 hams but I did not double as the recipe does not work doubled I > made two > The one in the front is scored too deep and that one at the back looks near > perfect! > Thank you 🙂 > >

  13. Kimberley permalink
    August 22, 2011 8:33 pm

    I cannot wait to make this! Thank you so much. 🙂

  14. December 24, 2011 7:51 pm

    You have fulfilled a lifelong dream because I have always missed the flavors of my family ham with cloves and pineapple rings all these years. I knew there had to be a way to duplicate it. I’ve been a vegetarian since I was 15 and now I’m 53 so that’s a long time to wait. (I think I liked the pineapple clove thing more than the actual ham but the smokiness was what made them so good.)

  15. josie permalink
    February 12, 2012 9:49 pm

    Hi, I tried to make the ham using flour with gluten added but having a hard time getting it to set. Was I supposed to use straight gluten? Thanks so much!

    • Taymer permalink*
      February 13, 2012 7:28 am

      There is no flour in my recipe. You are suppose to use gluten

      • josie permalink
        February 13, 2012 7:48 pm

        Ok,so just gluten, not gluten flour. I was able to use the dough flattened in a skillet and cooked like a ham steak. Thanks, will try with straight gluten.

      • Taymer permalink*
        February 13, 2012 7:57 pm

        ahhh I see what hapened you thought it was baking flour that has a high pecentage of gluten. 🙂

    • Taymer permalink*
      February 13, 2012 9:21 am

      The recipe states gluten flour was is a gluten in a powder/ flour form. There is no regular flour in the recipe. Taymer

  16. February 13, 2012 7:05 pm

    I believe what you posted made a ton of sense. But, think on this, what if you added a little content? I am not saying your content is not good, but suppose you added a headline that grabbed people’s attention? I mean Holiday Ham Recipe from Caribbean Vegan Vegan In The Sun is kinda vanilla. You ought to peek at Yahoo’s front page and note how they create article titles to grab people to open the links. You might add a video or a related picture or two to get people interested about everything’ve got to say. In my opinion, it might bring your blog a little bit more interesting.

  17. Rachel permalink
    May 14, 2012 11:45 pm

    I just finished making/eating this for dinner. It was EXCELLENT!!!!! My husband, who does not like sweet meals (aside from breakfast) said it was his favorite thing I have ever made as far as fake meats go, and one of his favorite things ever. I am not reserving this for the holidays, I will be making this for guests and for dinner regularly.

  18. March 26, 2013 10:34 pm

    Hi there would you mind letting me know which hosting company
    you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.

    Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a reasonable price?

    Kudos, I appreciate it!

  19. March 30, 2013 8:15 pm

    Going to try this. If it works I will tweet and FB it out. Looks FAB!

  20. March 30, 2013 9:05 pm

    I have made this a few times now and really like it. Just recently I baked it in a brown sugar mustard sauce, yum ! Thanks for a great recipe. 🙂

  21. September 5, 2013 11:40 am

    This ham was so delicious! I garnished it with pineapple rings and maraschino cherries.

  22. sam permalink
    October 18, 2013 1:28 pm

    Please everyone watch earthlings and gary yourofsky on youtube please and please go vegan it’s better for us it’s better for the animals and it’s better for the planet that we live on and be careful sugar is not vegan because of the bone char just search online for vegan sugar brands or just call the company or e mail them and ask them if they use bone char and be careful with the products that contain sugar just read the ingredients btw beet sugar and evaporated cane juice are vegan

    • December 22, 2015 5:14 pm

      http://zulka.com/our-story/ And it is CHEAPER than the “bad” sugars. I love it. I saw the bag and thought well for that price (1.89) it must be a smaller bag (white sugar was 2.59) and I looked and was amazed to see it was a 4 lb bag just like the white sugar. I love the stuff. I think it is actually a little sweeter than regular bleached processed sugar. Sometimes you may see a dark speck or two…this is because it is natural sugar!

  23. December 22, 2015 5:08 pm

    I bought the Caribbean Vegan cookbook. This recipe sounds wonderful. I was disappointed that the glaze recipe wasn’t included in the cookbook but it’s irie because it’s here on the website 🙂 Thank you for the recipe and I advise EVERYONE who LOVES Caribbean food and is vegan to buy this cookbook!

  24. July 21, 2016 1:56 pm

    thankyou from the u.k. this book is on my Christmas wish list, I have seen it being a pensioner I couldn’t afford it! my family will get it for me though. marvellous recipe.

  25. January 5, 2021 4:01 am

    Thanks a lot for providing individuals with remarkably spectacular opportunity to discover important secrets from here. It really is so brilliant plus full of amusement for me personally and my office mates to visit your website at minimum three times weekly to read through the fresh stuff you will have. Not to mention, I’m so at all times motivated concerning the incredible concepts you serve. Selected 3 ideas in this posting are honestly the most suitable we have all had.

Trackbacks

  1. Vegan Holiday Help
  2. Vegan Ham Glaze for Caribbean Vegan Holiday Ham « Vegan In The Sun
  3. Win a Copy of “Caribbean Vegan”! | TriniGourmet.com
  4. Food Network Friday: Slow Roasted Pork with Coconut Curry Sauce « The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado
  5. Cookbook Giveaway: Vegan Caribbean and Rabbit Food | VeganMoFo
  6. Vegan Easter Tips for Baskets, Easter Dinner, & Decorating “Eggs” Yummy Plants
  7. Vegan Easter & Passover Recipes « MY VEGAN BLOG
  8. New Traditions: 24 Holiday Worthy Plant-Based-Vegan Main Dishes « Karmatarian
  9. Karmatarian » New Traditions: 24 Holiday Worthy Plant-Based-Vegan Main Dishes
  10. Fix Your Fave Holiday Recipes: 7 Great Holiday Dinner Ideas – DrGullo.com – Weight Loss Recipes for the Holidays
  11. Vegan Green Eggs and Ham |
  12. Vegan Green Eggs and Ham Recipe |
  13. Carribean Ham | Fixed List Cooking
  14. Food Network Friday: Slow Roasted Pork with Coconut Curry Sauce | The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado
  15. Recipe Round-up: Vegan Thanksgiving Recipes! | I Eat Grass
  16. Receitas de Natal para convidados com restrições alimentares | Casa Electrolux
  17. Holiday Recipe Round-Up | Stories of Suburbia
  18. Karibi vegán sonka | Veggie bites
  19. Holiday Ham Recipe from Caribbean Vegan | Recipes Home
  20. Spring & 50 new foods | Eating with the Rabbits
  21. Can Ham Recipe | I Make Good Food
  22. Vegan Recipes For Christmas Dinner | We Get Healthy
  23. Good Caribbean Meals Recipes photos | Birmingham restaurants and bars directory
  24. Nice Caribbean Food Recipes pictures | Birmingham restaurants and bars directory
  25. Mad Men: Sugarberry Ham | Seitan Beats Your Meat
  26. 31 Veganized Christmas Classics for New Vegans This December

Leave a comment