Skip to content

Salting it up with Salt Bread and Ham Cutters – THIS SITE HAS MOVED

November 15, 2009

THIS SITE HAS MOVED TO WWW.ISLANDLOVEGOURMET.COM

Untitled-1

 

 

Bajan Salt Bread

Vegan Ham Cutter and Ginger Beer

This is kind of a repeat post with new photos and reflections. I decided to do this post today because this recipe is very elusive and very difficult to replicate at home and I made it over 6 times just to get it right. I will be eating salt breads all next year with the amount I have stored in the freezer:(. Once you get it right it will be a staple for bread baskets and picnic lunches.

Salt Breads are yeasted buns found in Barbados. Every island has a roll that is a staple eg Trinidad has the Hops bread, Jamaica has their coco bread and Barbados has its salt bread. These are savory buns used to for almost any filling you can think of. When baked, the resulting bread has a thin soft crust and the inside is soft and pillowy. Salt breads are sold in 5’s in clear plastic bags and you can find them in supermarkets, bakeries or some people sell them at the side of the road. A sandwich made with a salt bread is not called  a sandwich or a sub but a “cutter”.

The holidays are coming up and I am heading home. A ham cutter is what most people wake up to on Xmas morning. For the last couple of years I did not wake up to any cutter because I went vegan and I felt out of place and could not come up with new traditions that I loved. This holiday I will be waking up to the cutter in the photo made with home-made seitan spiced ham topped with a beer and pineapple glaze. Although the ham I am speaking about is not photographed as it is in my mind that is what I will be eating hopefully. Standing in for my seitan ham is YvesVegan Ham Slices (which by the way the supermarket started to bring because I sent them an e-mail….also 6 different vegan cheeses and a bunch of vegan hotdogs.. off topic). It is nice to be able to enjoy this simple cutter again and trust me it is not about pork but the smoky flavours of the vegan slices and the pepper sauce and the soft salt bread. For me it is just the wonderful flavours that can be replicated without killing animals.

The yellow sauce you see on the ham is Barbadian pepper sauce which has a mustard base. Will definitely be in the book as it is a batch I made a few months ago. Finally the strange beverage that you can see at the back is unfermented ginger beer and lime syrup.Ginger beer is a wonderful addition to your holiday menu as it is spicy and it really warms you up. If you want the recipe for the fermented ginger beer or unfermented ginger beer drop me a comment telling me this.

So that is it for this week…. and more holiday ideas will be coming up soon.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2009 8:53 am

    Ha I’ll definitely eat salt bread for the rest of the year as well. I’ll be testing this again. Your bread looks beautiful and I understand that you miss the smokey flavour! I sometimes miss it too and I am glad I could track down some liquid smoke and smoke salt as a subsititute.
    Your cutter reminds me of a typical German breakfast: a wheat bread roll stuffed with butter and cheese, ham, or sausage.

  2. November 16, 2009 9:22 am

    Ooh these look great! I love the sound of that mustard sauce. Well, I love mustard anything but you managed to make it look totally glamorous! I’m very impressed, thank you for sharing the beautiful pictures.

  3. rachey permalink
    November 19, 2009 11:58 am

    I, for one, would love to see the recipe for ginger beer (fermented or unfermented or both!)

    I’m not usually a fan of white bread but I’m drooling over your cutters! Must make after work…

  4. December 5, 2009 8:31 pm

    What’s the recipe for the salt bread?

  5. December 9, 2009 12:59 pm

    I would ask for the recipe, but I don’t have time for baking. Instead, I will PAY YOU to send me a salt bread!
    Love the site!

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 9, 2009 1:03 pm

      Thanks Nadia..from your name you seem Bajan maybe I am making a wrong guess. I will try to update with some Xmas favourites soon. Thanks for stopping by

      Taymer

      • December 17, 2009 12:30 am

        Jug! A friend and I tried and failed miserably. I miss home food!
        And yes, I am from Barbados…I *WONDER* which part of the name clued you in!

      • Taymer permalink*
        December 17, 2009 12:44 am

        no i kinda knew u were bajan but i hate to assume things what recipe u used? i can email u when i gt the chance wth my version

  6. Cassandra permalink
    May 27, 2010 3:55 pm

    Hi Taymer,
    I was wondering if you wouldn’t mind share your recipe. I have one and so far i have not been successful with getting the perfect salt bread. Mine don’t seem to get that nice even golden crust to them. Feel free to Email me.

    Cass

  7. Hanna permalink
    December 28, 2010 10:11 am

    I’d love to make ginger beer at home. We’ve bought Reed’s Ginger Brew in the past but it would be fun to make it ourselves. Send the directions when you have a moment. Thank you!

  8. Natalie permalink
    November 8, 2013 12:12 pm

    Hello Taymer! I just came across your side and would love if you could e-mail me the recipe for the salt bread. I enjoy cooking and baking, and have been baking bread for quite sometime now with Bajan salt bread on my “to do” list. I look forward to hearing from you soon…Take care!

Trackbacks

  1. Holiday Test Run: The Vegan Ham Cutter « Vegan In The Sun

Leave a comment