Skip to content

Non Caribbean Post:Cruelty Free Moussaka

November 17, 2009

Oh I am feeling generous. I have a mid- week post. I choose to highlight this dish as it is the time of the year for many to be eating hot casseroles and this is a good recipe idea.This is an “international” favourite of mine I put the quotes because that is relative. I have veganized this dish but layering cooked eggplant and courgettes with thinly sliced potatoes. To bind I used a white sauce slightly flavoured with nutmeg as suggested by a friend and the results were stellar. You can choose to use spinach ,pine nuts of sunflower seeds to top your moussaka and bake it to perfection.Click here to read more about Moussaka.

Moussaka Serve six light eaters or 4 generous portions

Vegetable

1 large eggplant about 700 g in eggplant sliced into thin dics

1 zucchini

2 large baking potatoes peeled and sliced thinly in disc

1 tbs salt for sprinkling on eggplant

3 tbs olive oil to cook potatoes and eggplant

Veggie Mince Sauce

1 cup dehydrated tvp or 1 ¾ cups of hydrated tvp mince or beefy seitan mince

2 large tomatoes diced or a standard can of diced tomatoes **

1 medium onion chopped

3 cloves garlic chopped finely

1 tsp Caribbean condiment of your choice

1 tsp marmite

1 tbs olive oil for sautéing vegetables for mince sauce

¼ tsp black pepper

¼ tsp paprika

¼ tsp thyme

½ tsp marjoram minced finely

Vegan White Sauce / Roux

¼ cup vegan margarine 60 g

¼ cup AP flour 60 g

¾ cup- 1 cup soymilk

3 tbs nutritional yeast the cheesy type

1 pinch ground nutmeg

Large pinch sea salt

¼ tsp white pepper

½ tsp onion powder

¼ tsp garlic powder

½ tsp parsley chopped (optional)

Topping

1 cup fresh spinach

½ tsp olive oil for sautéing

Sunflower seeds (optional)

1 tbs nutritional yeast

1 clove garlic ( optional(

Method

sprinkle eggplant with salt and set aside for 4 hours and you should see some water that came out of the eggplant. Squeeze out excess water and rinse lightly. Blot dry eggplant sliced. Heat up oil and lightly cook eggplant, zucchini and the potatoes lightly in oil. The potatoes will not be cooked but just get them cooked a little.

Veggie Mince Sauce

Method

Hydrate TVP.Fry up the tvp,tomatoes, onions and garlic in oil for 5 minutes under medium heat.Add marmite and Caribbean condiment. Add black pepper paprika , thyme and marjoram,. Add tomatoes sauce and 3 tbs of water if using fresh tomatoes. Cook on low heat for an additional 7  minutes

Set aside

Vegan  White Sauce

On a medium heat melt margarine

Add flour and stir

Add milk slowly and stir

and leave for 30 secs

Continue stirring adding salt, pepper and onion powder. Carefully stir in yeast flakes and add parsley at the end of cooking. Your sauce should be medium thick.

Topping

Stir fry spinach and sunflower seeds

Cut up some spinach

Dice a clove of garlic finely

Fry up some spinach with garlic

Add and tsp of sunflower seeds

Set aside

Arrangement of Moussaka

In an 8×8 inch baking dish arrange your moussaka

Arrange eggplant at the bottom

Add Veggie Mince Sauce

Add potatoes and spoon half of the white sauce and smooth out

Add a second layer of eggplant and zucchini

TVP and tomato sauce

Potato and finish off with white sauce

Add the spinach at the top and sprinkle a little bit of yeast flakes

Bake at 450 degrees F for about 40 mins or until golden brown

You should see the moussaka bubbling

Cool for 30 minutes and cut into squares.

The second picture  is one I took 2 years ago(when I did not know how to take pictures well and used flash!!!). It was the first one I made with a lattice type top using the spinach. Many blogs also have Moussaka. I remember I first met Bianca at Vegan Crunk through the Moussaka post she did on her blog as I posted the recipe to mine the same time as she did. Mine has a bit of island flair to it I must admit but I tried to stay close to the original scope of the recipe. I think the real one uses lamb I think and I remember getting into a big argument with someone who told me how dare I make something like Moussaka vegan.I never had the original version as I never had lamb in my life but I am sure the recipe would please many of your omnivorous friends. If you want this recipe leave me a mail or comment.Oh and there is no fake cheese being used in this recipe. The crispy top is just from the rich white sauce.

I scheduled the next post for Sunday morning so it is Caribbean food as usual and the announcement.

Have a great week.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2009 9:48 pm

    Oh my god, I would love to have that recipe. I never had Moussaka in my whole life, never came across a GOOD vegan recipe. But yours looks just divine! Even the one with the flash 🙂
    And not using fake-cheese makes it even better.

  2. Taymer permalink*
    November 17, 2009 9:51 pm

    I will send it to you in the morning. I have to reformat it

  3. March 28, 2014 4:56 am

    Hey there, You have performed an incredible job. I’ll definitely digg it and in my view recommend to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this website.
    XENIA http://www.net-ict.be/

Trackbacks

  1. Non Caribbean Post:Cruelty Free Moussaka « Vegan In The Sun | Ace Card's Caribbean Vacation

Leave a Reply

