Skip to content

Creole Week Avocados are more than just Guacomole-Féroce d’avocat – THIS SITE HAS MOVED

September 16, 2009

THIS SITE HAS MOVED TO WWW.ISLANDLOVEGOURMET.COM

Untitled-1

 

 

Féroce d'avocat is a mixture of avocado, cassava flour and a spicy sauce

Féroce d’avocat is a mixture of avocado, cassava flour and a spicy sauce

Creole Week seems like it is almost over but we still have about two more  installments to go. I will turn my attention to the avocado. I have been eating the above dish from when I was three years old and if I could have eaten it everyday I would have. You see my grandmother is Creole and I would get this mixture of avocado, cassava flour and a sauce of salted cod fish on special occasions in the week. This was definitely not a staple of a Barbadian girl in the 80’s. Since I am vegan I had to remove the salted cod fish from this dish but I was still able to enjoy it. In the Caribbean we do not eat guacamole like that to be honest some eat a version of mashed avocado called avocado choka but  I know in Barbadian cuisine guacamole was not usually eaten. Maybe now people may do this at home but it is not something done with “avocado pear”. Instead the avocado is served as a side next to rice or made into this dish above. Only countries that are French or were once ruled by the French make this dish. Barbados was never ruled by the French so when I was telling my little playmates at school oh I love farine ( the avocado flour) and pear they would always look at me funny.

Cassava Flour

Cassava Flour also called Farine in the English Speaking Caribbean

Cassava Flour also called Farine in the English Speaking Caribbean

My mom use to scare me about cassava flour (farine). She said it has to be made properly as the cassava is poisonous so it was important to buy from experienced persons meaning old people. I do not think I would ever attempt to make my own cassava flour at home as  from this chart it seems to be a very long process and suppose just suppose I do something wrong I may end up poisoning myself. The cassava is grated and it is squeezed and then dried in the sun. It is a very raw product. Cassava flour can be used as a cereal by combining this with milk sugar and some bayleaf or can be mixed with pear as a savoury meal. Cassavas are very healthy, can you not see the fibre in this flour??? I will be doing more dishes with the actual root vegetable  in the near future. So now you know of a new raw flour that can be  used in sweet and savoury dishes.

Avocado

19 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 3:07 pm

    Actually in Trinidad, we do make a mashed avocado dish – avocado choka – mashing the avocado (zaboca) with pepper and onions and garlic etc, usually served with sada roti or bakes etc. But I like sliced just so 🙂

    • Taymer permalink*
      September 16, 2009 3:32 pm

      I should have known Trinidad and Guyana to be the exception.I made the changes to the article. Thanks

  2. September 16, 2009 3:15 pm

    Avocados have got to be the world’s most perfect food. I love them. Really, it’s an obsession. I like them every which way, and I would love to try them like this! It really looks beautiful, and so unique!

  3. September 16, 2009 6:12 pm

    Avocado is not grown here in Turkey, but we’ve seen them at the markets for a few years now. I’m so curious about this cute fruit, thanks for the recipe. And I think there are lots of things to learn here. Thanks for the info!

  4. Queen permalink
    September 16, 2009 9:09 pm

    I’m loving Creole Week! I wonder if I would like this avocado better than Haas since I’m not a huge fan of Haas avocados. I’m interested in hearing more about the onion and/or eggplant gravy you mentioned in the post. Are they what you are referring to you when you said creole sauce?

    • Taymer permalink*
      September 16, 2009 9:36 pm

      In my opinion they are better tasting than haas and make a very good guacamole. I am down to my last 2 of these and I am mourning;I do not want to go back to haas again. I will make creole sauce tomorrow with another new fruit: veg. I am loving creole week too but I cannot wait for Bajan Week in November. You may find this avocado in an Asian market or a west indian grocery. I do not think my parents ever had the haas.

    • September 16, 2009 10:56 pm

      Queen,
      Yes you most certainly would like the West Indian avocados more than the Haas. I did not know what a Hass was until I tasted it in the US. IMO the Haas is almost flavourless in comparison. I do not like and will not eat Haas but then I have been spoiled by the lovely varieties here:-)

      Taymer I have heard about but never had avocado this way. Thanks for the reminder about this dish as I am currently looking for gluten free options for my son

  5. September 16, 2009 11:59 pm

    I’ve seen Cassava flour in the African section of a local market, but had no idea what to do with it – this is the first recipe I’ve seen with farine, and it sounds really interesting. And I love anything with avocado – thanks for the food history lesson about avocadoes and French rule in the Carribean – it’s fascinating how food (and music) can illustrate so many historical legacies around the world.

  6. September 17, 2009 3:58 am

    Hhhmmm avocado, yummy 🙂

  7. September 17, 2009 9:20 am

    i’ve been grilling avocados lately – yum. this dish looks nice, where would one find that flour?

    • Taymer permalink*
      September 17, 2009 9:23 am

      probably online i have left the comments open for people who can find it in the usa and canada and other international countries.If u have a west indian grocery near u they should have it

  8. September 17, 2009 9:24 am

    I should go on a huge shopping trip soon, so I can make some of your awesome recipes!

  9. November 17, 2010 11:52 am

    I’ve tasted an Avocado so Avocado ice cream would be definitely tasty and yummy. It’s natural to the Avocado to be delicious.

    With simple preparations you can enjoy this fruit already. Thanks for sharing this one with us so keep it up!

  10. bestelkado-1 permalink
    November 30, 2011 5:31 pm

    Hey are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you require any coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  11. Axokslashandra permalink
    December 11, 2011 12:04 pm

    check this link, online online

  12. January 5, 2012 3:04 am

    Cicero~ I will go further and assert that nature without culture can often do more to deserve praise than culture without nature.

  13. April 10, 2013 12:04 am

    My father always used to say that when you die, if you’ve got five real friends, then you’ve had a great life. -Lee Iacocca

  14. July 22, 2014 10:57 pm

    cheap fake hermes birkin uk Creole Week Avocados are more than just Guacomole-Féroce d’avocat | Vegan In The Sun

  15. Anonymous permalink
    October 28, 2016 6:20 pm

    I had it 2 hours ago … and you are so right about “I could eat it everyday” so yummy!!

Leave a comment