Skip to content

7 Flavours of Summer 2. Lemon Poppy seed Ice Cream and Lemon Pepper Ice Cream – THIS SITE HAS MOVED

June 23, 2011

THIS SITE HAS MOVED TO WWW.ISLANDLOVEGOURMET.COM

Untitled-1

 

Vegan Lemon Poppy Seed Ice Cream Copyright Taymer Mason

Before I proceed I must say something is wrong with my camera. Anyone that knows how I can change settings to get rid of this horrid white wash on my photos (which makes my blog too soft) let me know.

I love lemon poppy seed anything..I love the light citrus flavour and the non intrusive bite of the poppy seeds. When I took up the offer to do lemon pepper ice cream I wanted to see if a lemon poppy-seed would have the same flavour profile as the lemon pepper..it did not. It was totally different even if they were made from the same batch of lemon ice cream. The lemon poppy-seed ice cream tastes like a rich but light comforting lemon cake which pairs well with a red fruit sauce. I had raspberry jam( not shown in photo) which I  drizzled over the top but it ended up looking like ketchup! I usually do not care for sweets but, when I tasted this flavour I really wanted to finish the entire bowl. Fortunately I did not but I could have as this ice cream is low in sugar as you would see in the below recipe but it satisfies the sweet tooth. How did I do it? I used a little agave nectar to bump up the sweet and paired it with low sugar fruit sauce.

Melting shot Vegan Lemon Poppyseed Ice Cream Taymer Mason

I am still playing with xanthan gum this week and hope to put it down for next week flavour pineapple coconut with chocolate shell topping. Xanthan gum with the combo of arrowroot really gives a nice mouthfeel and the ice crystal formation was really low with this flavour. My hunch is that when you add lemon to soy milk you make a buttermilk and that is what really made this ice cream light yet satisfying at the same time. In comparison to last weeks pumpkin pecan this is very light.

Again, sorry about this photo. Hopefully next week I would have back my bright eye-popping photos again. I am having heart palpitations with this one. Everyone who follows this blog knows I am a big fan of black pepper ice cream which I usually serve alongside  Caribbean desserts so when I was talking to one of my followers on Facebook I said I would do my black pepper ice cream recipe but they suggested I add some lemon to it and wow..really you have to try this. This ice cream is walking on a thin line of sweet and savory and I kept it on the line by pairing it with a basil mint coulis. To make this I grabbed some basil from outside and added some brown sugar and olive oil and blended it well and added a little fresh mint and blended it again and put it in my squeeze bottle. It can last for a good week and a half and it pairs well with the lemon pepper ice cream. I added some extra pepper on the top of my ice cream to increase the “back throat” burn one gets from eating pepper ice creams. This is a really fine dessert even if my plating did not portray this but if you want a sophisticated flavour and you are a big foodie do the lemon pepper with the basil coulis.

Vegan Lemon Pepper Ice Cream with Basil Mint Coulis Copyright Taymer Mason

Ice cream Profile

For this ice cream I used two thickeners xanthan gum and arrowroot flour alternatives arrowroot alone or cornstarch alone

Base: Soy creamer full fat  with full fat coconut milk  alternatives full fat coconut milk or soy milk with 1/2 cup vegan butter

Result Light creamy ice cream. Ten minute wait to scoop

Extremely low in ice crystals

Sugar sources: West Indian light brown sugar, agave nectar alternatives only agave or only sugar

Flavour profile of star ingredient: medium high…did not have a tart overkill it was just right

Kid Friendly: Lemon poppy-seed (Medium High) Lemon Pepper with Basil Coulis  (Low)

Lemon poppy-seed pairs well with fresh red berries or any red fruit jam would work well in a sugar cone. Lemon Pepper works well with extra pepper on top and basil sauces

Additional Info: Cook this ice cream on low heat as you are cooking acid and any high heats can really change up the flavour profile to something unpleasant..watch that HEAT! The ice cream will curdle slightly dont panic.

Recipe ( I made one batch of Lemon custard and split it in half and added 1 tablespoon poppy seed to one and 1 tablespoon of freshly ground black pepper to the other)

If you want to do full batch of one flavour just double your pepper or poppy seed.

Vegan Lemon Ice Cream

1 cup soy creamer

1/2 cup full fat coconut milk or soy creamer

1 1/2 cups soy milk plus 1/4 cup soy milk (to mix in with arrowroot

2 heaping tablespoons vegan butter

Juice from 4 lemons ( meaning an extra lemon with the 4 you already have)

1 tsp vanilla extract or half vanilla bean

Zest of 3 lemons (1 1/2 tablespoons)

1 heaping 1/4 cup sugar

1/4 tsp xanthan gum plus 2 tablespoons sugar

1 1/4 tsp arrowroot flour

1 tablespoons of agave

a few drops of vegan friendly yellow food colouring ( since you are not using eggs you wont get that light yellow hue), optional

1 tablespoon for split 2 tablespoons for whole recipe black pepper (after ice cream has churned)

1 tablespoon for split 2 tablespoons for whole recipe poppy seeds (after ice cream has churned)

Method

Make custard by combining soy creamer , coconut milk, butter, lemon juice vanilla, zest, and sugar.

Cook on medium low heat until there is a faint simmer then reduce heat to low and add in the xanthan gum mixed with sugar slowly whisking carefully but well.

Mix 1/4 milk with arrowroot flour and bring back the mixture to a faint simmer, take the mixture off the heat and add in arrowroot mixture. Stir well and you would feel mixture getting thick. Add colouring and agave nectar and let cool.

Add mixture to fridge and chill for up to 6 hours.

Add to ice cream maker .

Split Recipe

Split mixture in half and add 1 tablespoon poppy seeds plus 1 extra tablespoon agave for poppy seed ice cream

Add 1 tablespoon black pepper plus 1/2 tablespoon sugar for lemon pepper ice cream.

Remember to join the facebook page to request a flavour.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 10:10 pm

    With these hot days that ice cream looks great

  2. June 23, 2011 11:21 pm

    Taymer, I absolutely love that you’re doing this in-depth series on ice cream. It’s seriously making me consider getting a little ice cream maker! And I’ve learned a few things too that I was clueless about before…like xanthan gum. Anything that starts with an ‘x’ intimidates me. Except xylophones. Those are just fun.

    I’m super stoked to see what you’ve got up your sleeve next! And good luck with your camera, and I admit to being completely unhelpful with that.

  3. Mishka permalink
    June 24, 2011 5:34 am

    T you appear to have left out a slight step in the ‘method’ (or maybe i just didnt see it) but at what stage do you add in the soy milk?

    I am going to try this recipe today as I have some lovely Bajan lemons to use up, I wont use the zest from them (its green) but their flabour is sooo good think it would make the perfect ice cream. Was actually planing o doing a sorbet but after seeing this lemon poppy seed it shall be 🙂

    • Taymer permalink*
      June 24, 2011 5:45 am

      Oh add it wityh the creamer . I will fix the recipe. Bajan lemons have a wonderful flavour

  4. June 24, 2011 6:18 am

    Looks amazing. What a fabulous idea! This makes me want to invest in an ice cream maker.

  5. celyn permalink
    June 24, 2011 3:21 pm

    I also now want an ice cream maker! Tay, this post is wonderful.

  6. June 29, 2011 12:45 pm

    Okay…lemon and poppyseeds are the best combo but I’ve never thought of those two in ice cream. I love that and thanks for the recipe.

Leave a comment