Skip to content

Curried Potato Salad – THIS SITE HAS MOVED

January 16, 2011

THIS SITE HAS MOVED TO WWW.ISLANDLOVEGOURMET.COM

Untitled-1

 

 

The Tale of Two Salads

Do you like your potato salad with mayo  or with a nice cool vinaigrette as the main dressing? Which one of these would you like?

Vegan Curried Potato Salad Copyright Taymer Mason

I do not remember why I decided to make a potato salad with curry but I know I was 14 and I just started to cook and this was one of the dishes for me that validated my ability so to speak. It was hit at every barbeque we had. We use to grow a lot of dill outside and I used that…it was just one of the recipes that just happened but I do not remember the entire story. When I was writing Caribbean Vegan my mom sent me the piece of paper I scribbled this recipe on and that is how it got into the book. Unfortunately I can only share a few more recipes from Caribbean Vegan so this is one of the last ones but, there will be fresh recipes coming soon…as you see I have started the year with new ones already. I live in the Caribbean (meaning eternal summer for most of the year) and I want to cook for you, the readers  who take an interest in my work. Sometimes it can be taxing cooking seasonally to suit the North American readers but I try my best and many of you I know are looking for soup recipes so I will make a few soon before the winter goes away. To my Caribbean readers I will include some seasonal recipes as well but I have been sourcing a breadfruit with no luck but as soon as I get something we will be in action.

Curried Potato Salad ( No Mayo )Copyright Taymer Mason

Curried Potato Salad Copyright Taymer Mason adapted from Caribbean Vegan

Serves 4

Curried Potato Salad with Vegan Mayo Copyright Taymer Mason

1¼ pounds (550 g) potatoes, cut into ¾-inch (2 cm) cubes
¼ cup olive oil (62 ml)
2 tablespoons distilled white vinegar
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon water
2 teaspoons salt
1½ teaspoons Madras curry powder
1 onion, minced
2 garlic cloves, pressed
¼ red bell pepper, finely chopped
¼ green bell pepper, finely chopped
1⁄8 teaspoon chopped Scotch bonnet or habanero pepper minced,
optional
2 to 3 tablespoons finely chopped fresh dill, or 2 to 3 teaspoons dried
¼ cup (62 ml) vegan mayonnaise, optional
Cook the potatoes in boiling salted water for about 8 to 10 minutes, until tender but
still firm enough to hold their shape. Drain and cool to room temperature.
Combine the oils, vinegars, water, salt, curry powder, onion, garlic, bell peppers,
Scotch bonnet, and dill and whisk until thoroughly combined. Put the potatoes in a
shallow container and pour in the dressing. Stir gently, taking care not to break up
the potatoes. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Stir in mayonnaise, if using, with
a fork to ensure intact potatoes.

Taymer’s Tip:Are youstretching your olive oil  and do not want to use to much olive oil cut this oil in half and use another cold pressed neutral oil to water down the olive oil.

Connect with me on Facebook

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 9:41 pm

    Taymer that looks too good. Compliments to the chef.

    I just posted my fried Pastelillos and I thought of you while I was writing the recipe out with your great Caribbean dishes…Great job Taymer.

    • Taymer permalink*
      January 16, 2011 9:43 pm

      thanks millie will check it out when you are done will be making one blog recipe a week so i will do something from u again

  2. Maggie permalink
    January 17, 2011 12:54 am

    This looks tooo good, can’t wait to try it!

  3. January 20, 2011 10:19 am

    The one with the mayo looks so much more tempting 😛

  4. January 20, 2011 11:17 am

    That looks absolutely delicious, Taymer. Would love some now!

  5. February 23, 2011 1:28 pm

    Those are some good looking potato salads! I can’t wait until picnic weather because these seem perfect for that.

  6. July 31, 2013 4:03 am

    Both drugs have also been denied FDA approval the first time around and are awaiting news on their second attempt.
    Withdrawal from levothyroxine can be done but it takes 6 weeks of withdrawal for the remaining thyroid tissue to
    be completely starved. Hence, broccoli is a must-add ingredient
    in your vegetarian weight loss diet.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Curried Potato Salad « Vegan In The Sun -- Topsy.com
  2. Cookbook Giveaway: Vegan Caribbean and Rabbit Food | VeganMoFo

Leave a comment