Skip to content

Breakfast On The Go and Other Eats

April 8, 2011

I have been testing new recipes and updating concepts so my week has been hectic. This post is going to be short this week but there will be more recipes coming up soon.

 

Tofu Pockets Copyright Taymer Mason

 

 

Here is a flavourful breakfast on the go I made this week. They freeze well, the crust is whole wheat  and the filling is made up of tofu and fresh vegetables and herbs and a bit of Caribbean spice to make the tofu pop.

 

Tofu Pockets Copyright Taymer Mason

 

You know tofu is one of my least favourite soy products but the filling was so flavourful and the texture was perfect because I semi froze the tofu and squeezed it out. I will share how to do a flavourful scramble in my future post.

 

tofu pockets broken Copyright Taymer Mason

 

This week I also worked on my vegan brioche and finally it is done…whew.. It was not a lot of work but I always tell people sometimes for vegan cooking you sometime have to do untraditional and somewhat weird methods to get a proper end result. Here is an inside shot of my brioche. It is coloured with a bit of turmeric. It looks almost cake like. I had to work on this recipe for my expo as I want to do some dishes that people would not identify with vegan food as well.

 

vegan brioche broken copyright Taymer Mason

Finally I made this wonderful Calabaza Squash and Mushroom Soup this week with a bit of Soba…..one word yum ..sorry I made it without writing a recipe because I thought it was just a little thing I was making to  curb my hunger. I was wrong…I am going to re do it. It is a mixture of Caribbean, Asian and Italian flavours.

 

 

calabaza mushroom soup copyright T Mason

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2011 7:30 pm

    Yes, I know you do not like tofu…one of these days you will have mine and you will like it!

    • Taymer permalink*
      April 8, 2011 7:35 pm

      I just dont like it for what it is…I hate I have to mask the soy so much in it …I make outstanding dishes with tofu but at the end of the day I am never motivated to eat it when I want to fix myself lunch but I tend to see it as a new and exciting project to take on.

  2. April 8, 2011 7:35 pm

    Everything looks delicious as always especially the breakfast pockets, they remind me of a British pasty.

    • Taymer permalink*
      April 8, 2011 7:40 pm

      it is a british pasty;) Thanks Jojo

  3. April 8, 2011 8:28 pm

    Everything looks so beautiful and I’m excited for recipes! Are you testing recipes for any upcoming projects? Because that would be awesome. 🙂

    • Taymer permalink*
      April 8, 2011 9:24 pm

      Yeah it is for the workshops I am conducting next month

      • April 8, 2011 9:28 pm

        Oh, right! That makes perfect sense. So one day when I’m rich and I travel to your islands the chefs will serve me amazing food. 😛

  4. April 8, 2011 10:28 pm

    They all look great. I’m intrigued by the soup!

  5. April 12, 2011 9:24 pm

    That soup looks mighty fine.

Leave a Reply

