Skip to content

Are making Samosas at Home really worth it?

March 20, 2011

Baked samosas Copyright Taymer Mason

This weekend I  felt to experiment with making samosas.Samosas are very popular worldwide and the Caribbean is no exception. People have made businesses out of samosas offering premade frozen ones to many corporate workers who still want to have conference finger food at home. Samosas are usually on every caterer’s menu and, they usually offer a vegan samosa along with the meat ones. I wanted to make really crispy crunchy pastry on the outside. I wanted them to be low in fat as I was making a big batch I did not want to be eating deep fried morsels every week and, I wanted them to be spicy and flavourful. Some wires got crossed in my brain and I kept hearing phyllo dough. As I had some phyllo dough chilling out for a mango napolean I said hey why not. I do not know about you but when I go to a restaurant and I see samosas on the menu I never get it because I know I will be getting an extra greasy morsel so I imagine how it would taste in my mind and skip on to the main or take a lighter appetizer.

Vegan Chicken Samosas with Tamarind Dipping Sauce

After a course in making triangular samosas I sat down on Sunday afternoon after spin class and got to work with help from my husband. Fifty samosas later we were done and not hungry anymore. I decided to fry 4 samosas to give a comparison between the baked and the fried.

Here is how they looked:-

Fried Samosas Copyright Taymer Mason

When I compared the end result of the two samosas the difference was that of course the fried one reminded me of the ones I avoid at restaurants. The baked one had less uniform colour and less calories of course so if you are making samosas do bake them but still eat less:)

Fried and Baked Samosa Copyright Taymer Mason

And here is a photo of one of my many fillings- This one is vegan chicken and aloo.

Vegan Chicken and Potato Samosa Taymer Mason

Those are not my fingers:). To make the sauce I used fresh tamarind flesh and for those of you who never saw a tamarind before here is a photo. The tamarinds that we get in the Caribbean are acidic to sweet with a slight acidic taste, they are nothing like the boxed ones you get in the Chinese supermarkets. These are ideal for making a tamarind sauce to go with the samosas. Anyone who knows another dark sauce please let me know. I had this sauce in Toronto when I was 16 that was sweet and brownish purple..I think it was a fruit based sauce. Let me know if you know what is the name of that one.

Lessons Learnt in Samosa Making at home

So, next time I will make my own samosa dough as I do for every pastry I make. I do not like phyllo dough it feels like if I am eating baked kale pastry. I like a slight bite to a pastry and the phyllo dough was too flaky for my personal taste.

Some of the heat gets lost in the baking process so if you are a pepper mouth like me add extra pepper to feel the burn.

Learn to fold the samosa before you go into battle..it can save you some pastry.

Always bake…really the fried ones are not worth it…If you want them to look exactly like the fried ones just brush lightly in oil and make sure you put them in a moderate high oven and turn frequently.

Are they really worth it? Yes because even some of the ones you buy in the box are prefried and you can freeze them and just pop your already baked samosas in the oven. If you have older children or a partner who wants to actually spend some time around food the folding procedure is a good activity to do on a Sunday afternoon.

Until next post…..

Question: Do you guys like me to do mainly savory post or do you like me to throw in a sweet post now and again as I do?

See you next week with something new and I have an announcement but I am waiting for the poster for the event so I will hold off until I have the poster.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel F Castelino permalink
    March 20, 2011 6:44 pm

    These look amazing! Thanks for sharing!

    • Taymer permalink*
      March 20, 2011 7:50 pm

      You are welcomed Rachel

  2. Magdalen permalink
    March 20, 2011 6:52 pm

    To answer your question in the post title…. yes, always! These look amazing! I love baking samosas, it’s so much easier.

    I never comment, but I love your blog, please keep it up! I can’t cook because I’m in college but you’re pretty pictures give me something to look at 🙂 And I like the sweet posts thrown in every now and then.

    • Taymer permalink*
      March 20, 2011 7:50 pm

      Thanks for reading and showing yourself even if it is this one time.. well all good things must come to an end soon but when I leave will go out with a bang.

  3. March 20, 2011 7:05 pm

    Yum! I just don’t have the patience for samosas… these look so good.

    My favorite samosa ever was from a Chinese Deli (strange but true) back in Iowa.. I can still taste them!

    • Taymer permalink*
      March 20, 2011 7:49 pm

      My husband started the ball rolling and I tried to outsmart him by saying I will watch. He saw through that so I was stuck with making another 25… It is some work for real..

  4. March 20, 2011 7:11 pm

    Taymer, that’s Tamarindo. Wow, I havem’t seen Tamarindo for over 20 years. In PR we , make juice with it , we make syrup to pour over our snow cones, and it is used in many baking dishes. They are a bit sour to the taste but once its simmered in sugar it makes the best juice ever. Tamarindo are suppose to be good for your kidneys. That’s what my grandma always said. Nice post Taymer, I enjoyed it.

    • Taymer permalink*
      March 20, 2011 7:48 pm

      I had the best popsicle ever It was tamarind from PR and it was acid and sweet…soo nice for a hot day.

  5. March 20, 2011 7:37 pm

    I LOVE baked phyllo samosas, but I’ve been shunning fried food for so long, I have a feeling my palate may be out of whack. I’d be very interested to see a recipe for low-fat samosa pastry though!

    • Taymer permalink*
      March 20, 2011 7:47 pm

      I can make it no fat not even low check back this post next week for an update. I tried some of the baked phyllo tonight…the pastry is still too flaky for me but it had a better bite after freezing and re baking again.

  6. March 20, 2011 10:13 pm

    Oh man, these look delicious and I would totally make them at home if I could eat wheat but my body has been telling me for years to quit the wheat and I’m finally listening 🙂
    These look great though…
    For upcoming recipes, I like both savory and sweet. Whatever you throw at us is good.

  7. March 21, 2011 6:29 am

    I love this whole post! I am definitely going to try this out soon. Thank you for including the tamarind photo … I have never seen tamarind except for in jars or little packages. To answer your question, I always go for savory over sweet (dont have much of a sweet tooth), but do enjoy photos of sweet food/recipes!

  8. December 3, 2014 6:38 pm

    Where is the recipe, please?

Leave a Reply

