Skip to content

Tomato Farci (Stuffed Tomato) & Caribbean Vegan Giveaway!

February 28, 2011

Tomato Farci Copyright Taymer Mason

What does that have to do with West Indian Cuisine? It does have a lot to do with French West Indian Cuisine. When I first moved to the French West Indies 2 years ago I was intrigued by the Caribbeanized versions of French food and by the drastic difference of plating and serving meals.  First. they would serve pea and bean consumes as sides in comparison to Barbadian cuisine which cooked peas in the rice. In the French West Indies they love to stuff vegetables with meat, something I did not see when I was growing up in Barbados. One of many dishes that interest me was the Christophene Farci which was a stuffed christophene (chayote squash). I did not eat it of course but I knew I wanted to make this dish vegan and after some consultation with someone from the island I knew the exact flavour combos I needed to meet. It was very successful, so successful it made it into Caribbean Vegan. If you do not have your copy yet do head over to your local bookstore and pick up a copy and make christophene farci. What I found funny about this dish was that it was just seen as a side dish even if it had most of the components for a protein rich dish. The French are funny….

Anyways, I decided to try my hand at making a really moist and flavourful stuffed tomato and below is the recipe. You know me I like my pepper. I am the original pepper mouth so the recipe calls for Bajan Seasoning. The recipe for Bajan Seasoning can be found in the look inside feature of my book on Amazon. Along with recipes for many other condiments.

Tomato Farci Copyright Taymer Mason

Ingredients

6 large beef steak tomatoes with flat bottoms (Make sure they are really firm)

4 tablespoons olive oil

1 medium onion chopped finely

2 shallots minced finely

3 to 5 garlic cloves de germed and crushed

12 oz (340g) ground chilled TVP minced

1 heaping teaspoon Marmite

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

2 heaping tablespoons fresh parsley minced finely

1 teaspoon fresh or dried tarragon

2 tablespoons thyme pulled

2 slices of bread

3/4 cup- 1 cup brown rice, optional (my version is rice less)

¼ cup unsweetened soy milk

¼ cup reserve tomato innards

1 teaspoon brown sugar

½ teaspoon salt

1 heaping tsp black pepper

1 heaping tablespoon of Bajan Seasoning, Trinidadian Green Seasoning ( for the recipe look inside of my book on Amazon)

1 tsp cornstarch (optional)

Method

Preheat the oven to 350 °F.

Cut the tomatoes heads off and set aside. Remove the inside of the tomato with a paring knife and a spoon and set this aside.

Place tomatoes in the oven and upside down and let the  excess juice drain out for about 20 minutes. Ensure that there is something to catch the excess liquid.

Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil and cook onions,optional Bajan Seasoning, shallots and 3 cloves of garlic over medium heat for 4 minutes. In the meantime  season the TVP with Marmite and Worcestershire sauce . Add to the pot with tarragon,thyme,tomato innards,brown sugar salt and pepper. Allow this to cook on medium low heat for 17 minutes. In the meantime pour milk over the two slices of bread. Turn off heat and add soaked bread pieces to the pot and incorporate it into the mince sauce. Add optional rice to the mince sauce at this time. Allow mince sauce to cool. Preheat the oven to 350 °F and stuff tomatoes with mince mixture. Grease baking pan with 1 tablespoon olive oil and carefully place the tomato cups in the pan. Bake for 40 minutes until filling has co agulated. Spoon the taste tablespoon of oil periodically over tomatoes. This gives them a glossy finish. Cool and serve warm with extra salt and pepper if necessary.

It is GIVE AWAY TIME AGAIN

Sarina at Trinigourmet.com is giving away a brand new copy of Caribbean Vegan. Head over to her site to enter and check out her vegan recipes!

 

Buy my unique Caribbean Cookboook by clicking here

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 2:15 pm

    These look so good! I never did make this recipe from your cookbook. I’ve also never had Marmite before, though I did find a jar in the grocery store a couple of weeks ago. People either seem to really love it or really hate it!

    • Taymer permalink*
      February 28, 2011 2:16 pm

      no they just hate it but when added to tvp and cooked in a stew with caribbean spices it is only love I wouldnt put that on my toast if you paid me!

  2. February 28, 2011 3:45 pm

    How pretty! I can’t wait until fresh tomatoes come back into season here so I can try something like this.

  3. March 1, 2011 11:23 am

    Your recipes are very inspiring and definitely helpful for some of us looking for vegan dishes. Sounds like a good one.

  4. March 1, 2011 6:20 pm

    This is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

