Skip to content

Guest Post: Raw Food Caribbean Vegan Chef Shernell Cooke GIVEAWAY!!!

February 13, 2011

Before I start again there is a giveaway for Caribbean Vegan on Shernell’s Blog

Click here when you are finished reading the blog entry to enter

 

 

 

I would like to introduce you to Shernell Cooke , a raw food chef whose Caribbean roots really shine through in her dishes. I recently met Shernell through her blog and her raw food takes on some West Indian dishes made me beam with pride. Do take the time to check out Shernell at Frangipani and Gingerlily and say Hi. She is currently on an ice cream kick recreating all the childhood favourites she had in Barbados.

Today Shernell is sharing a recipe with us that when I looked at it I was wowed over because I admit I was expecting her to do a Caribbean raw dessert.

Thank you Shernell for sharing this post with me at Caribbean Vegan and to my readers, if you want a raw food Caribbean inspired recipe Shernell is your lady!

First off I want to say hello to all of you wonderful folks, I feel like I know you a bit being that I am a regular on Caribbean Vegan. I have also been reading your wonderful comments and have been known to stray a bit to checkout your well written blogs.

Being that I am a Bajan (from the island of Barbados), I didn’t grow up with jerk seasoning, so you could imagine the first time I saw the name, I laughed a bit. It felt so out of place telling my waitress,” I’ll have the jerk chicken”. That was many years ago; it is so refreshing to revisit these Caribbean flavors in a more healthy way that isn’t any less delicious.

I have experimented with veggie burgers before; some were more delicious than others however this recipe was spot on for me. The jerk seasoning really spices up the entire recipe in a way cayenne never could.

Boring and these patties don’t go together, the texture is right on. In my opinion the right texture and flavors are telling of a great burger.

Raw foods can be a bit light sometimes but these burgers are anything but light.

You can triple the recipe and make a whole dehydrator full. Then freeze them and re-dehydrate them as needed throughout the week, they are really that good. You can pick up jerk seasoning at most places seasonings are sold and online here.

If you prefer using Portobello mushrooms instead of the white ones you can do that as well. Just make sure that for every four white mushrooms you use one medium Portobello cap. So try this recipe out; if you’re not raw make the recipe and instead of dehydrating them, bake them or fry them. I won’t be insulted, promise.

A spicy “meaty” burger patty

Raw Vegan Jamaican Jerk Burgers Copyright Shernell Cooke

1 cup of raw walnuts
4 white button mushrooms
7 cherry tomatoes
1 1/2 tsps of salt
1 TBS of jerk seasoning
1/2 tsp of cumin
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tablespoons agave nectar

Step 1 : Put the walnuts in the dehydrator first,then pulse until they are well broken down.

Step 2 : Then add the remaining ingredients,process until the mixture is paste like.

Step 3 : Form into burgers and dehydrate on texflex sheets for 6 hours.

You can pick up jerk seasoning at most places seasonings are sold and online here.

http://www.frontiercoop.com/products.php?ct=seasblends&cn=Jamaican+Seasoning

Thanks again Shernell and do not forget to visit Frangipani and Gingerlily to see what Shernell is creating in her raw food kitchen!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2011 3:50 pm

    Hello Taymer, I love the post and the work you did with the photography.

  2. Taymer permalink*
    February 13, 2011 5:18 pm

    No problem Shernell. A big thank you for even doing this guest post. I see many ppl search for vegan Caribbean raw food and when they come to my site they do not get this but now they have you:)

  3. February 13, 2011 5:55 pm

    Love discovering new Caribbean blogs. Thanks for the introduction to this blogger Taymer and I’ll be sure to pass on the link to a friend of mine who follows a raw food diet.

  4. Ronnie permalink
    February 13, 2011 7:07 pm

    Thanks for posting this recipe… I am happy I can find a good caribbean raw burger recipe now.

  5. February 16, 2011 5:22 pm

    This recipe sounds delicious and looks incredible! I am soo hungry I have to make this for dinner tonight! Thanks

  6. February 23, 2011 3:28 pm

    That is some good looking raw food!

  7. May 5, 2011 9:23 pm

    Being that I am a Bajan (from the island of Barbados), I didn’t grow up with jerk seasoning, so you could imagine the first time I saw the name, I laughed a bit.

    raw food and vegan

  8. Mother hiker permalink
    January 15, 2013 7:42 pm

    How do you pulse nuts with a dehydrator?

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Guest Post: Raw Food Caribbean Vegan Chef Shernell Cooke « Vegan In The Sun -- Topsy.com
  2. Cous Cous plate and Caribbean Vegan Giveaway « Vegan In The Sun

Leave a Reply

