Skip to content

Re making a Classic: Vegan Jamaican “Beef” Patties and Guest Post Coming Up

February 10, 2011

Vegan Jamaican Patties Copyright Taymer Mason

Note: I did not have TVP granules so I used chunks and minced them as much as I could in the food processor. You should be able to see the mince in Jamaican Patties more but you get that I was desperate right?

As easy as you think remaking this recipe was for me it was not. You see I have been a patty maker for years and I love to make pastries in general. I remember my first bite into a Jamaican patty years ago. It was unfortunately an industrial one but I got the gist of the flavour. The heat, the flaky crust …need I go on? I always  avoided making this patty because I knew the pastry was special as it needed egg yolk or egg power and again like those Madeleines from last week it is one of those recipes that you have to do it right.

Most of you know the story about patties (pasties) and how they came to the Caribbean. As many islands were once colonies of  Great Britain the patty evolved to suit local palates and the mince-pie was converted into one of the most fascinating street foods that we know today as patties.

At the end of this patty making experience I realised I was trying to remake a patty that is sold in Barbados as that has a similar crust on it and it is just called Patty. So here I was thinking I was  making something else but really many islands have a similar patty as well. I am not taking away the patty rights from Jamaica! I am just saying patties are very common in the region but fillings and crust differ from island to island.

Patty Info (Sourced Info)

Patties in Jamaica are served with toppings like a burger and are put into a thick around bread called coco bread..no there is no coconut in this bread but it is hearty and rich and then toppings are added to this patty. I ate patty in a bread when I was younger in Brooklyn and it is something for carb lovers. I did not get it but this is what is done in Jamaica so who am I to knock it. Do try it if you live in NYC as there are some Caribbean food establishments that sell the patties with the bread!

Food Cultural Differences in the Caribbean

Why I bring this up because some people outside of the Caribbean think that just because one lives in the Caribbean that each island is the same. The difference among Barbados, Trinidad and Jamaica can be loosely equated to the differences among Germany, France and Spain. Yeah it is all Europe but these countries are different from each other right?  In the Caribbean we are separated by water so it makes sharing sometimes a little difficult so each island has many dishes that other people in other islands are not familiar with. I am not ranting on people’s geography skills nor do I judge anyone but at times I do feel like saying this without sounding too rude but I want to point this out to everyone. On islands that are larger than the norm like Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica, there are food cultural differences among each region on these islands.

I am from Barbados and I have visited a few islands and I found each of them totally different. I remember going to Guadeloupe French West Indies for the first time and saw how they ate rice salad with hard-boiled eggs. How paella was a common dish in restaurants and how they ate croissants and French sweets. How there were no salt breads or hops but baguettes that houses their fillings. I noticed how beans were served as a side dish cooked separately and not cooked into the rice in some dishes and how a piece of Scotch bonnet was served with certain meals. I saw instead of gravy on root vegetables they served something called sauce chien on their root vegetables They seasoned their food differently were using Colombo curry instead of Madras. There were so many things that were drastically different from what I was use to. What wonderful lessons I learnt in Guadeloupe!  In Caribbean food culture I noticed how some e dishes that overlapped and what I tried to do with the book Caribbean Vegan was to really capture the overlap and look at some dishes in many islands that could be veganized or that were vegan already or close to being vegan.

I made a new friend the other day and she is from Jamaica and after many back and fourths with her we began to speak about some dishes that were traditionally (uniquely) Jamaican. The names I called dishes she did not know because the name was from Barbados and from the South Eastern Caribbean and therefore the Jamaican name was something totally different. Good luck I did my research and in the book gave the additional names of  some of these dishes. After speaking more and more to my new friend there were some dishes she was not familiar with at all. Coming to the French West Indies when I whipped out doubles and lentil patties for my French West Indies friends it was something new to them. This is evidence that all these islands are completely different in food and even appearances, the people etc. Caribbean Vegan paid tribute to those differences and I identified classic dishes made them accessible and vegan.

My new friend wanted me to do some traditional Jamaican dishes and after getting back the names and looking for the Bajan translation I have a few additional dishes out of Jamaica that I will be veganizing in the near future. Today I wanted to make the perfect Jamaican patty. I am not sure I should be saying perfect with patty but I wanted it to look close to the traditional patty as possible. There are two patty recipes in Caribbean Vegan a “Beef” patty which is similar to the Jamaican patty but less fat in the crust and I also did a lentil patty in short crust. I wanted to do this for my new friend and pay homage to this patty that has somewhat been a symbol of Caribbean food  and I wanted to do it right which meant I had to make some sacrifices …lol no I did not put meat in it but I did something different with my existing working crust recipe.

What I did to create these Pastries

I have been kind today to take you through the steps of making the patty.

Before I go on there were a few things I needed to do to get this patty right

Protein Selection: Frozen TVP crumbles, dehydrated TVP (granburger), seitan mince. I went with dehydrated as that is what I had and I had to grind it myself as I had chunks…not something I would choose first but seitan mince would have been great had I had it.

Making Flaky pastry yellow without egg. Turmeric and curry powder  was key

Making pastry flaky. Keeping my ingredients in the refrigerator and my fats in the freezer

Make that top flake like a …like a… umm brushing the top with soy creamer to have a nice sheen which may not be typical to these patties someone correct me but I like my pastries with sheens on them and this helped to make the top even flakier.

De soying the soy This meant getting any taste of soy out of my product. This is easy with Jerk Seasoning. A recipe for Jerk Seasoning can be found in my look when you go Look Inside on Amazon but all you need is green onions, onions,garlic, allspice, scotch bonnets, salt, a little vinegar to make a rough jerk seasoning so if you are just going to do this recipe you do not need to add all the ingredients in my Jerk Recipe. These Caribbean Wet Seasoning blends really do wonders in vegan cuisine so I was able to get that taste out with using some Jerk Seasoning and other ingredients. Same could be done with seitan de seitaning the seitan get it?

Step Guide

Step 1 Roll dough and fill with mince filling( Flour your surface a little just a little)

Step one rolling dough Copyright Taymer Mason

Step 2 Sealing dough and fixing edges

neat dough Copyright Taymer Mason

Step 3 Sealing Dough with tines of fork

sealing dough Copyright Taymer Mason



Vegan Jamaican Beef Patties

Copyright Taymer Mason

If you want a reduced fat recipe pick up a copy of Caribbean Vegan to check out my lightened up crust recipes and soy free fillings. This recipe is almost a replica or should I say remake of the real thing  and it was done for this purpose only. If you want to change the crust check out my healthier crust recipes but it will not be flaky like this one!

Patty on Plate Copyright Taymer Mason

Makes 6 large patties

Pastry

3 cups of flour

1 1/2 cups of equal parts of mixed vegan margarine and vegan shortening PLUS 2 heaping tablespoons of both (ICE COLD!) ( I used a mixture of butter flavour shortening which I do not like, to be honest,  but had no options here and the white one for vegan shortening but you can use the white and the Earth Balance)

1 teaspoon turmeric

2 teaspoons curry powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup ice-cold water PLUS 1 tablespoon if dough is not coming together

Filling

1 tablespoon oil to saute

1 medium onion minced finely

3 green onions minced finely

3 cloves garlic minced finely

1 1/2 cup tvp mince hydrated or frozen mince or seitan mince

2 tablespoon Jerk seasoning, Bajan Seasoning or Trinidadian Green Seasoning Click Here to look inside my book for the recipe ( this helps to de soy and de seitan your protein)

1/2 Scotch Bonnet minced finely, optional (I do like some heat in my patty)

1 heaping teaspoon of Marmite ( it gives a deeper flavour to the patty mixture)

1 tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce

1 heaping teaspoon curry powder

Pinch of ground clove

Pinch of allspice

Pinch of black pepper

Pinch of white pepper

1 tablespoon of ketchup or tomato sauce to lighten up the filling

2 teaspoons fresh thyme pulled

3 tablespoon water

1 tablespoon vegan margarine,optional but the filling can get dry if you do not use it

1 heaping tablespoon fine to medium breadcrumb

Salt to taste if necessary

2 tablespoons soy cream to brush tops of pastry

Method (Taymer’s Way)

Rub in the fat to the flour so it resembles medium breadcrumbs

Add turmeric, curry and salt

Slowly add water and form two balls out of the dough.

Do not overwork the pastry it is not pizza dough that you are activating the gluten.

Use a light touch and use enough water to form a dry firm balls. If you ball is soggy it is  almost over and you would need to add back flour but do  not blame me when you pastry is hard!

Heat oil on stove and add green onion, onion garlic, protein mince and Caribbean Wet Seasoning of your choice.

Add all the other ingredients down to water and cook for 5 minutes on medium heat.

Add butter and breadcrumbs and adjust for salt and heat.

At this point put the filling aside to cool down completely

Afterwards….

Cut pastry into 6 pieces and roll to 5 inch circles

Fill

Fold and neaten

Seal with fork

Bake for 25 minutes at 200 C/ 400 F

Brush with soy creamer 15 minutes after going into the oven

Cool and serve with juice.

Note: Do not leave your patties out on a hot counter while your oven is heating up. Let your patties relax in the fridge. Remember filling must be cold. Do not place hot filling on to an ice cold pastry.


When your patties are done do not get fast and greedy. Wait …it helps as the flavour meld nicely together

Here is one more shot to really make you go out and make this recipe right now


Guest Posting

Miss Shernell Cooke Caribbean Vegan Raw Food Chef is going to be sharing a Caribbean inspired raw food recipe with us next time. I cannot say what but it is not a dessert so get excited because I am already and I have seen the post!

Check out her blog at Frangipani and Gingerlily

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Deneice permalink
    February 10, 2011 11:25 am

    You did a great job. Now, I am craving a nice soy patty – with all the toppings.

    • Taymer permalink*
      February 12, 2011 5:43 pm

      So is that Jamaican approval there?:)

  2. February 10, 2011 4:19 pm

    Oh Taymer, these look delish!! I love how the dough looks all soft and flaky….

  3. February 10, 2011 9:14 pm

    I made this recipe Taymer and although mine will never get close to yours,it was good.

    • Taymer permalink*
      February 12, 2011 5:43 pm

      cool Shernell..I would have liked to see it
      I suck at writing recipes perfectly so excuse me
      I have been doing pastry for a long time…
      i bet it looked great!

  4. February 11, 2011 3:48 pm

    Great Job! I love how you discuss the similarities and differences in Caribbean cooking.Even foods from across the globe are similar/different from the Caribbean- just different names. A Haitian pate is much different from the Jamaican style, but I still love both 🙂

    One day I hope to tackle this recipe! I can’t wait to get your book!

    • Taymer permalink*
      February 12, 2011 5:39 pm

      Hi Lisa
      Thank you for commenting on the site.
      I appreciate it really..
      I guess you have a Hatian palate will like to talk soon because I am hearing there are some things in Haitan cuisine that I can veganize easily or that are already vegan..
      my friend here was telling me abt prickly or something

  5. February 12, 2011 2:00 pm

    These look great! You can tell how flaky the crusts are. Nothing beats shortening for a good crust in my opinion..

    • Taymer permalink*
      February 12, 2011 5:41 pm

      I know ppl are not into the crisco thing neither am I but when u do pastry do it right or dont do it at all.
      I admit having some reduced fat recipes that dont flake bit they still taste like pastry
      heheh

  6. February 13, 2011 2:59 pm

    this looks awesome icant wait to try this and make it for my boyfriend we have been looking for a good jamaican beef patty recipe

  7. February 23, 2011 3:26 pm

    I can’t get over how flaky that pastry looks. This is so droolworthy!!!

  8. April 23, 2011 10:04 pm

    These look soooo delicious. I have them in the oven right now. I’m so excited to pick up a copy of your cookbook and try out some other recipes. Everything looks SO good!

  9. Tina Redwood permalink
    July 4, 2011 12:58 pm

    Thanks so much!! I’m stepping into the vegan world, but have ALOT of fears about living with the absence of flavor– a real turn-off to making the commitment. Seeing your patties made me feel like life without meat is now possible. I can’t wait to try them.

    Again, great job.

  10. July 17, 2011 7:51 pm

    The addition of toppings with patties in Jamaica is a fairly new development, and I still prefer my patties without all the ‘fandangles’. 😉

    I have never a vegan one with a crust that hit the mark (why do health foodists feel a need to put whole wheat in everything? Grrrr!), but I had grudgingly accepted this to be my lot…. until now. I have bookmarked your recipe and will give it a shot as soon as I am able. 🙂

  11. Anonymous permalink
    July 24, 2011 9:57 am

    I am a vegan and I thought Worcestershire sauce contains anchovies..

    • Taymer permalink*
      July 24, 2011 2:47 pm

      Like there is vegan cheese there is vegan w sauce..please google. There are about 3 brands I know of that do not contain and several health food stores have brands sans the anchovies. Traditionally W sauce has the fish but since people have allergies and due to cost there are brands that do it sans the fish.

  12. ganit permalink
    August 7, 2011 11:00 am

    Hi this recipe looks amazing. I am vegeterian but not vegan, so do I use unsalted margarine or salted, and what is the exact measurement of the butter I need. It was a little confusing to me of how exactly to prepare the dough :o)

  13. Anonymous permalink
    December 8, 2011 5:43 pm

    Hi! Thank you sooo much for sharing this recipe! I have a question, what is TVP?

    • Evolver permalink
      April 2, 2012 9:16 am

      TVP is texturized vegetable protein. It’s completely vegan but has a meat like consistency/texture. I know the bulk section of whole foods carries it at a little less than $4/lb.

  14. January 29, 2012 7:55 pm

    Delicious sis! Made these with seitan!

  15. December 24, 2012 8:27 pm

    These look amazing. Thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe.

  16. Ruth permalink
    July 18, 2013 7:00 pm

    Taymer, I just came across your patty photo on a non-vegan site (minus your copyright watermark). There is no credit given, and it goes along with a request to “Join our mailing list and I’ll send you my special recipe for Homemade Jamaican Beef Patties”. One would be forgiven for thinking the photo showed stated patties, but no….. I thought to myself…. Funny how that looks exactly like Taymer’s crust…..

    Oh… the site is called Cook like a Jamaican, and the photo is profiling in the right sidebar.

    • Taymer permalink*
      July 18, 2013 7:26 pm

      Thanks so much for this I Will deal with them right now! Wow and it looks like two grown women. It is now loading up.

      • Ruth permalink
        July 28, 2013 2:03 pm

        I just got the chance to get back to you…. Did you make any headway with the blogger(s)?

  17. January 10, 2014 11:25 pm

    These were incredible! I hadn’t ‘t had real ones in 12 years since leaving south Florida. I have been vegan 6 years, and figured I’d never eat one again. Thank you soooooooo much!

  18. dominique permalink
    July 24, 2014 2:30 pm

    Instead of the mined protein could I just substitute it with frozen mince veggies

  19. Johnc831 permalink
    September 2, 2014 6:20 pm

    whoah this weblog is wonderful i really like studying your posts. Keep up the great paintings! You already know, lots of individuals are searching around for this information, you can help them greatly. dfbafbfddegg

Trackbacks

  1. Coconut in the Sun | MOTHERLAND

Leave a Reply

