Skip to content

Vegan Sweet Hot and Sour Chicken

January 24, 2011

This is quickie filler post but the Breakfast Blues part 2 is coming up when I get better. Yes I made this even if I am sick I am someone who needs the tastiest food to recover.

I have a love hate relationship with Chinese takeout because it is usually sickly sweet and the protein is never seasoned and just heavily sauced. My partner however has a hate relationship for takeout and even if we are in a bind for food he avoids the restaurants even if they have many vegan options. I started to make my own takeout making more nutritionally sound swaps and  here is one of my dishes that I make often at home and honestly if you are skillful and follow my steps you can have this done in 30 minutes.

Hot Sweet and Sour Chicken on Brown Rice and Steamed Vegetables

Vegan Sweet and Sour Chicken Copyright Taymer Mason

The Art of Making Good Takeout Style Sweet and Sour Chicken

Batter, Coat and Serve

Step 1: I seasoned my Morning Star Vegan Chicken strips first with Bajan Seasoning to give me that familiar flavouring on the protein. I proceeded to make a batter with cornstarch, flour soy sauce, cayenne, lemon pepper and salt and soymilk. I battered the chicken and in minimal when I say minimal oil I cooked the battered chicken briefly to brown the outsides and drained it and stuck it in a warm oven for the rest of the time.

Step 2: I proceeded to put the rice on the stove as it takes a hell of a time to cook and then cut up my fresh vegetables to steam as the rice was cooking.

Step 3: I made my sauce with this recipe as the  loose base as I never measure anything then I added pineapple chunks, Worcestershire sauce, chopped fresh garlic, chopped fresh ginger, asian chilli sauce, sriracha sauce. and onion powder. I let it cook on low heat simmering so the pineapple could add some flavour to the sauce. Just before serving you have to add some cornstarch to the sauce to make it thick and sticky and immediately add your chicken that has been sitting in the oven and stir and turn off the heat. The chicken will absorb all the flavour in the fake skin you made with the batter.

Step 4: Serve in a bowl  with hot steamed rice and veggies and eat.

Become a fan on Facebook

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 4:10 pm

    That looks delicious!

  2. January 24, 2011 6:33 pm

    Good call on using the Bajan seasoning first. I love that stuff! And I still have some in the fridge.

  3. January 24, 2011 10:06 pm

    One of my coworkers who is from Barbados, gave me a jar of homemade bajan — now I know what to do with it – thanks! Beautiful photo!

    • Taymer permalink*
      January 24, 2011 10:11 pm

      well i use it on most things i blog about as it is used extensively in Caribbean Vegan. it is traditionally a meat seasoning but u can use it in tofu scrambles..season your veg before roasting ..really good on sweet potatoes and u can use it on chicken strips and in batters for coating etc why didnt u friend tell u what to do with it?:) enjoy your jar

  4. January 26, 2011 2:11 pm

    this looks amazing.

  5. January 30, 2011 4:55 pm

    Hold the PHONE! Morning Star makes VEGAN chicken? Over here it all has either milk or eggs or both in ALL the morning star products…did they do a product revamp and i need to re-read the labels? Or is this actually labeled vegan? Please share.

    • Taymer permalink*
      January 30, 2011 5:17 pm

      you have been left behind miss cortney..the chicken strips are…even now tehy have the grillers burgers that are vegetarian in the vegan version now. I told you so a few months ago check again it says vegan at the back with the american v sign or it could be their own v sign.

  6. February 14, 2011 3:18 pm

    I’m new to vegan life, albeit it temporary right now, but I’m on the search for awesome recipes. I want to do a sweet and sour or orange tofu, so these are great tips!

Leave a Reply

