Skip to content

Dear Readers

December 16, 2010

Dear Readers

This blog is taking a little nap for the rest of the month due to circumstances  that have left me with some quiet reflection to do. I know I still owe you some recipes and will quickly get those up as soon as possible for the holidays as I know many of your want to do your holiday vegan ham  and stuff.

Everyone has been curious and there are rumours I am shutting down the blog . I did hint at this in my Twitter but I am still in reflection mode and there is still hope. Sometimes anger and frustration gets into your way and one must step back to make mature and substantial decisions.

This is the only Vegan Caribbean Blog online right now and I honestly think it offers a wealth of information to the readers and also a blast from the past to the new West Indian Vegans. There are some of you that have started to read my blog and I think it would be a dis service to you if I end my journey here so quickly. There will be some changes

I will be changing the interface and we will be at caribbeanvegan.com soon

There will be one recipe per month

The photographs on the blog would be improved and there will be options for a more easier reader interaction.

Basically it would be a website and the blog would be inside and then you would have other tabs on the site.

I think culture and food should be shared but never used to make profit or to be use as a tool to further your success and it is important that all bloggers be aware of this especially with the loose copyright laws that vary from country to country…there leaves little hope to have a case against these type of situations. When we borrow from each other the decent thing to do is to say this was influenced from this especially for unique recipes. I do hope in the future that there is more protection for food bloggers from other bloggers and outside sources as incidents like this may it be some media taking a photo, a restaurant stealing recipes or just someone who is dishonest,  make us lose focus on what is really important..our followers may it be one or one thousand.

I do apologize to my testers who I left staked out for a while but please bear with me it is really not my fault but I know you are still waiting.

I will be tied up early next year so the blog would be bi monthly but I will make sure the content is good so it doesnt feel like you are getting short changed.

Happy Holidays to those who celebrate something and all the best for the new year!

I will be back refreshed and ready to share some more ideas with you.

A big thank you to all that bought Caribbean Vegan this year .

All the Best

Taymer

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Shernell Cooke permalink
    December 17, 2010 3:39 am

    I sure hope you feel better. I received your book and it is really nice. I will post about it on my new blog,I’ll email you the details.

    Hay it’s all in the nature,just be happy that your still apart of nature 🙂

  2. December 17, 2010 12:41 pm

    Taymar I’m looking forward to your new website.

    When using someone’s recipe it’s not hard to let everyone else know where the original recipe came from and link it back to that persons blog or cook book.
    I always enjoy letting someone know I blogged about their recipe and even if I make a change or two I’ll let everyone know where the original recipe came from.

    I’m sure this time of reflection will be postive.

    Happy Holidays!

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 17, 2010 1:22 pm

      yeah but I am speaking about ppl using it and selling it and saying it is their original creation I am speaking about people who lift ideas and prob made one change and pass it off as their own creation to ignorant few who do not know any better. restaurants making profit off of your unique ideas things like that I have endured for a long time. and it keeps popping up over and over again with a new place or person..it is flattering but extremely dishonest. Looking forward to reading post instead of making them.. it is indeed a time for reflection! Thanks JoLynn

  3. December 22, 2010 11:53 pm

    Taymer-you’d better not stop this blog! Okay so I may not be vegan but you know I love all different kinds of food and you have such original recipes. As to blogging less, I will have to do that myself in the new year but hopefully it will lead to better quality posts even if it means fewer readers. I do this for me anyway but it doesn’t pay the bills and I have to be realistic.

  4. March 21, 2011 12:11 pm

    Well, I’m thrilled I found you today. My parents are Grenadian and Jamaican. I’m ordering *right* now before I go to visit them in Fla. next month. Thanks for writing your blog and your book.

    • Taymer permalink*
      March 25, 2011 8:20 pm

      Hey Miss Celie
      Sorry I did not respond earlier…let me know when u get ur book

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Dear Readers « Vegan In The Sun -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

