Skip to content

Barbados Week: Cassava Myth and Cassava Pone with Black Pepper Ice Cream

November 25, 2010

Hi All

My posts are getting later and later which means I am losing steam but I put a lot of effort in making this post today for Barbados week because it is a photo I wish was in Caribbean Vegan.

Cassava Pone Dessert Copyright Taymer Mason

Cassava

 

 

Today we are going to look at the root vegetable cassava also know as yucca.Many people are scared of it because they heard it was poisonous. I actually stated it was poisonous in Caribbean Vegan even if it is not technically. I wrote this  as a security step. There are two types of cassava sweet or eating cassava or bitter which is poisonous. My father told me that no one plants bitter cassava anymore so there is no need to be paranoid by really eating cassava is not poisonous. To cook cassava properly cut into 2×2 inch cubes and boil in salted water for 35 to 40 minutes until tender or until the flesh starts to crack when you take it out of the pot. Take off the barky skin off of the cassava, this is not a potato and you need to remove the skin off of several Caribbean root vegetables so health nuts incorporated the skin here is not nutritious! Some ways to enjoy cassava are Grenadian Oil Down and Cassava Pone which is very popular in Tobago and Barbados. I never liked cassava pone as a child and I did not understand why grown people go ga ga goo goo for it yet, I never tried it. When I was developing recipes for Caribbean Vegan last year I tasted it for the first time and I understand why people love it so much.

Appearance

The photo of cassava  has a shiny bark because of the soil it was cultivated in. Barbados has a different soil so the bark is chalky and light brown. The flesh of the cassava varies from eggy yellow to white. The photo below shows the different colours. Anyways, with everything said still do not taste your pone batter regardless of if the cassava is eating cassava or not.

Cassava Being grated for Pone Yellow and White Meat Cassava Copyright Taymer Mason

Cassava Pone

 

The Dessert

Cassava Pone is a gluten free dessert that is consumed in the South of the Caribbean; someone correct me if I am wrong on this one. It is made from finely grated cassava meaning cassava  grated to a pulp and finely grated coconut, sugar, spices and melted margarine. It is very easy to throw together but it takes up to 2 hours to bake.  The texture is  not cakey but a positive chewy slight gummy and surprisingly this type of dessert is very popular with adults in the Caribbean. This recipe is in Caribbean Vegan and to do the plate you can make a vanilla icecream and add black pepper to it. The compote I did as a filler. I made the pineapple compote by slowly cooking the pineapple in brown sugar, rum , clove cinnamon and nutmeg and added some raisins.

Here is a closer look at the texture of the pone

Cassava Pone up close Copyright Taymer Mason

Finally the Black Pepper Ice Cream. The Black Pepper Ice Cream is something I got at a restaurant/ hotel in Barbados and I was very intrigued with it especially the pairing with cassava. This is not an ice cream to eat when watching your favourite  Friday night movie but it is a tasting ice cream that is not for the faint of heart. It tricks you as  you taste a nice cold vanilla then BAMMMMM!!! a burning which is very usually for a dessert. Cassava pone is serve with black pepper in Tobago so I guess the chefs decided to take it up a notch and add black pepper to their ice cream. If I was doing this dessert I would make vegan whipping cream infused with black pepper as well and maybe pair it with a tropical fruit sorbet to take off the heat from the ice cream. Black pepper ice cream is addictive and after you are burnt you want to go back for more to cool the burn etc.

Here is my home made black pepper icecream..I do not do recipes just throw ice cream ingredients into the pan but I did use soy creamer, brown sugar and vanilla and then whisked in the black pepper. My ice cream has a bit of Earth Balance Vegan Butter to make it extra creamy.

Black Pepper Ice Cream Copyright Taymer Mason

24 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 6:30 pm

    I really don’t know yet after 52 years of age whether I like Yuca…well that’s how we call it in PR. This is my least favorite root. For some reason its a little too tough if it is not cook correctly. But you made it into a dessert which looks and I bet taste wonderful. I had never had it in a dessert form but the great things of having creativity is creating something fabulous. Nice job Taymer.

  2. November 25, 2010 6:55 pm

    we make pone with some condensed milk so…that version wouldn’t be vegan 🙂 but I would imagine vegan versions would not be substantially different. nice trio!

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 25, 2010 9:52 pm

      Correct no major difference and even as PS said the coconut milk will be an interesting element but it taste like regular pone to me

      • November 26, 2010 5:49 pm

        coconut milk won’t be too strange since many of our pones, whether pumpkin or cassava also have grated coconut in them.
        It’s how I have also always made a vegan sweetbread using coconut milk instead of regular milk and oil instead of butter/margarine.

  3. Pineapple Sage permalink
    November 25, 2010 8:20 pm

    Yummy, yummy, yummy. I love making yucca pone whenever I can find some fresh yucca.
    Instead of earth balance butter I use freshly made coconut milk, with some green cayanne or scotch bonnet peppers added to the spices. Never had pone with ice cream before, but will have to try it. Thanks for the post.

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 25, 2010 9:39 pm

      I was going to try it with coconut milk today because I was saying why use heavy vegan cream when u can add back some coconut flavour..I am amazed with the scotch bonnet on this pone do you bake it in or like put it on top? I add raisins in mine but today since I was doing the fruit thing I put the raisins on the side in the rum sauce

  4. November 26, 2010 1:04 am

    That photo is beautiful.

  5. December 1, 2010 10:04 pm

    umm. black pepper ice cream sounds AMAZING, I need to try that. I love love love spicy & sweet combos. I am also super curious about the texture of pone, I’ve never had cassava, but I see it in the store all the time. must try!

  6. Sharon permalink
    December 2, 2010 11:14 am

    oh lawdddd that cou-cou meal looks wonderfulllllllllllllllllllllllll

    I meed a minute………………

  7. February 4, 2011 6:43 pm

    This looks absolutely phenomenal. I will have to get the book and prepare it!

    • Taymer permalink*
      February 4, 2011 6:49 pm

      will send u the recipe

      • February 4, 2011 7:36 pm

        Wow!! Thank you! I can’t wait to make it. This is one of my favorite desserts. ♥

  8. Angela permalink
    March 14, 2011 11:28 am

    Re: Cassava pone. Most of the people in Trinidad add grated pumpkin to cassava pone. I tried out a recipe recently from a Trinidadian cook book and used 1/2 evaporated milk 1/2 water. They said either milk or water. I also did not have any pumpkin. The recipe also included blackpepper. It tasted very good, except that it was a bit soft inside. Maybe the milk caused this so less liquid was needed. I don’t know. I usualy add some raisons to mine. I used to make this years ago but I can’t remember the original recipe because I was taught to make it without a recipe. Would this be considered a vegetarian dessert?

    • Taymer permalink*
      March 14, 2011 11:46 am

      If one adds pumpkin to cassava pone it not cassava pone anymore.. u add coconut to cassava pone not pumpkin there is something called pumpkin pone too Cassava pone is a vegetarian dessert yes but mine is a vegan dessert as it does not use dairy or eggs. Cassava pone should not be soft inside…u did not say how much cassava you used for the 1 cup of liquid to get a pone in my book i use 5 and a half cassava and coconut to 1 1/4 cups liquid. I do not use water in my pone. That recipe is messed up. Check out trinigourmet.com to get a vegetarian recipe for pone http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/cassava-pone-recipe/

  9. Anonymous permalink
    December 5, 2012 2:39 pm

    I was just reading this and realized that I wrote it. Yes, in Trinidad, we make Cassava Pone with pumpkin, cassava and coconut. That is that only way that we do it. The recipe called for double of liquid that should have been used. I forgot the consistency that is why I used the amount of liquid that they recommended but they should have halved the liquid in the recipe. I also used a Pyrex dish and maybe I forgot to decrease the temperature by 25 degrees.

  10. Angela permalink
    December 5, 2012 2:42 pm

    The above response was from me. It just went through. Thanks for your response.

  11. keiserrao@aol.com permalink
    December 5, 2012 3:09 pm

    I just discovered your site. I used to cook and bake a lot and stopped doing much because of my job. Now that I am retired, I will be cooking again. Thanks for your hard work. It is nice to see that the younger generation can put things on the Internet. The world need to know that we have an exciting cuisine.

    Are you going to keep your site up for awhile? Please let me know.

    Thanks.

    Keith Angela

  12. NorthBelle permalink
    February 26, 2014 12:52 pm

    Fantastic site. YUM!!!!!! Lots of new recipes for me to try. Its minus 24 today and I need something warm that reminds me of sunshine …

  13. angela permalink
    May 3, 2016 11:00 am

    ……the original Bajan recipe does NOT have black pepper!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Barbados Week: Cassava Myth and Cassava Pone with Black Pepper Ice Cream « Vegan In The Sun -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

