Skip to content

Dessert Selection: My two cents!!

November 17, 2010

Vegan Dessert Trio Copyright Taymer Mason 2010

OK you got me I do not like sweets but people around me do and I like making ppl happy most of the time so I put as much effort into my desserts as in my savory dishes.

When hosting a vegan dinner party  dessert selection is key as dessert should be welcomed and not feared. Sometimes our vegan menus can get a little carb heavy and carb tastic and then if you serve a cake on that the guest will enjoy it but they will not enjoy it. If your meal is carby in that there are root vegetables, rice pastry forget a cake as dessert or do something like a mini cupcake. If you are thinking about a 2 coarse meal then a cake can work.

Last night I hosted a dinner at my place of residence  and my menu was as follows

Appetizer

White Sweet potato chips seasoned with Bajan seasoning and hot and spicy ketchup

Main

Caribbean Quiche with  flaky crust with a feuille de chene salad and a vinaigrette

Dessert

Orange Coconut Icecream, fruit and nut chocolate bar with orange rum and basil and lime snap biscuits

This dessert is totally made up and does not show up anywhere in Caribbean cuisine but it is my thing and you will be seeing some influenced recipes on the blog with traditional as well so that is the new direction I am going. I am going to try to do recipes because everyone wants recipes but I will not lie I feel so free when I do not have to write in the kitchen. You should have seen Caribbean Vegan testing book it looks like a book out of a gore movie! There will be weekly recipes in the future. I promise!

The Culprits

I was going to make a chocolate spiced tuile but that would have been showing off so I made a spin on this cookie that sells in the pharmacy in Barbados…ok yeah the pharmacy sells medicine but there is a part for goodies as well. This cookie is dry and crispy and it taste buttery and it  is tossed in sugar. What I did with this cookie was chop some fresh basil and added some lime zest and juice and  rolled it out thin cut it and baked it brushing in vegan butter twice. The result is a light buttery cookie.

The chocolate was a bit tricky as I knew what I wanted as the final result but I did not know how to get there and yes that is salt on the chocolate. This chocolate has the texture of ice cream but it is firm enough to cut and it sets in the freezer without   freezing. I knew I wanted the flavour to be strong to balance the light mild orange coconut flavour and I wanted some spark so I made a added orange juice as I tempered the chocolate and some Mount Gay Rum. The fruits of choice were cranberries and raisins and there is a bit of rind in the chocolate. I used a high end  meaning slightly pricey dark dessert chocolate which was very strong and bitter so I balanced it with some brown sugar and a splash of agave nectar. I also added in some soy creamer and a bit of earth balance…yeah it is a lot of work in this chocolate. When it was shiny, I poured it onto a greased pan and let it set outside then stuck it in the freezer so it could be cold like the icecream. I sprinkled fleur de sel on the top.

The ice cream was said to take like creamsicle but the flavour notes were slightly more adult and refine. I used coconut milk as the based but used soy creamer to build it up. Lots of orange and lime juice, coconut extract, almond extract and Angostura bitters and a touch of vanilla. The texture of this ice cream was perfect and there was this almost light mouth feel that was unexpected since it was coconut based!

dessert comp vegan Copyright Taymer Mason 2010

So that is it today. Tomorrow is Wed so we will be tasting with our eyes Bajan Soup with Dumplings.

You would learn why in the Caribbean we love to eat soup especially on a hot day.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 4:04 am

    Wow, for someone that doesn’t like deserts you sure created something a sweet-tooth haver like me would love! What a great menu for your lucky guests!

    Also, there is a big population of Carribean descent in DC, you should see whether they can feature your cookbook somewhere like Java Green cafe!

  2. Bajangyal permalink
    November 17, 2010 6:28 am

    your trio looks divine

  3. November 17, 2010 9:52 am

    I was one of the lucky guests! everything was amazing! I still can’t get over the icecream and chocolate bars!

  4. buddhatomic permalink
    November 17, 2010 12:04 pm

    Aside from the fact that I wish I could eat that plate up right now, it’s a really nice photo too!

  5. November 18, 2010 7:01 am

    That looks delectable, so elegant.

Leave a Reply

