Skip to content

Tester Post Vegan “see” Food

November 16, 2010

 

 

So I have this blue hue of light that is killing my photos and since I am not experienced at photography I do not know how to fix it. They sky here is very very blue today like bluer than usual so now it is coming through in my photos. I will try to ask for help to counteract this issue.

Today I am going to show you a Vegan bouillabaisse I have been working on and it is done and ready for my testers and you know if you are smart  that it is a sea food stew originally from France. For me I say they are no limits in cooking when you are vegan and I am always ready to take on the toughest task but this was a very easy dish to execute. There will be some vegan gore but I did Eggplant seafood and shaped them and seared them so they can stay in place and look cute. I also worked with hearts of palm and tofu. This is my favourite so far from the new book but it may get taken over later by something else but the flavour and variety of the vegan  “see” food is fun and would this would make for a nice fine dinner.

 

Vegan bouillabaisse Copyright Taymer Mason 2010

Vegan bouillabaisse Copyright Taymer Mason 2010

vegan raw "see" food Copyright Taymer Mason

raw and cooked eggplant seafood Copyright Taymer Mason

 

 

Vegans question of day how do you feel about seafood flavours in your meals. Why are some vegans ok with faux chicken but turn up their nose at  the vegan seafood options?

 

When I went vegan the worst thing for me was giving this up but this is prob because I am from the Caribbean and the preparations are different but anyways I would like your feedback if possible.

 

I will try to shoot again the blue hue is gone so maybe we can see that dessert tomorrow

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 2:26 pm

    I got your book in yesterday to review!!! It looks fab! The photos are gorgeous, and the recipes look awesome. I think my first choice will be the ackee (if I can find it) scramble or the hearts of palm/tofu scramble with a St. Lucian bake. I’ll be posting a review soon (and the publisher is letting me do a giveaway), maybe some time next week.

    As for seafood flavors, I’m not the biggest fan but that’s because I never liked seafood when I ate meat. I’m okay with a little nori or dulse flakes, but I don’t like it to be too overpowering.

    On the blue hue: I get that sometimes too, and I find that it’s helpful to adjust the temperature of the photo once you’ve downloaded them into your photo program. I just Preview on my Mac.

  2. November 16, 2010 5:53 pm

    The blue hue: If your camera has the possibility for changing the white balance, try do to so and see if it helps. Otherwise, you’ll have to fix it in the computer by adding a bit more yellow to the picture.

    Seafood: I love vegan seafood! I havn’t had a lot, but sometimes I’ve had vegan shrimps or crab claws and those were lovely. Also salmon once, great too!

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 16, 2010 10:52 pm

      I guess u got this from those Asian brands…I see them here but I am scared to try They have this tuno that like if everyone gets their hands on it they would be freaking out.

  3. November 16, 2010 6:05 pm

    The thought of vegan seafood doesn’t appeal to me because I didn’t like seafood as a child and was always forced to eat it. But, I would trust any of your recipes to be delicious, so I’d give it a go.

  4. November 16, 2010 10:40 pm

    to start with, i was never a big seafood fan. so making vegan mock-seafood was never really a desire. then my husband found this rub that makes everything taste list fish, so we made fish cakes. it was one of those moments, you know, when you taste a flavor you haven’t had in years? and i was in love. but by my third fish cake, i remembered why i wasn’t a big seafood fan. 🙂

    probably more than you wanted in a comment… but that’s why. but i’m always willing to give everything a try.

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 16, 2010 10:42 pm

      a rub that makes everything taste like fish u have anymore? lol

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 16, 2010 10:46 pm

      actually there is something I did not mention in the post abt vegan seafood is the best of both world. You have all the postive flavours of the seaweed but not those raw pockets and it is cruelty free give it a chance;0

      On Tue, Nov 16, 2010 at 10:42 PM, Taymer Mason wrote:

      > a rub that makes everything taste like fish > u have anymore? > lol > >

Leave a Reply

