Skip to content

Quiche Mania

November 10, 2010

My first introduction to Quiche was me taking a risk in my  Food and Nutrition exam when I was 16 years old that was 10 years ago. I got an A in my practical and written exam but none of the dishes I made were practiced as at that age I did not have the money to buy the ingredients. My theme was to do a wedding party and create 7 dishes including a bread and a drink in 2 hours. At the end of the exam my kitchen was a mess, and someone had turn up the heat in the oven browning my bread too much making it raw in the middle but that did not stop me from getting that distinction in this exam. I made these mini Quiche Lorraine and it stole the show and the fact that I did not make it before made the victory even sweeter. Even at 16 years old I had this strange relationship with eggs and there was something about them I did not like. It took a biology class at university to solidify my feelings about eggs and it was one of those moments for me as a vegan when I knew that egg eating was something I would not take part in. I will save you the gore from this class as it may be too sensitive for a food blog but there were a few people in the university lab in tears after this biodiversity experiment with eggs. Some said they would never eat eggs again but I knew that after a few weeks they forgot about it.

It took my least favourite ingredient tofu to make a good Quiche and I can only eat tofu in 1. Quiche, 2. to fish 3.  hidden in a pie like a mac and cheese pie.  The first time I made tofu quiche was one year ago in France. We had just came back from the tattoo convention in Nantes and all they had in the fridge were a roll of vegan short crust pastry, the best tasting vegan hotdogs, and a small pack of tofu. Since she was vegetarian she started to think about making a Quiche and abandoned it because of us. I told her I could make it with tofu and guess what? I had a small canister of black salt in my bag..do not ask me why I am walking around with spices..but it was so weird. We went back to their cottage which was in a garden full of fresh organic vegetables and that night together we made the best quiche I ever had vegan or not. I use that quiche as a goal every time I sent out to make quiche.

This brings me to the next topic even if tofu quiche may be healthier than the original quiche, quiche is not something I would eat every week because of the crust. To beat this problem I sometimes make the quiche crustless or I make what I call a health nut pastry with oatmeal, whole wheat flour and spelt flour (using that currently). I use little fat but keep everything cold and I have my crust and eat it too! Another thing about tofu quiche is that is cracks especially if its it slightly too hard or soft so to  combat this problem I fill in the cracks with soy creamer which I use as an egg wash and it seals the cracks as seen in the photo below. Another thing is the over use of turmeric. Yes I know tofu is white but you need about an 1/8 or less tsp of turmeric powder in your preparation. Anything over can colour your quiche intergalactic yellow and in this photo I purposefully showed a well balanced colour quiche and the overly bright intergalactic yellow quiche. One more thing if you do not mix your turmeric in water it rises to the surface of the quiche and leaves the rest of the tofu white. Today I present to you a series of quiche showing all the faults in quiche making and what colour your should aim for.

Below is a spinach onion quiche I made yesterday with the health nut crust and it shows one side with  a nice even yellow colour and the other side with this overly bright yellow.

Tofu Quiche showing two different colours

Here is a section in this spinach quiche showing the separation of turmeric. You can also see where I filled in the cracks with the soy creamer. I sliced a little too warm but the sun was setting but the texture was very firm when it cooled down. It is a good idea to serve quiche with mache (lambs lettuce) as this goes really well with it.

Spinach Quiche showing separation of tumeric

This brings me to the next topic too tight of  a quiche. If you are going to call something a quiche when it come out of the oven it should jiggle a little like a custard and here in this quiche I made based on a recipe I saw a few years back this quiche did not deliver in terms of texture.

Tofu Tart

Which brings me to my next point always fold in your soy creamer into your tofu mix as it makes the quiche light and fluffy

Tofu Quiche with good texture

Finally here is a quiche that gets high marks from me in colour, texture and custard jiggly appearance and this is my vegan quiche lorraine a tester I am doing and my testers would get this very soon but for me the texture of this were perfect that I felt I was eating fluffy whisked eggs without the guilt and smell.

Here is  look at the inside of this quiche

Section through a tofu quiche

That is it for  my take on the tofu quiche. See you tomorrow with something spicy.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 10:46 am

    yummy!!!! I love quiche but I don’t make it often. Your post has given me the desire to make one this week. Thank you Taymer.

  2. Sharon permalink
    November 10, 2010 12:01 pm

    Nothing wrong with carrying spices…pepper sauce carrier here(well not as much anymoe but I was very annoyed when restaurants tried to give me tabasco) How dare they offer me that

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 10, 2010 12:03 pm

      when i use to go to france i had a small rum bottle full of pepper sauce incase the meal was bland That time around I had madras curry, umm bajan seasoning in a plastic jar and black salt some ppl think all hot sauce is the same it is not!

  3. November 10, 2010 12:01 pm

    The quiches and tofu tart look amazing!

  4. November 10, 2010 12:43 pm

    I heart quiche.
    🙂

  5. November 10, 2010 2:32 pm

    Those look amazing! I never really liked quiche as an omni, but it’s one of my favorite vegan foods.

  6. November 10, 2010 4:12 pm

    Cherie,
    Looks gorgeous and delicious!
    Aimee

  7. November 10, 2010 4:31 pm

    At first I thought it was really odd and funny that you were carrying around black salt, but then I thought…hey, that’s not a bad idea! 🙂

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 10, 2010 4:38 pm

      u dont want to see what I walk around with when I travel you would fall on the floor laughing. I laugh at myself too I just like to be prepared.

  8. November 10, 2010 5:16 pm

    I love tofu quiche! I haven’t made one in a while though….yum!!

  9. November 10, 2010 5:42 pm

    Tay, those last couple of photos are gorgeous! I can’t wait for the tester recipe.

  10. November 10, 2010 6:27 pm

    oohhh I love quiche. And that last quiche really does look perfect in terms of texture colour everything 🙂 I don’t mind tofu at all so I’d probably love these!

  11. November 11, 2010 2:02 am

    Hey there, This is my first visit to your blog. I love how you make such a wide variety of foods. And your quiche looks delicious, its been too long since ive made quiche!
    Shall be follwing you from now on 🙂

    Rose

  12. November 11, 2010 4:12 am

    They look really good. The tofu tart with tomato on top looks amazing and so appetising!

  13. November 20, 2010 3:32 pm

    I have a recipe for a relatively healthy and low-fat pie crust: http://www.suite101.com/content/lentil-pie-recipe-a85805

    When we made caramelized onion pies for my wedding with my husband using this crust recipe, he accidentally only measured enough margarine for one pie for two crusts, and we didn’t notice it until before the pies had already been baked. Surprisingly they were just fine, even though there was only less than 1 oz of fat in the crust of one pie!

  14. August 20, 2014 12:31 am

    At this moment I am going to do my breakfast, after having my
    breakfast coming over again to read additional news.

Leave a Reply

