Skip to content

Accidental Win Voluntary Lost

November 9, 2010

Sometimes I say my photos suck and I am not fishing for compliments but I really think some of them suck  because I am trying to perfect my skills so I have some hit and misses at times and I acknowledge these cases.  Anyways the photos today are just some snapshots that were taken quickly as I had a lunch guest. Todays story is about my hit and misses when I was trying to make the perfect lunch for an omni guest.

So I made a new friend here on the island and I told her I was vegan and not knowing what to expect she came over for lunch. It was short notice and my menu planning was all over the place and I had a scheduled meals to make  for Vegan Mofo., but I tried my best. I knew it was  casual so I did a pasta dish from the Caribbean and for appetizers I did something I never did before .

The following dish is a vegan Bruschetta..oh my word….where were you…and I even made it more out of this world with a thin slice of Barbadian Vegan Ham…what was I thinking. I know I make promises for like for the madeleines and stuff but I will post the recipe for the bruschetta topping. The ham is in Caribbean Vegan and I did the baking step to make it more tight. Anyways the recipes I promised are coming. I just have too much work these days.

After working on the main course a chow mein dish that I can make in my sleep I tasted it and something just was not right it did not have that Taymer Zing that I know since I made this meal several times under pressure for time and it is one of those morish meals  but today it was not my best but it was still good. When introducing people to vegan meals for the first time you have to put your best forward and I took the dish failure very very hard.

The dessert is a bun on my 2010 holiday gift pack and guess what? The humidity is killing me here so if I want to do  a dry bun I need to make it an hour before the person is coming or my cookies will go soft! No wonder we never ate cookies in the Caribbean maybe this is a reason. To keep my cookies hard I have to put them in an  airtight container when it is cooled or else the environment would have its way with them. This is affecting my testing for my second book in a bad way because I am thinking the recipe is wrong but it is the humidity here that is ruining my baked goods. Here are jam buns it is a British cookie that I learnt to make at school and I made the recipe vegan. You can find that in Caribbean Vegan. The dough is lemon scented and you are free to use whatever jam. Here I used raspberry and pineapple or guava jam. It taste buttery and makes u feel all holiday spirity inside..it is just one of those feel good cookies.

The point is when you are trying to hard to be perfect sometimes you get a slap in your face of failure to tell you relax and stop trying too hard.

Tomorrow we may look at an ice cream post providing I get to make my other batch by tonight but if not expect a vegan fish stew or roti or something tomorrow.

This week is not my week at all…I have a back log of work and just more and more things to do. Next year I will prepare 2 months before vegan mofo so I do not feel this way.

Tomorrow my loves….

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 12:43 pm

    I know how you feel, sometimes even a recipe you’ve made a hundred times doesn’t come out right if you don’t have your mojo. But it still looks good, and as Julia Child says, “never apologize for your cooking!”

  2. Sharon permalink
    November 9, 2010 3:46 pm

    Everything looks great! Don’t be too hard on yourself.
    I am not a cookie fan but those look excellent…..now I want tea and those cookies

  3. November 9, 2010 4:23 pm

    I completely hear you re: wanting vegan dishes to be the best for the “uninitiated.” However, you are doing such a fantastic, compassionate thing, simply by sharing healthy, delicious vegan food with your guest(s) – be proud of that!

    Also, everything will work out with your new cookbook recipes, I promise! Just think how great you’ll feel when all of that hard work pays off…

    And, speaking of cookbooks: I just wanted to tell you that I was so excited to see your Caribbean Vegan cookbook in the bookstore this weekend! I was like, “OMG, I KNOW her!!” LOL!

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 9, 2010 4:39 pm

      could someone take a picture of this for me…i will have to wait till I come up to the states next year I am so out of the loop My cookbook will never be in the stores here so I get excited to hear this news

      Most of the times when you tell ppl u are compassionate they laugh at you so using food to convert ppl makes the job easy and even now with all the great food out there it is a hard way of life to sell to others so I always want to show every single positive aspect of veganism so food falling flat is always a no no for me but thanks for your support:) I had no idea abt the croutons but I never bought them before I like the joy in making them yours looks really good Now if I will start eating more salads;)

  4. November 9, 2010 7:39 pm

    Wow the bruschetta looks very appetizing as well as your chow mein. My husband loves thumprint cookies. Your photo’s and food always look amazing

  5. November 10, 2010 3:06 am

    I like this post a lot, I bet the chow mein was fantastic, and boy are those cookies cute. A PPKer from Australia posted on FB that she made your jerk seasoning and used it on portobellos and that she could eat it every night forever. Go you!

  6. November 10, 2010 5:53 am

    i would love a good chow mein recipe!

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 10, 2010 9:02 am

      will send u one in the mail or the guidelines if i do not have time to do the recipe

Leave a Reply

