Skip to content

Yellow Split Pea Dal and Kale

November 8, 2010

 

I have  this  meal I have about twice a month. Brown rice, yellow split pea dahl done my way and some spinach. Last week I saw fresh Kale in the supermarket and I took up some. When I go to NYC to eat there is always an abundance of Kale or some seitan dish in my plate and it seems Kale is the” it” green leafy vegetable for vegans. I still do not know how I feel about Kale. I think it is really good and it has so many vitamins and minerals but…maybe I need to put lots of garlic in the dish and sauce it more more but, I like my leafy greens just kissed by the heat so I can taste the natural taste and this is what I did here. I added a few chopped West Indian Pimentos and I appreciated it with the rice and dal very much.

 

I usually opt for yellow split pea dal because I love the flavour from the yellow split peas. In Barbados we do not eat dal really but the yellow split peas are cooked in the rice and that dish is very interesting.

Anyways I busy today that is why the post is a little short but expect  more interesting post all week and do have a fun and safe week I am already looking forward to the weekend.

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 10:53 am

    That looks quite lovely and delicious…. great job Taymer.

    Also can you email me your cookie receipe within the next 2 weeks so I can post it for December. Don’t forget to send me a summary of yourself, career and complete intructions to make your cookies with a photo of the complete recipe. Also write your blog address so I can link it to the post… Thank you sweety.

  2. November 8, 2010 12:19 pm

    Yum!!

  3. November 8, 2010 2:37 pm

    This looks lovely and delicious, Taymer! Also, I am dreaming of the Caribbean these days and doing some research on the islands.
    Have a great day,
    Aimee

  4. November 9, 2010 2:25 am

    What a pretty plate of food. I have yet to make Dal.

  5. November 9, 2010 9:50 am

    Dhal, rice and sauteed spinach is a combo that is well loved in places like TT and Guyana. You make me want to eat this now 🙂

  6. Pineapple Sage permalink
    November 9, 2010 10:06 pm

    Kale is the best topping for any soups and dhal.

    Kale is one of my favorite greens. Ever tried banana, avocado, mango, water, kale smoothie?

  7. October 14, 2011 6:57 pm

    Thank you for some other informative blog. The place else could I get that type of information written in such an ideal manner? I’ve a project that I am just now running on, and I have been on the look out for such info.

  8. August 8, 2014 4:51 am

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks
    sosdatenrettung http://www.sos-datenrettung.com/

Leave a Reply

