Skip to content

A real friend serves Bora Bean Mallum

November 4, 2010

Bora Bean Mallum

Most of you that blog and read blogs  of an individual that you would love to meet.  The person I wanted to meet was not a vegan blogger but food blogger whose photography wowed  me. I met Cynthia when I went home to Barbados in 2009 after she invited me for dinner at her house. Cynthia…invited me… ok….I went but  I admit I was skeptical at first because  her goal was to make a full vegan dinner for me with protein and the works. Usually I go to peoples house and I am not ashamed to say this they do not make any effort and they say we do not know how to cook vegan like if there is some meditation associated with vegan cooking or some special ritual they do not know the words to. I sometimes force down a badly prepared sides and hope to get home to gobble down a protein shake or a sandwich or something. It is frustrating and I decided to stop entertaining guest at my house who really do not make an effort. It is not difficult to make vegan food and with so much pre- made foods around they could try to buy a field roast or something! I am finished with them.  I think if you are a real friend you can check some stuff on the  internet and make an effort. My husband’s friend did this in France…he downloaded  many recipes and made a  seasonal balanced meal for us and he never heard about veganism! Do not offer people a boiled potato and salad in 2010..it is insulting with so much info available now. I do not make a lot of raw food but if a raw foodist came to my house I wont serve them a salad and a smile!

Question of the day as  a vegan do omnivores invite you to their homes for a nice meal or do you feel like the only clown who entertains all of the time?

Now Cynthia did not know me at all really she just read my blog too and liked it I guess and invited me. When I got to her house I knew I was in store for something good. The aroma in the kitchen smelt like something unlike I was use too and I was anxious to see what she made for me. To see what Cynthia made for me click here.

When I got on the table my eyes diverted to the dish in question Green Bean Mallum..What is this white stuff..I said to myself ” Is it rice” what is it?? It is so unique. I quickly got down to brass tacks and asked Cynthia what was this dish and she pause and smiled and said green bean mallum and there is coconut….PAUSE….UMM coconut in a savory dish…umm  I do not know…..

After piling up my plate the mallum was the first thing I tried and I tasted it slowly and savored it. It was the best preparation of green beans may I say vegetables I had in my life. This was served during the holiday season and tasting this when I remade it with bora beans I had this holiday feeling inside of me all over again so now I will make this for special occasions. Mallum is very easy to make it takes 5 mins and another 10 mins to cook. There is no added fat and it is a no fail dish. Mallum is made by putting green beans into a pot with freshly grated coconut (people grate it very fine PLEASE!), turmeric, onions and some hot peppers. If you want to impress someone make this dish.

Cynthia was kind enough to post the recipe so here it is. CLICK ME!!!!

Want something new to do with green beans for the holidays instead of some casserole…try green bean mallum with green beans or Bora Beans.

Bora Beans

After the dinner and more conversations back and fourth Cynthia became my photographer for  the book Caribbean Vegan. She also has her book coming out Tastes Like Home coming out in a few weeks. A real friend!

Thanks Cynthia.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Bajangyal permalink
    November 4, 2010 12:58 pm

    I have never felt excluded due to dietary choice but most people don’t make any effort at all. Like you said there is always he ‘I don’t know what you eat’ accompanied by a half dead salad and some dish overloaded with cheese whilst everyone else chows down on some scrumptius looking dish. My closest friends usually just buy ingredients and then tell me arrive erly to make my own meal…lol…but being honest I don’t mind this because they and the other guests usually end up tasting and liking what I create and I know that even if there is just salad that it is one heck of a tasty and filling salad as I made it.

    However, Tay i am not worried about that anymore as am giving your cookbook as gifts to quite a few people this year:)…no more salad and cheese overload dishes for me.

    Love the look of your dish today and I will try it this weekend, I can see it being added to my Christmas menu.

  2. November 4, 2010 2:54 pm

    Cynthia did a wonderful job at accommodating you!
    Most people will ask me what I will eat but usually they still have me bring something. I do love to cook and bake but when I’m invited over to someones house for dinner I do enjoy someone else cooking for a change. but that rarely happens.

  3. November 6, 2010 3:28 pm

    Beautiful dish!

  4. November 7, 2010 10:18 am

    Tay, I am moved by your post. Thank you sincerely. It was a pleasure having you over for dinner and I am over-the-moon thrilled that you enjoyed it. Come again, anytime.

  5. November 8, 2010 6:17 pm

    Hi Tay,

    How are you? Been a long time. Just passing through as usual. I really like your post on the Bora beans. It looks very appetizing and with Cynthia cooking I’m sure it tasted out of this world. Here in Trinidad we call these Bora beans Bodi. Now I know two names.

    See you around 🙂

  6. July 2, 2011 5:49 pm

    The actual t-shirt streetwear can even be employed after dark. They even make this to get out and about for supper using your close friends. You’ll be able to only just jazz like it by essential accessories and you simply good to go at the dance club. You can even put it on to be club bing. You could move breaking a leg or simply watering hole clicking as part of your t-shirt streetwear. Following having a evening of partying, still feel relaxed inside of your wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

