Skip to content

For the love of Patties

November 3, 2010

 

Apologies  for the photos there is so much rain here these days I cannot find my light 😦 Anyways lets get into the topic. When I say lentil patties  I  mean spicy lentil paste enveloped with flaky pastry. In the Caribbean we do not say pasties like the British but patties because of the flat appearance or it was a more attractive way to say pasties . I am just throwing out some reasons why the name was changed. Now a patty is a street food in the Caribbean and from the tender age of 3 I was eating spicy beef patties while other kids were loving sweet turnovers or jam puffs. I always loved spicy as a child and cried for pepper sauce on my food and eventually my mother gave . Patties are one of my favourite comfort foods and is more comforting when I do not have to make it but to beat this issue I make these a few days before, freeze them and reheat so it feels like something I did not make. That is some real psychological stuff there.

 

The most common pattie is the beef patty still but  another patty is close to beating it in Barbados and it is the lentil patty. I was introduced to this patty when I was around 16 years old at community college in Barbados and this girl was eating this fragrant smelling patty and I asked her what it was and she said “It is a peas patty” I found that disgusting as I never ate peas before even in rice. I was one of those people who use to separate my peas from the rice and the thought of eating a concentrated peas paste  gave me goosebumps..still can’t believe I am vegan today lol. I was open minded though and I  took  up 3 dollars and went down to the seller who was Muslim and only sold vegetarian food and asked him to tell me more about this patty. He said do not worry you are going to like it. My patty was warm and fat and I could smell curry and cumin and I was excited and scared to bite into it. My first bite was love the crust was flaky but soft and the thick flavourful lentils made me swoon…did beans taste that good? I gobbled the first patty and went back to buy a second and trust me eating 2 of them is almost humanly impossible but I wanted to get my life’s quota of peas. I said good bye to the sometimes greasy beef patties and never looked back again even if I was not vegan at that time. Lentil patties can be found all over Barbados in the morning. They are sold in some health food restaurants and on the streets by vendors in vans. When I look back at  community college I remember that it was very vegan friendly and if there was beef and pasta they would do the same dish with TVP and pasta.  There was a big wanna be vegetarian group( I say wanna be because they ate fish) that use to go to this guy’s van and only eat his products…I wonder what ever happened  to them. So anytime you are in Barbados and you see a parked van with the back open with food you know you will find a lentil patty which is a popular vegan street food on the island!

 

Lentil Patties

Here is a photo of the inside of the patty. I used green French lentils to make this but the regular brown ones will do. The shiny coating comes from my version of vegan egg wash which is soy cream with a little tumeric.The recipe for this patty is in Caribbean Vegan. Patties are best warm or room temperature.

 

Inside of a Lentil Patty

I am still ill and hopefully will get to cooking again in a few days.

 

 

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. buddhatomic permalink
    November 3, 2010 9:45 am

    Making this was my first attempt with pastry dough, and it turned out pretty good! The filling is wonderful. I had to help myself from eating it with a spoon. Get better soon!

  2. November 3, 2010 10:02 am

    In Puerto Rico we call those “Pastelillos”. They are usually filled with pork or they are made sweet & filled with guava and powdered sugar. I am posting my guava cookies for my Chrstmas cookie extravaganza in December. Yours patties look great and so nutritious.

  3. November 3, 2010 11:08 am

    Hope you feel better soon Taymer. These look divine, and I love the story that goes with them.

  4. November 3, 2010 11:37 am

    I’ve never heard of these and my background is half Jamaican! Is the recipe for this in your book?

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 3, 2010 11:55 am

      yeah there is one in the book I started seeing them in Barbados in the late 90’s and now it is the most popular patty on the island..it has a similar flavour to the Jamaican Beef Patty. I am sure in Jamaica they make this but it will not be as popular as the beef they exist!:) I have a vegan beef patty in the book as well with a reduced fat crust This crust I made for the blog is the full fat and flaky crust

  5. November 3, 2010 1:20 pm

    Taymer,
    These looks wonderful. I am dreaming of the Caribbean as the weather turns cold here in eastern Washington. Thanks for sharing, Aimee

  6. November 3, 2010 5:12 pm

    Apologize for these photos?! You must be crazy 🙂

    Hope you start feeling better soon!

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 3, 2010 5:13 pm

      I am actually;) Some hot ones will be out tomorrow and Friday that I will be proud of

  7. November 4, 2010 1:01 am

    Oh YUM. Great story and the patties are so tantalizing. I haven’t made them yet and now I will have to right away.

  8. November 5, 2010 4:05 pm

    Could you please share what other spices should be put in the filling?

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 5, 2010 4:58 pm

      well madras curry and cumin. You need some garlic onions bell peppers a little tomato paste braggs or soy sauce and some bread crumbs to firm up your lentils.

  9. November 6, 2010 9:14 pm

    Mmm! Those look gooood!

  10. November 12, 2010 10:01 pm

    these made me miss jamaica! your patties are works of art.

    xo
    kittee

  11. April 4, 2012 3:49 pm

    Hey not to go off topic but can anyone give me overview of. New York Car Insurance Reform 295 Greenwich St, New York, NY 10007 (646) 351-0824 They are down the block with me. I was wondering if they were a good insurance company. I need to acquire coverage, it is regulations you know, but I have to have a good price price plus I’d prefer friendly service.

  12. July 16, 2014 8:29 pm

    vaporizer review For the love of Patties | Vegan In The Sun

Leave a Reply

