Skip to content

Caribbean Sushi and a first timers experience rolling sushi

September 19, 2010

I had envisioned for this post to be extremely beautiful but today time was not on my side. I know it is Sunday but I back in work mode and I am doing more than one project at the same time plus I had a get together to attend….

anyways here is my first attempt at sushi

Caribbean sushi rolls

I go to sushi restaurants. Yes call the vegan police on me but sometimes because there are so many limited restaurants where I live I am forced to go to these places to get the vegan style maki rolls with the avocado and cucumber etc. The thing is I   know that  at these restaurant they do not care about the creativity in their vegan options because it is just a  vegetarian roll so they put all their effort into the ones with the raw fish and fish eggs. I decided to stop going to these places because my last experience was horrid. The waiter brought me a crab roll and I did not even have to eat it to see that there was raw seafood inside and he  hissed  saying .”Can’t you just eat it? I  never had violent tendencies but I wanted to slap him into  the next year but the look I gave him made him scurry off and bring me the avocado roll. I am fed up with these places that I should not be frequenting anyways but I do not live in NYC which in my opinion is the mecca for vegan dining out  so I had to work with what I had.

This brings me to my next topic infusing the rolls with Caribbean flavour. Because Asian food and Caribbean food sometimes have a similar spirit I decided to use some common Caribbean ingredients in my rolls. Firm sweet mangoes, cooked firm sweet plantains and Caribbean pimento. I also made my eggplant fish which turn up in Caribbean Vegan in the Eggplant Accras recipe.Then I filled the rolls with carrots, cucumbers, tofu and avocado.

Wow these were so good. Loads of flavour, totally fresh and no cross contamination from raw fish. My only issue is that I was ignorant of averaging my rice and this in turn made my rolls too big but next post where I show you have to make vegan faux fish eggs I will showcase smaller rolls.

So what are you waiting for add some more imaginative fillings in your sushi and I am not done yet with the vegan fillings.

Until next time

Those who have not entered the competition yet it finishes on the 24th so please submit your entries.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 10:08 pm

    I can’t believe that waiter asked you to eat the wrong thing … I would have seriously wanted to smack him, too. Luckily, making sushi is so much fun! It’s a lot of fun to fix everything and have people over to roll their own sushi. It’s something a lot of people have never done, and they usually enjoy it. Can’t wait to see what vegan fish eggs are 🙂

    • Taymer permalink*
      September 19, 2010 10:09 pm

      yeah Jamie next time when I have ppl over I will prep all the veg and let people roll their own it would keep me out of the hot kitchen

    • Taymer permalink*
      September 19, 2010 10:12 pm

      oh the fish eggs I will make two ways. I will do a carrot juice infused with seaweed and agar agar and drop it into cold water in drops. This is my method which I am excited to try

      I will try the tapioca pearls method where you soak it in dye which will be carrot juice for me and then cook and they become translucent as well I saw that on a blog that I saved so I will give the ref

  2. jocelyn permalink
    September 20, 2010 1:07 am

    That waiter is pretty lucky you didn’t slap him! Your sushi looks great.

  3. Eric permalink
    September 21, 2010 12:06 pm

    wow for the first time rolling, the sushi looks really legit. Ive been meaning to try my hand at making sushi… a bit scared though 🙂

  4. Laurel permalink
    September 22, 2010 4:15 pm

    That waiter is lucky you didn’t call the manager and cost him his job. “Can’t you just eat it?” Whoa, what happened to always giving the customer what they want?

  5. September 24, 2010 3:58 am

    Wow! What a beautiful presentation that is!
    Great combination of ingredients as well!

  6. September 24, 2010 1:15 pm

    You plated those veggie rolls so pretty and the rolls themselves look prettier than the ones from a restaurant and it’s your first time! It is pretty amazing how easy it is to make sushi veggie rolls, we make them all the time, my son loves to have them for lunch.
    Oh and that waiter…how dare he. I would’ve wanted to smack him too!!!

    • Taymer permalink*
      September 24, 2010 2:20 pm

      thank you Jo Lynn I thought they look OK but I wanted to dress up my plate more but thanks. Next thing on my list is a set of sharp knives to cut them better. How long do they keep in the fridge I threw mine out after 2 days due to possible spoilage

  7. October 1, 2010 6:09 am

    It looks so delicious. I’ve tried to make sushi at home, but never get success 😦 so sad.

Leave a Reply

