Skip to content

Jerk Tempeh and Roasted Hot Pepper Quinoa Salad

August 9, 2010

Jerk Tempeh

These dishes are not Caribbean dishes per say but I have used many ingredients from my pantry, herb garden to make them.The above photograph shows pan seared tempeh cooked in its own marinade top with Broad Leaf Thyme ( Indian Borage, Cuban oregano) and Caribbean pimentos. The dish is them garnished with grilled ripe star fruit.

When I google jerk anything I always land on lots of American blogs which use a dried rub to achieve the jerk flavour. I never use a dry rub and always go with a wet seasoning blend which I make at home myself or use a store bought version. A recipe for Jerk Seasoning can be found in Caribbean Vegan coming soon October 2010. You do not have to wait on the book to make this dish as you can purchase jerk seasoning from any West Indian market and some ethnic markets.The tempeh was cooked and rinsed twice to diminish the bitter flavour that it has and then left to marinate for 3 hours it was then cooked and reduced in the marinade and then topped with the left over marinade.

Jerk Tempeh

Serves 2

2 heaping tbs WET jerk seasoning  Click here to look inside my book for a proper recipe for Jerk Seasoning

1 tbs Angostura Bitters

2 tbs vegan Worcestershire Sauce

1 orange juiced

1 tsp molasses

1/4 tomato sauce

1 tbs agave nectar

6 cloves garlic crushed

1 8oz pk of tempeh sliced and boiled twice to remove the bitter flavour

1/2 tsp salt

Method

Marinate tempeh for 3 hours.

Sear tempeh  with half of the marinade in a frying pan for 10 mins over medium heat turning a few times during cooking.

Pour remaining marinade over tempeh and turn off the heat and let it sit for an additional 5 minutes on the stove. Serve warm.

Quiona Salad

Serves 2

Quiona Pepper Salad

12  pimentos fired roasted peeled and chopped

1/2  Scotch Bonnet pepper fired roasted

2 tbs chopped cilantro

1 medium onion chopped finely

1 heaping tsp brown sugar

2 tbs olive oil

Juice from 1 lime

1/4 cup orange juice

salt to taste

1 1/2 cups cooked quinoa chilled

Method

Mix pimentos,scotch bonnet, cilantro, onion, brown sugar, olive oil, lime juice, orange juice and salt together. Pour over quinoa and mix well. Serve slightly chilled or at room temperature.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 8:19 pm

    your food always looks amazing, I love everything you make. I am unable to cook now because I had back surgery and I cannot stand for a long length of time. I had 2 titanium rods (5 inches long) put on my lower back with 4 screws. Recuperation time about 3 months.

    • Taymer permalink*
      August 9, 2010 8:52 pm

      i will email u later to talk

  2. August 10, 2010 7:17 pm

    I haven’t had jerk anything in so long. This looks so freakin good.

  3. Ashley permalink
    September 9, 2010 10:17 pm

    This looks amazing!

  4. October 12, 2010 3:10 pm

    I am making this tonight, in honor of my soon relocation to the Carribean! I was surprised to find liquid jerk sauce at my local supermarket!

    • Taymer permalink*
      October 12, 2010 3:13 pm

      be careful as jerk is too spicy at times and the flavours are different and may not make the tempeh sing…just a warning. The jerk I used was one I made for CV and it is specially made for vegan food and not meat. I hope it turns out good with the store bought. I had loads of testers in NYC and they were the ones who could do every single recipe in the book because there was so many ethnic groceries around.

    • Taymer permalink*
      October 12, 2010 3:18 pm

      I re read my post and I gave people the OK to buy jerk but later after trying a store bought jerk I never tried I had to change my mind but never got back to the post Tasting my jerk and 2 store bought jerks were totally different things when u have time lemme know the brand u have

      On Tue, Oct 12, 2010 at 3:13 PM, Taymer GUILLAUME wrote:

      > be careful as jerk is too spicy at times and the flavours are different and > may not make the tempeh sing…just a warning. The jerk I used was one I > made for CV and it is specially made for vegan food and not meat. I hope it > turns out good with the store bought. I had loads of testers in NYC and they > were the ones who could do every single recipe in the book because there was > so many ethnic groceries around. > >

Leave a Reply

