Skip to content

Almost unsweetened Vegan Yogurt

June 6, 2010

Vegan yogurt

Remember I morphed into a health nut overnight right? Anyways I promised a  yogurt at home making post and before  I get questions on making it without a maker I must admit I never did it in the thermos or oven before and I depend on a yogurt maker only. If any of you have made yogurt  without a machine please leave a comment and let me know how.I tend to like my yogurtS pretty thick so I add a little arrowroot in my formula.

I picked up my  maker in the West Coast of France last year and it was one those things I kept talking about and putting off but with the price of vegan yogurt in the French West Indies we decided to get a machine so we could eat yogurt everyday. I am a big fan of probiotics and when I went vegan I was fed up with seeing 2 or 3 Silk yogurtS in the supermarket in Barbados and having to buy all of them because you know where is the next one coming from right? My problem with some of the vegan yogurt on the market are

A. Some brands taste like vegan mayo when they get into my mouth my husband does not taste the mayo but I do.

B. Too expensive and not always in stock oh and not big containers like the leading brands of dairy yogurt

C.Too many sweet vegan yogurt and not  many options for unsweetened yogurts.

Finding a good vegan starter

I usually get a pack  like this in the supermarket here and it is my prefered brand as a starter. It is vegan, organic and only has THREE ingredients. Yes even less than mine…I am ashamed but you get what I mean that it is a really good brand. Soja Sun makes lots of refrigerated vegan products as well like chocolate puddings etc that are lower in sugar than the North American brands. The best bet for someone living in North America is to use Silk unsweetened as a starter( I have a friend who currently uses that as her starter). Alpro also makes a good vegan yogurt.

Does it pay to make your own vegan yogurt?

HELL TO THE YES!

I pay sometimes 4 – 6 euro for the pack of 6 of the Soja sun and using two of them as a starter yields 49 (200 ml) yogurt

As you keep saving 2 yogurt back all of the time amount of microorganism decreases so I would think and you have to start over with a fresh starter again

Think about it

4 euro for 49 home made yougurts..come on…

Is this stuff time consuming because I have a life Taymer!

I admit to be a master procrastinator but yogurt making is not only for a housewife with loads of free time on her hands. You can  make this in 15 minutes not inclusive of the downtime it takes for the milk to boil and cool down. No it does not take  a lot of time.

How does it taste?

This recipe is just as tangy as the dairy yogurt and you can make a stirred yogurt but stirring in a fruit compote or jam of your choice.

Let us get started

I have excluded temperatures and all of the science stuff because that can intimidate people at times so just follow this pictorial guide to easy yogurt making.

This recipe works well for making yogurt sauces even with the 1 tbs sugar.

That is it for todays post

The next post is using a pressure cooker for  more nutritious and better tasting meals.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 6:44 pm

    I like the idea of homemade vegan yogurt, what with so many commercial brands containing, like, a million ingredients of sometimes questionable origin. Thanks for sharing the tutorial. 🙂

    • Taymer permalink*
      June 6, 2010 7:32 pm

      yeah it is basically soy milk and calcium phosphate which is vegan and the microorganism. You are welcomed

  2. June 6, 2010 11:32 pm

    I’ve been very intimidated by yogurt making, but it’s something I’ve gotta do one of these days! Is a yogurt maker hard to find? I didn’t even know such a thing existed. This post makes me wanna try 🙂

    • Taymer permalink*
      June 7, 2010 8:47 am

      nah allysia I think you can find one in your hometown at a good department store they would run you betwen 30-60 usd but we actually use it twice a week to set up the yougurts.

  3. June 7, 2010 3:34 am

    great inspiration. i look forward to trying this. merci bien, taymer:)

  4. June 7, 2010 8:49 am

    Awesome! Just what I needed! And we have a similar yogurt maker. Can’t wait to get started!

  5. June 8, 2010 11:39 am

    Wow, thanks for the step by step instructions! Homemade yogurt sounds like a very worthwhile project- i agree with you that most vegan brands are too sweet.

  6. June 9, 2010 12:52 am

    You should patent and market this thing. Seriously. It’s a major desiderata in the vegan free and lactose intolerant world. I would be the first in line ready to fill a supermarket cart with the stuff.

  7. June 9, 2010 12:52 am

    oops!! lactose free not vegan free (we want a vegan-full world) !!!

  8. June 9, 2010 5:03 am

    Thanks for the recipe! I’m glad I found this blog! 😀

  9. June 10, 2010 12:35 pm

    Hi Tay, I make my own yogurt all the time (regular not vegan). I make mine without a yogurt maker.

    I buy raw milk and pasteurize at home (bring to a boil) and then let it cool down to 115 degrees F
    The starter I have been using dates back to about 3 months now since I first made yogurt at home (each time I make, I use some from the previous batch). I bring my yogurt-starter to room temperature first before mixing it into the milk

    I use 1 tablespoon yogurt to 1 cup whole milk

    I stir in the yogurt to some of the milk first, pour it into a glass jar and pour in the rest of the milk and close the jar (I use an airtight glass jar, like this: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_FNZSkP1vHOs/SoNVf4KU1FI/AAAAAAAAAJ0/oXdtSiicgOQ/s400/glass+jar.jpg)

    I then wrap the jar in 2 very thick towels, blankets will do too. I place it in a part of the house where it will not be shaken, jammed or disturbed in anyway and where I know the temperature will be stable. I leave it for 10 – 12 hours (most of the time I make it overnight) and in the morning I have fresh yogurt. I refrigerate, use at will, save some to start my next batch and repeat the process as needed.

    Check out this blog post, Farida gives good advice on making yogurt at home: http://www.azcookbook.com/how-to-make-yogurt-at-home/

    • Taymer permalink*
      June 10, 2010 3:27 pm

      Thanks for the Cynthia. I will try a batch with this method later esp when it gets really warm inside my house.
      I need to look in my old lab manual but I am sure the temperature should be around 35 C for yougurt. My machine gives me higher temp because when I take out my yougurts they are warm to the touch but you can still hold it in your hand. I am sure people would find your post useful.

  10. June 12, 2010 11:58 am

    Thanks for posting this. I’m now intrigued about making my own yogurt. We love coconut yogurt but I only buy it on sale because it’s $1.99 for 1 serving. ouch!

  11. June 13, 2010 5:50 pm

    Taymer my method is similar to Cynthia. I have also tried it using a cooler. In the old days mom would leave it on the counter overnight next to the back of the fridge. I’ve been jonesing for a yoghut maker for a while now but really have no room for yet another appliance. BTW love the composition of your first pic and gosh now after looking at these I’m jonesing for yoghurt too

  12. June 19, 2010 10:04 am

    Taymer I love this…I must try this since I eat a lot of yogurt and it can be pretty expensive after a while, this will save me a lot of cash…thank you sweety.

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

  13. July 14, 2010 8:07 am

    Very impressive! I have yet to find a vegan yogurt I like.

  14. July 19, 2010 5:00 pm

    Whats the best vegan restaurant in the Atlanta, GA area?

    • Taymer permalink*
      July 19, 2010 5:04 pm

      how would I know? Are you sure you have the right blogger???

  15. July 21, 2010 8:14 am

    Missed you Taymer…your facebook page has been deleted and you haven’t posted a new dish for a while…is everything okay?. I miss your great recipes.

  16. September 12, 2010 1:39 pm

    Hi Taymer

    Thanks for this brilliant method! I have an Easiyo yoghurt maker which makes 1litre of yoghurt using the Easiyo sachets. However these sachets aren’t vegan as they contain milk powder. How can I amend your instructions for the Easiyo yoghurt maker – any ideas?
    I litre soy milk to ?? soya yoghurt
    Thanks for your help
    Trace

    • Taymer permalink*
      September 12, 2010 6:37 pm

      i would say 1 litre soy milk to 150 mll yogurt in my recipe i use 1.5 litres and about 200 ml yogurt u do not need the sugar or the arrowroot or even essence but i put those in incase the starter is weak

      • September 13, 2010 3:33 am

        Thanks Taymer – I’ll give it a try and let you know how I get on

  17. October 24, 2010 8:44 am

    Hi Taymer
    Well I tried the yoghurt and it was lovely and thick and yummy, but after two days it had gone really thin again and it put me off eating it. How can I make the yoghurt stay as a thick yoghurt for a few days?
    Thanks in advance
    Trace

    • Taymer permalink*
      October 24, 2010 11:46 am

      Double the starter and do the arrowroot step in the method. This neverr happened to my yougurt only happened if not mixed really well. Let me know what happened

    • Taymer permalink*
      October 24, 2010 3:26 pm

      mix really really well because that can happen from pockets of milk not having the culture

      On Sun, Oct 24, 2010 at 11:46 AM, Taymer GUILLAUME wrote:

      > Double the starter and do the arrowroot step in the method. This > neverr happened to my yougurt only happened if not mixed really well. > Let me know what happened > >

      • October 26, 2010 5:12 pm

        Will do – plan to make my next batch soon!
        Thanks very much for the advice. Really enjoying your blog keep up the hard work and looking forward to November!

  18. Kabi permalink
    February 23, 2012 10:31 am

    Great tutorial!
    Sojasun can’t really be considered vegan anyway, because they do not tell what they use as a growing medium for their fermentation bacteria. It could be plant-based, but it could as well be milk derived.
    They say this info is confidential. 😦
    (In contrast, Alpro/Provamel for example do not tell what precisely they use, either, but they say it is plant-based.)

  19. ellie permalink
    February 4, 2013 2:26 pm

    A couple of years ago I bought a Easiyo yogurt maker as it was a good price…and then I went vegan and put it in a cupboard. Just having a clearout today and was about to give it away when I thought I would “google” to see if you can make vegan yogurt with it. And I found your blog and this post so thank you very much, I will be attempting it very soon now!!!

Leave a Reply

