Skip to content

Caribbean Vegan Cookbook available on pre-order on Amazon! Caribbean Vegan Easter Recipe.

April 5, 2010

Hi Everyone,

I apologize for my absence but at this stage I am very busy with my book and will relaunch the blog in 2 weeks. I feel really lost in the blogging world with this extended vacation but I promise I will be back strong with giveaways and new recipes.

The first announcement is Caribbean Vegan:Meat-Free, Egg-Free, Dairy-Free Authentic Island Cuisine for Every Occasion is up on Amazon already for pre-order. With the pre-order price you can get it at discount before the release date as most of you know already.

For an author to see this on Amazon for the first time and their name in print  is one of the most amazing thing and I could not do it without the help from a lot of special people in my life

Click here to go to Amazon.

Several inhabitants of the islands of the Caribbean are very religious and growing up there Good Friday was the day that some of us avoided meat and poultry and dairy products but ate fish. I remember as a child dreading this day  because at that time I found it so difficult to eat like that. I have gotten many request for this recipe from Caribbean Vegan and here is the official release of the most requested recipe just in time for Easter. I know some of you may be scratching your head about why I choose this recipe and what significance it has to do with Easter. In many islands in the Caribbean during Lent some people decide to give up meat for the 40 days. On Good Friday in some denominations and in some islands it is a day that you are expected not to eat meat and poultry but fish is allowed. For many Caribbean nationals fish is usually the most difficult thing to give up when they want to go vegan or vegetarian. I felt the same a few years ago so that is why I made a few recipes with a little seafood influence.

My inspiration for eggplant accras was my love for Barbadian fishcakes which are made with salted codfish and fresh herbs and spices and deep-fried. Sounds sinful right? These are perfect appetizers for a party. These taste just like the real thing and are really easy to make. Serve these with spicy mayo or just eat them alone.  Make these for a bunch of omnivores and they would want to convert to veganism. I converted a few people with this recipe:)

Eggplant Accras (Copyright Caribbean Vegan by Taymer Mason)

Serves 10

Ingredients

1 medium eggplant peeled and cut into short thin strips

1 tablespoon (15 ml) neutral oil

3 nori sheets baked or mildly toasted, ground coarsely

1 ½ teaspoon salt to take the bitterness out of the eggplant

1 medium onions chopped finely

3 to 4 stalks green onions/ scallion minced finely

1 Scotch Bonnet Pepper or Habenero de seeded and  minced finely

2 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme

½ teaspoon black pepper

1 teaspoon salt or a salty veggie bouillon cube

2 cups (250 g) unbleached all-purpose flour

¾ to 1 cups (176 ml to 250 ml) water

1 ½ teaspoon double-acting baking powder (aluminum free if available)

Canola oil for deep or shallow frying

Method

Salt the eggplant and let sit for ten minutes.

Squeeze eggplant strips until the strips turn from white to brown in color, removing excess liquid.

Heat oil and sauté eggplant gently.

Cover and cook eggplant until tender.

Toast nori sheets over an open flame until they turn green.

Place eggplant in a bowl and combine with seaweed, onion, chives, scotch bonnet, thyme and salt or veggie bouillon.

Mix in flour, water, and baking powder.

This mixture can now be set aside for a few hours, refrigerated, or fried immediately.

Heat the oil on a medium high heat for approximately seven minutes.

Use a desert spoon to drop one fritter in the oil to test oil temperature.

If the fritter gets too brown, quickly reduce the heat.

When deep-frying fritters make sure when you drop the fritter in the oil the spoon gets coated with oil.

Fry fritters for four minutes over medium heat, turning as they bob to the surface.

Drain fritters on absorbent paper.

 

 

Island Tip

The batter tends to turn dark if left overnight before frying. It is best to make your accras three or four hours before you are ready to fry them. Frying with a  neutral oil is recommended. It is possible to shallow-fry instead of deep-frying, but note that this will affect the shape of your fritters. Can they be baked? Yes! To bake them, place them on a greased baking sheet. Bake at 350 F for 23 minutes turning twice throughout the baking process. These can be also made low fat by cooking them on a lightly sprayed non stick pan.

To make spicy mayo mix 2 parts vegan mayo with 1 part ketchup and 1 part hot sauce.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 3:46 pm

    Congratulations! It’s very exciting and represents so much hard work. You must be grinning ear to ear in the middle of sighs of relief 🙂
    I look forward to reading the book!

  2. April 5, 2010 4:44 pm

    YAY!!!! Good for you Taymer, I am so happy your book is all done. The front cover looks great. I went to amazon but your book did not appear there. I am ready to order so I will try again. Hugs!

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

    • Taymer permalink*
      April 5, 2010 4:51 pm

      weird I just tested the link..well let me know later if it worked. Thanks Millie

  3. misoforbreakfast permalink
    April 5, 2010 7:06 pm

    The link works for me. Congratulations, Taymer! I know this book is going to be a success and that many great things are coming your way. All your hard work will be worth it. I have nori but no eggplant, and I am going to make this recipe once I get my hands on one.

  4. April 5, 2010 11:13 pm

    The cover looks beautiful! Can’t wait to see the inside 🙂 🙂

  5. April 5, 2010 11:32 pm

    Congrats, Taymer! The cover looks great. 🙂 Your cookbook is going to be amazing–I’m so happy for you!

  6. efcliz permalink
    April 6, 2010 3:55 am

    That was the first recipe I tested for the book and the first of many amazing ones!

  7. April 6, 2010 5:09 am

    AMAZING! Congratulations, can’t wait to get it!!!!

  8. Bajangyal permalink
    April 6, 2010 9:39 pm

    Congrats T:)

  9. April 7, 2010 1:04 pm

    Congratulations Taymer! You’ve done it! 🙂

    • Taymer permalink*
      April 7, 2010 3:15 pm

      yeah I guess I have done it…
      Thanks for all of your help though I really appreciated it

  10. April 7, 2010 6:33 pm

    Congratulations again! The cover looks stunning and I can’t wait to get my hands on the book when it comes out!

    • Taymer permalink*
      April 7, 2010 6:36 pm

      yeah it does now when I see it here big and glossy even if it through a computer screen Thanks Cyn

  11. April 8, 2010 5:41 pm

    Congratulations!!!! How exciting!

  12. April 10, 2010 11:13 pm

    The cover looks awesome! Congrats, I can’t wait to get my copy!

  13. April 11, 2010 2:02 pm

    SO EXCITING, CONGRATS!

    I’m going to pre-order now. Can’t wait until it’s released.

    • Taymer permalink*
      April 11, 2010 6:56 pm

      Thank you for your support! To you and everyone who has pre ordered.

  14. April 14, 2010 2:07 pm

    This is fantastic! I just stared at the cover and your name for like 5 minutes! What a beautiful manifestation girl!!! I am so proud and happy for you blazing trails 🙂 Can’t wait to buy my hard copy version.

  15. miriam permalink
    April 20, 2010 3:25 pm

    i am so ready for your cookbook to come out. i miss testing your recipes!

  16. April 23, 2010 5:20 am

    Amazing! Congratulations! That is a real amount of work!

  17. Sunshine permalink
    May 4, 2010 2:05 am

    All I have to say is ***Scream*** , just wanted to tell you (again) I am glad to see your dream has become a reality!!

  18. April 20, 2012 7:42 am

    I liked them on Facebook and put your giveaway on my sidebar!

  19. April 26, 2012 3:07 am

    Democrats and Republicans, Women and Men, Moderates and Conservatives for Scott Brown!

  20. August 5, 2014 5:55 pm

    Every weekend i used to pay a quick visit this website, because i wish for enjoyment, since this
    this site conations in fact nice funny information too.

Trackbacks

  1. Pre-order Caribbean Vegan! « Beans, Figs and Katz
  2. Caribbean Vegan Cookbook available on pre-order on Amazon … | Ace Card's Caribbean Vacation
  3. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

