Skip to content

Caribbean Vegan Cookbook Update: Okra Tomato

March 10, 2010

Okra in Sofrito Sauce

Hi Everyone,

No I did not neglect the blog. OK I did for a few weeks so I could go to Barbados to do the photo shoot and come back and get the book together.

I wanted to give you an update the title is now Caribbean Vegan subtitle will be revealed when I post again.

It has been a hard road for me and I apologize greatly for not getting back to everyone as fast as I use to. Everything is going smoothly on my end and we are hoping for a Fall 2010 release. Let me just say that the photo shoot experience was amazing and I learned a lot from my friend and photographer Cynthia Nelson at http://www.tasteslikehome.org/who had the patience with me while I cooked several dishes a day and tried to get them out in time. It was like a restaurant and I was this eccentric potty mouth chef with a short fuse ( I am not calling names) but we did it with the help of my parents as well and that so far has been to most enjoyable aspect of the book so far.

I planned to release 5 recipes from the book spread over 6 months and the first one is an okra dish made with fresh okras called okra tomato and it is a very healthy dish. You can chop up your favourite vegan sausage or seitan pieces inside to make a balanced meal. The okras are sauteed to seal off the slime and then they are cooked in a Sofrito like sauce and served on hot rice or alone.

Okra Tomato from Caribbean Vegan Fall 2010

When using okras fresh is preferred as everyone knows fresh is always better. There is a lot of water in frozen okras and it dilutes the taste and, the shape of the okra is usually ruptured. Everyone likes to rush for the giant okras but they tend to be hard and fibrous as they are older. Go for medium sized okras that are firm to the touch and not to soft. Like okras but cannot stand the slime? Saute them and seal off some of that slime. Okras are what I turn to when I go on a diet. I made slush, soup sautees and of course this okra in sofrito.

Ingredients

Serves 2

12 medium okras sliced in 1/4- 1/2 inch rounds

1 tbs olive oil

3 medium tomatoes chopped

2 garlic cloves finely minced

1/2 medium onion chopped

1/2 cup of vegan sausage chopped (optional)

1/2  tsp hickory smoke

3 tbs green sweet pepper chopped or 3 tbs of green mild chillies chopped

1/2 tsp habeneros/ scotch bonnet peppers

1/2 cup water

1 tbs chopped fresh parsley

1 can spanish styled tomato sauce*( 8 oz can 227 g)

1 tsp fresh thyme

1/4 tsp white pepper

1tbs Braggs Liquid Amino acids

1 tsp sea salt to taste

Method

Heat olive oil on medium heat and add the okras and cook the okras for 3 minutes, turning them occasionally. They should start to get a brown colour.

Take out half of the okras and add onion,garlic, tomatoes, sausages,peppers and cook for 4 minutes lowering the heat after two minutes.

Add, water, tomato sauce, parsley, tomato sauce,thyme, white pepper and braggs and cook on low heat for 10 minutes.

Add back the other half of the sauteed okras to the pan/

Add salt to taste and cook for an additional 10 minutes on low heat

Serve with hot rice

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 9:42 am

    excellent…looking forward to your book my friend. keep cooking up those great meals.

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

  2. March 10, 2010 11:50 am

    congrats on the photo shoot! I am sure Cynthia’s photos are lovely and delicious as always – I can only imagine the experience of producing dish after dish to look appetizing each time 🙂

  3. jocelyn permalink
    March 10, 2010 2:00 pm

    Delicious!

  4. March 10, 2010 5:19 pm

    Ooh, I love stewed okra and tomatoes! We have a very similar dish in the South, probably influenced by the Creole-cookin’ down in New Orleans. I have a version in my cookbook, but don’t worry — yours is quite different. I love the addition of scotch bonnet peppers. I really need to start cooking with hot peppers more often.

  5. March 10, 2010 8:29 pm

    I just bought some okra to make some gumbo. Your okra and tomatoes look wonderful. Wow scotch bonnets, hot! Looking forward to your cookbook.

  6. March 14, 2010 8:36 pm

    Congratulations! Looking forward to the book! It was a lot of fun!

  7. Queen permalink
    March 28, 2010 10:10 pm

    Hey Tay! Just stopping by to check out your progress. Hope everything is going well. Keep up the great work 🙂

  8. April 2, 2010 12:15 pm

    hi taymer,
    i just used up the end of my bajan seasoning, and it’s in the high 80’s here today. i was talking up your book last night!

    • Taymer permalink*
      April 2, 2010 12:22 pm

      You crossed my mind last night strangely. I am here really working hard. I cannot begin to start back blogging until next 2 weeks. See u soon.

  9. August 24, 2011 11:53 am

    Nice read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch as I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

  10. July 25, 2013 9:11 pm

    Hey there, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.

    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, very good
    blog!

    • Taymer permalink*
      July 25, 2013 10:07 pm

      Thanks I will fix this this weekend. You are the second person that complained. Thanks for reaching out to me and letting me know.

Trackbacks

  1. Caribbean Vegan Cookbook Update: Okra Tomato « Vegan In The Sun | Ace Card's Caribbean Vacation

Leave a Reply

