Skip to content

Spicy Caribbean Green Split Pea Soup

November 19, 2009

This post was scheduled for Sunday. I do not know what went wrong. Anyways it is too late.

 

 This soup is one of my favourite Caribbean soups because of the smoky taste and bits of protein floating around in the soup. It is hearty, low fat, super flavourful and of course spicy. How can you have a Caribbean soup without a slight kick to it? One of my best friends told me to make this for the book as it is her favourite soup so here it is Sunita.

Soup Consumption in the Caribbean

Some of my readers may wonder why the hell people in the Caribbean even drink soup in the first place as it is hot everyday? Well to answer your question they would drink soup everyday or at least 3 times a week if they could. They really do not care if it makes them sweat when they eat it but what they love is the filling nature of soup and all the wonderful flavours that mix together. From my observation many people like to drink soup in the middle of the week for lunch. In Bridgetown you can see many people carrying around their small styrofoam soup containers from all of the restaurants over the city. The vegan restaurant in Barbados offers a different soup everyday the last time I check and the name are very outrageous but it is sold out before noon. You see how serious soup is? This brings about another  issue to what is soup to many Barbadians. The soup I have made today may have a few rivals to say it is not Caribbean. The reason for this is because I have blended this soup. This is un heard of as they love soup their soup chunky with veg and flour dumplings cooked inside. I for one do not like this chunky soup at all and I was very happy to see soups in North America and Europe smooth and drinkable. I decided to  avoid eating chunky soups and just puree them all  to please my palate.

The News

OK finally the news that I have been holding back for all of this time. There is an article written by me  in the Winter Edition of The Vegan UK’s Vegan Society quarterly magazine. You would find a recipe that has not been posted on the blog that will be in the book.  

So that is it for this week. Until next week. Sorry for all the blog I have not commented on recently. I have been really busy these days but I am reading still. I will make up for it soon. Thanks again to my readers for stopping by. For my Caribbean Readers tell me which Vegetarian Soup is consumed in your island? Others, do you like your soups chunky or smooth?

 

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 12:16 pm

    I couldn’t agree more…I don’t care about hot weather when it comes to soup…and I like them blended as well! Congrats on the article, Tay. That’s fantastic!

  2. November 19, 2009 12:30 pm

    If it’s cold outside I prefer chunky soups, if it’s warm I rather have them blended. I guess you don’t have this choice, being a vegan in the ‘sun’ hehe.

    Here in Europe soups are much more frequently eaten in autumn and winter. I could eat them all year round, however. Each autumn I wait eagerly for the sign in my favourite cafè wich says ‘daily soup’. During the summertime I have to cook soups on my own, which isn’t bad either.

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 19, 2009 12:36 pm

      I have not forgotten u with the moussaka recipe I am pretty tied up today I will try to send this evening

  3. November 19, 2009 12:45 pm

    Split pea soup is one of my faves! I really need to make a nice, warm bowl of it soon. I have a smoky chipotle split pea soup in my cookbook. Also, I love soups in the hot Memphis summers too….for me, soup is a year-round food.

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 19, 2009 12:47 pm

      That chipotle mix with the soup in the book sounds great. I think split peas need a helping hand with some heat and most people agree.

  4. November 19, 2009 1:19 pm

    I didn’t comment to remind you, but because I enjoy reading your blog :))
    Whenever you have the time I will happy. If not I understand that life is messing up things sometimes, happens to me, too.

    PS I love the subtle decoration of your soup 🙂

  5. November 19, 2009 1:45 pm

    I prefer chunky soups but I love them all. This one looks delish!

  6. November 21, 2009 12:38 am

    If it’s a starter to a meal then I like a thin soup. If it’s the main meal then heavy and chunky please. It’s got to be filling. In my home. Saturday is soup day. Congratulations on the article. Sure wish I could read it.

  7. November 21, 2009 6:51 pm

    I do love to have soup at any time of the day. It is typical in Turkey to start a meal with a warm soup, but some people, like me, also love to have soup in the morning as breakfast. There are also some kind of soups that people prefer to have late at nights to feel better after drinking alcohol.
    And your soup looks so cute with your decoration.

  8. Quturah permalink
    November 23, 2009 11:49 am

    i would like to make this soup but cant seem to find the receipe pls can you email it to me thanks.

  9. Sunshine permalink
    November 23, 2009 5:20 pm

    Aww thanks for the special mention! The green pea soup looks so very tempting, i think for this soup pureed is best as it has so much flavour going on already! However I have only grown to love this soup as I was older when I was younger i loved the typical soup we have in barbados and it HAD to be “chunky” in fact when i was a child if they were no dumplings I would look at whoever gave me the soup and say that “that was not soup!” and make the biggest fuss lol… I will definitely get the recipe from you to give this one a try

Trackbacks

  1. Spicy Caribbean Green Split Pea Soup « Vegan In The Sun | Ace Card's Caribbean Vacation

Leave a Reply

