Skip to content

Spicy Beef Patty and a note on Testing

October 28, 2009

IMG_6440

Hi all,

This post will be short as I have been having some issues with my blog with photos on the blog being used without my permission. So for now I will hold off on some pics in the future as I really do not know where the copyright laws go as to blogs, websites etc especially as it varies from country to country. I am working very very hard on making Vegan in the Sun a reality and to conclude all testing by year-end. I feel slightly better after the break and now it is full steam ahead. I have been working on  Spicy beef patty that  I ate as a child even if it was too spicy for my young palate. This is very similar to a Jamaican Beef Patty those who have tried it in the past. The almost flaky paper-thin flavourful crust is paired with a really spicy and flavourful veggie mince and baked to perfection. One of my favourites from the book so far.

Caribbean Beef Patties

Bitten Caribbean Pastry

These are eaten at 10 am in the morning with a box of juice as a snack in most islands. Sometimes filled with vegetables or other meat it is something that separates the Caribbean palate from the French palate as more savoury  treats are preferred in the Caribbean.

These patties are great for lunch as they can be frozen or you can make mini patties and serve them as appetizers. In Jamaica they eat them with bread! I tried it once I admit when I was younger and I did not like it. Even if the pastry is paper-thin I do not like carb on carb action if you know what I mean.

 I will try to do a blog post soon that are not linked to the book for now. I like to show what is going on with the book but as I get into the final stages it is better that the testing and developments are less publicized.

Testers again thank you for good work by most of you. It is because of you that this book is coming together so quickly and I really cannot express enough my thanks.

Note on Testing

This is for people interested in testing for cookbooks as this can be a serious matter. Testing for an author or a potential author is a serious thing and testers can make or break the person’s reputation. Remember in blog world image is everything. A good reputation with food as an author means a lot.Look at the successful bloggers like Vegan Yum Yum and ppk  by Isa. You cannot taste food online so it has to be visually appealing first and foremost.

Many a time I have had requests for testing but with all testing some people start off strong and many fall by the wayside due to Life. I mean not everyone has time to be waiting by a pc to test recipes and I understand because I can be this type of person I am describing. There is a different between testing a recipe and trying a recipe. If you want to try my recipe let me know this in advance because I do not want to hear oh I substituted this for this. It defeats the purpose of testing. Also when you are testing make sure you clear all the fuzzies away before you start. If you have any fuzzies  contact the author before showing it to the world or to your stomach. For testers I would prefer people who have already tested for published books already because they know the drill.  Or someone who knows within themselves that they do not have the urge to throw in extra salt or do what you think is “right.This is a serious project as I have taken time from my career as a food microbiologist to do this book and to be honest with you I do not want to be some famous Vegan author it is just I think there is a need for a proper Vegan Caribbean Cookbook written by someone from that part of the world. Sometimes the author can make mistakes and there are situations that cannot be avoided. When you test you should write a proper report to the author so that they can easily pick out the changes if there are to be any. I speak about this because it was bothering me a bit and I needed to get it off my chest and I was really amazed with some of my testers and their efficiency so any potential tester can know what to expect. One of my testers Liz wrote a great article on Testing and I would like to direct you to her site.Click here . If you are really interested in testing and you know that you have the right personality for it leave me a comment or email just introducing yourself. I love getting to know a little my testers as it is like a network of knowledge and each tester always brings a new element to the table.

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Queen permalink
    October 28, 2009 4:33 pm

    These look delicious! I can’t wait for the book 🙂 Maybe by then, I will have more time to cook. Hope you’re doing well.

  2. October 28, 2009 5:53 pm

    That looks so meaty good!

    I am going to be testing recipes for the famous Jamacian beef patty soon.

    • Taymer permalink*
      October 28, 2009 6:02 pm

      I am a meaty vegan u know so it always has to be over the top with me.

  3. October 29, 2009 4:00 am

    Hi Taymar! Glad to see you are back!

    Mmmm, those patties look so tasty and familiar, I want one right now. Otherwise, I had also tried the patty inside bread, back when I ate meat. What’s up with that? I just don’t get the taste aesthetic that has a breaded food stuffed inside of thick slices of….more bread. It seems to mute the flavor of the pattie filling. (And why would anyone want to push the “mute button” on all of that flavor? I’ll never know!) Oh well…at the end of the day, to each his own, right? Whatever the case, I look forward to seeing more yummy Caribbean vegan dishes!

    Faith

  4. Taymer permalink*
    October 29, 2009 4:30 am

    yeah the coco bread that Jamaicans make is way too thick for that and the rationale behind it is beyond me. I know why they think that they can put it in the bread. It is because of the paper thin pastry but even still the taste of the pastry and coco bread is a taste disaster and it really as you say mutes the flavour. This is one thing Jamaicans got wrong in their cuisine. I use to like the ones by Gold Krust in NY. I find the commerical ones have a strong taste of MSG thats why I stopped eating them when I ate meat.

  5. November 2, 2009 10:31 am

    Those patties look delicious and portable. Perfect for lunch!

    I am a terrible tester (I never have the time or ingredients), so I’ll wait for your cookbook!

  6. November 5, 2009 5:07 am

    Hi Taymar,

    I saw your blog site it’s wonderful explanation by the images and these images look is very delicious…i likes…

  7. November 8, 2009 10:26 pm

    These look delicious! They’re similar to a another veggie patty recipe I’ve been meaning to try…I’ll keep this post in mind, since they’re definitely cousins of these.

  8. jocelyn permalink
    January 4, 2010 4:53 pm

    Hi Taymar,

    I recently came across your blog via another person who posts at the Post Punk Kitchen, where I am a regular poster. (You can find my posts there under my name, jocelyn.) I’ve not tested for a published book before, but I’ve been cooking for years and years, I’m a vegan who loves to cook, I’m continuing to build my vegan repertoire, I’ve read Liz’s guide to testing, and I would LOVE to test for your cookbook. If by any chance you are still accepting testers, please consider me. I can’t get experience unless someone takes a chance on me, and I promise you I can follow a recipe without tweaking it! I have lots of time over the next four or five months as I’m just about done with an application to grad school and I’m not working at the moment.

    • Taymer permalink*
      January 4, 2010 4:56 pm

      ok I will add you to the testing blog shortly. Yes I am always accepting testers and now I know that the book is happening I am happy to add more testers.

  9. November 17, 2015 12:32 pm

    lovely recipe. Really tasty, thanks for sharing this.

    Simon

Leave a Reply

