Skip to content

The Fishy Vegan

October 26, 2009
Eggplant textured served with brown rice, spicy lentils and carrot with dill dressing

Eggplant textured served with brown rice, spicy lentils and carrot with dill dressing

Fish inspired pate served on toasted bread

Fish inspired pate served on toasted bread

 Vegan Bajan Fishcakes

 

 

 

 

 

WARNING:For vegans who could not stand fish in their past omnivorous life do not bother to read.WARNING

Above are some fish inspired dishes I have been working on and there are more to come.

So by now most of you know I am from the Caribbean and in the Caribbean eating fish is very cultural. So even going vegetarian ppl still ask,” you eat fish right ?” and this question does not make me too upset and you will see why. Being vegetarian and vegan in the Caribbean is usually not about ethics but about healthy eating. To be honest giving up fish was a very difficult decision for me as I loved it so much.Many people reading this will wonder why. Well in the Caribbean fish is prepared very very well even at home it taste like fine cuisine and there are no yucky raw notes that can be detected in well seasoned fish in comparison to fish prepared in Europe or North America that I tasted in the past. Many people would like to  eat vegan but the fish issue stops them.Many of them eat no dairy eggs etc but they only eat fish and there are more people like that than vegetarian or vegans in the Caribbean. I have had a few request for vegan  fish substitutes and I  have actively worked on 3 so far. The one you know is my eggplant accras or fish cakes will really help a vegan with a serious fish craving. I am still working on a steak that is very fishy and high in protein that can be made at home.

The other  one I am working on is an eggplant fishy steak in the first photo.This one is something you can whip up fairly quickly at home and actually reminds me of salted codfish with Island herbs. It is not high in protein so do not make as a protein substitute. I serve this with quinoa or on crackers or toasted bread. It could be served on hot rice but you have to find something else to get your protein eg chickpeas. This mixture is very versatile so do not be shy with it. If you are not to health conscious you can use a binder and a batter and cover with panko bread crumbs like I did in the photo or you can steam it into shape. You can eat it as is like a pate on bread mixed with a cold pressed oil like flax and you mix in the oil after lightly cooking the eggplant. These dishes have helped me to stay on my path of being vegan because this is my one weakness that bothers me all the time but, ethics beats my cravings after all these years.. What I did here was texturize the eggplant so that it is more fleshlike. Things like eggplant, some mushrooms can really stand in for fish. I have tried working with tofu but the vegan fish stick thing has been overdone but I can do some newer ones that suit the Caribbean palate because fish and blandness do not do so well with us. I  have noticed on Spice Island Vegan’s blog she has a method of making that vegan fish you get in Asian restaurants I will give that a try. Oh an another thing, I  did not stop eating fish and meat because they taste like crap. It was an ethical decision but these things taste great to me so for me personally and my husband I try to recreate some flavours that we miss. Other vegans hate  the taste of fish and meat and stuff and are also ethical eaters. There are different types of vegans I can conclude.

 

Anyone who would like to try this recipe let me know so I can send to you. The reason I am not publishing some recipes is that my blog does not have a lot of traffic imo so it is a waste of time using my valuable time to type it out when no one wants it. That is why I can will send it on request to you if you care for it. Just leave a comment and I will get it to you.

 

Anyone ever tried anything from this site? Click here

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2009 2:55 pm

    This sounds great! I am a pescetarian and would like to stop eating fish. This would help a lot. What a great idea. If you have it typed out please send me a copy!

  2. October 27, 2009 8:31 am

    I don’t miss fish at all but my hubby LOVED fish before we went vegan. I would love to make him these amazing looking dishes.

  3. efcliz permalink
    October 27, 2009 8:58 am

    I would love to try these or anything else from your wonderful blog. I have done a lot of recipe testing (Vegan Brunch, 500 Vegan recipes, etc) and would be delighted to try some of yours.

  4. Amber permalink
    October 27, 2009 10:01 am

    Yes, please, I would love to try any of the above recipes! They look divine!!

  5. October 29, 2009 5:28 pm

    I can’t stand fish…(unless they are alive) so I didn’t read 😀 But your pictures are gorgeous!

  6. apollak permalink
    November 9, 2009 10:26 am

    I have been looking for good “fish” recipes. I would love to try yours. Thanks.

  7. Sunshine permalink
    December 26, 2009 11:19 pm

    ok i’ve had the priviledge of sampling those lovely ‘fish’cakes and let me just say that they should be on a shelf somewhere! They taste just like the real deal, actually if I didn’t know better i would have thought i was eating fischakes…*****!!!

  8. Natalie permalink
    December 28, 2009 12:03 am

    Seriously impressed Taymer. Clicked on the blog out of sheer curiosity…didn’t realize u were so into cooking! I’ve been vegetarian for the past 5 or so years, but haven’t been able to give up the fish yet. Would love to get my hands on some of those recipes if you have them available. This is Natalie from UWI btw if ur not sure who I am.
    Thanks in advance!

  9. Kedra permalink
    February 22, 2010 11:14 am

    i would loove to have the recipes! can you send them to me, please?

Leave a Reply

