Skip to content

French cuisine post:Pear Cake

October 22, 2009

IMG_6351 

Inspired from the Loving Hut in Paris I decided to try my hand or hands at making a similar version at home. I do not know anything about pear cake but from the one I tried I know that the pears were thinly sliced and cooked lightly in a creamy sauce that was thickened by something. The cake was rich meaning high in fat and sugar and there were hints of cinnamon clove etc.

Feel free to use your favorite plain vegan cake recipe here as mine is a little light

3 Pears ( I mean those sweet ones with the brown skin)

4 tbs vegan butter

1 cup soy milk

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup sugar

2 tbs arrowroot powder dissolved in a little milk

large pinch of salt

1 batch of cake batter replacing some of the liquid with 1/4 cup pineapple juice

Method

Peel pears and slice them and set aside. Melt butter and add milk and spices. Add sugar and cook in a low simmer. Add arrowroot and cook until the mixture starts to get thick. Add pears and cook on a very low heat for 5 mins. Grease and line cake pan and add half the batter to the pan. Add your pear mixture which should be very thick and creamy. Add the other half of cake batter.Sprinkle brown sugar , cinnamon and nutmeg at the top and dot with butter. Bake at 220 degrees C for 23 minutes or until done. Serve with chocolate sauce or red berry sauce which is the preferred sauce for me. Enjoy the taste of fall. Where I am now there is no fall just constant summer but it does not stop me from enjoying this delight. I will do another fall dessert Tarte Tatin which is the French version to Apple Pie. I plan to give this pie a good name with the recipe that was given to me.

 

Note the next couple of post would be Vegan French dishes as I have a few to share and they all will be great for this cold weather many of you are having now. Caribbean food would be back in the month of November. In December I would be off again on a trip to finish up the book.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 12:58 pm

    Yuuuuummmmmmmmm

  2. October 22, 2009 2:09 pm

    What a lovely dessert. Looks like it was served at a nice restaurant.

  3. October 22, 2009 5:29 pm

    Oh that cake looks fabulous! I am going to try this one for sure!

  4. November 5, 2009 5:20 am

    wow! cake look is very yumeeeeee..

  5. November 6, 2009 4:47 am

    With something like that I would be finger licking and spoon liking with even a little bit of mixing bowl licking!

Leave a Reply

