Skip to content

Cookbook Update:Happy Pizza ( Vegan Jerk Pizza)

September 23, 2009

Vegan Jerk Pizza

Jerk

Jerk seasoning is a seasoning blend that comes out of the beautiful island and  of Jamaica. I am not from Jamaica or have I ever been there but I have eaten jerk seasoning many times at home and I know  how it suppose to taste. Jamaica is popular for this spicy almost firey treat that they serve on meats and fish. Jerk seasoning was used as a preservative before there was electricity and refrigerators in Jamaica ( and that was many years ago as they have these things now just clearning that up).Now back to jerking. Jerking, I use it here are a verb because to me it is the action of seasoning the protein with the seasoning making sure it is throughly seasoned. Jamaicans are very proud of their seasoning blend and they should because there are many flavour notes and they work together well.To be honest some people make seasoning blend too strong so you get that burn out your liver feeling in your mouth and guts and, that is why in my pre vegan days I only had jerk something once. I have found a great way to get all the flavours of  jerk without making it too spicy so that everyone can enjoy it. The secret ingredient to any jerk seasoning  is cloves, allspice and nutmeg and sometimes a little orange juice to make the paste. There are a lot of recipes knocking around on the net that are not very authentic so when you want to make like a jerk at home try to use a Caribbean website for the recipe if you cannot wait for mine.Oh and another thing jerk is a wet seasoning blend traditionally do not let anyone fool you yes there are some dry rubs but those came about after and probably as a convenience for people who could not get the fresh ingredients or from chefs who wanted to add a dry rub to the meat.

I just had to make another pic of this Jerk Goodness

I just had to make another pic of this Jerk Goodness

I love when I get a cookbook and it combines many things you have made in the book to create a new recipe. Well you know what I did the same thing by accident. My testers have been busy for the past month making their own homemade authentic Caribbean Seasoning pastes and I have used  the  seasoning paste to make Jerk Sausages, Jerk Chi’ ken and Jerkaroni. Oh yes you will be jerking a lot. I used these Jerk Sausage in two other dishes in the book and here is one the first ever I hope Vegan Jerk Pizza made with homemade Sweet Potato Pizza crust and Jerk Chi’ken and  Jerk Homemade Sausage. Everything on this pizza is homemade from the sauce, the crust, the seasoning blend. The good thing about this pizza is that you would have in your refrigerator already a jar of homemade jerk seasoning. You would have made before a batch of Jerk Sausages. All left to do on the pizza making day is to make your easy sweet potato crust and just add all the toppings and bake. Sounds scary? Contrary to popular belief the recipes in the book can be made on Mars if Mars had a supermarket. This means that you can find 99 % of the ingredients at a regular supermarket. I left out 1 % for the Scotch Bonnet peppers that you would have to drive to your Asian or West Indian grocery to pick up. Scotch Bonnets are known as Habenros by the way and when working with them please for goodness sake use some gloves and take out the seeds. Oh and another contrary to popular belief is that my food is spicy and would burn off the cells of your tongue on contact. That is not true. I wonder where people get these ideas from where have you guys been eating? Yes I am a little aggressive today must be the jerk ( just kidding).

How does it taste? It is hearty and the thyme and sweet potato go back well with the spicy sweet jerk and the plantains add another dimension in the pizza. It is definitely cheese optional but I had a few pieces of vegan cheese left so I added it. It is a very filling pizza and one of the best pizzas I have ever had in a long time as  it really stands up on its own without any vegan cheese or any cheese at all. When I was baking it the smell of jerk chicken and sunday Caribbean baking pervaded the atmosphere, even the raw pizza had me picking off the jerk chi ken because I could not wait. I have tortured you enough… I think

So how many of you are ready to have a slice? Bloggers make a pizza that represents your region, your city or just you. I know that would go through one ear and come through the other but, I would love to see some of your home style vegan pizzas eg Southern Style Vegan Pizza, French Vegan Pizza, Spanish Style Vegan Pizza. Make a Happy Pizza today!

Vegan Pizza Slice

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2009 8:58 pm

    This sounds amazing!!!! I am very glad that one could make it on mars, cuz that’s how I feel sometimes in Belgium! 😉

  2. September 23, 2009 10:30 pm

    Taymer this pizza looks fabulous…YUM. I got my new camera and I am making your turnovers this next week. I’ll send photos. I have to learn how to use it with the help of my son. It has so many features and adapters that it may take me a while to get comfortable using it. The funny thing is that it is a new model and it fits in the palm of my hand. The smaller they get the more stuff (features) it brings….Amazing.

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

    • Taymer permalink*
      September 23, 2009 11:47 pm

      oh ok cool millie.I cannot wait to get a proper camera soon myself. I am looking forward to seeing the pics. Thanks for commenting. Not sure if ppl know what is jerk though……crickets…

  3. Queen permalink
    September 24, 2009 12:17 am

    This looks delicious, Tay! I’m anxious to get back in the kitchen after a couple of busy weeks. Can’t wait to make more of your food!

  4. September 24, 2009 2:45 am

    What an amazing looking pizza! Maybe I will have to make a Saudi Arabian pizza…. Great idea!

  5. September 24, 2009 4:09 pm

    Ooh, I can’t wait to see this one in the book. I love jerk-flavored stuff, especially when it involves pizza. It looks so mouth-watering.

    My favorite regional pizza is my Veggie Lovers Cornbread Pizza that I posted about a week or so ago. But I’ve never met a vegan pizza I didn’t love!

    • Taymer permalink*
      September 24, 2009 4:41 pm

      Thanks Bianca Cornbread based pizza crust sound great I was a cornbread addict when i was in my teens but I have not made it in a long time

  6. bajangyal permalink
    September 24, 2009 4:13 pm

    looking good Tay, I am especially intrigued by the plantain

  7. September 26, 2009 3:20 pm

    Oh.my.stars! This pizza looks so good, I want to dive right into it and swim around, LOL!

  8. October 6, 2009 9:43 am

    This looks soooo good!

    • Taymer permalink*
      October 6, 2009 10:01 am

      merci beaucoup Cynthia the taste was great too

  9. September 30, 2014 4:28 am

    I was more than happy to discover this great site.
    I wanted to thank you for your time for this particularly wonderful read!!
    I definitely savored every bit of it and i also have you bookmarked
    to look at new stuff in your website.

Leave a Reply

