Skip to content

West Indian Gooseberry Drink

September 7, 2009

Refreshing Cocktail

Remember those West Indian gooseberries I had several post ago? Well a friend of mine dropped off a huge bag of fresh gooseberries at my house this weekend and I was super happy with the bounty. Preserves were made but I still had some extra left. Her mother suggested I make a drink with the reminding berries. A drink? with those extremely tart berries. Well let me tell you the drink turned out well. This recipe is not for my international readers and you would not find West Indian gooseberries there. I will be back to regular posting by midweek. I have been really caught up with the book that is why I am not posting 3 times a week anymore my apologizes. There is still the special announcement coming up so look out for that.

Gooseberry Drink Guide recipe

Ingredients

Gooseberries

Brown sugar

Cinamon

Water

Method

Cook gooseberries in water and sugar and cinnamon. Leave for 1 hour to allow this mixture to draw. The liquid turns reddish brown. Pour off liquid, this is your gooseberry  drink concentrate. To serve Add 1/2 concentrate to 1/2 water with a squeeze of fresh lime juice. Add some of the gooseberries in the glass so your guest could have the fruit when they are finished with the drink.

Some refreshing  news for a change is that Barbados has the top 4 literacy rate in the world see report

Home

Click here for the full list of countries. Just something that caught my attention.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2009 6:42 pm

    I make drinks with so many fruits and I just don’t know how I never got around to making it with gooseberry. Go figure!

  2. September 8, 2009 12:54 am

    MMMmmmmm feel like having a glass…

  3. September 8, 2009 5:48 am

    That pictures is stunning! I can just taste the refreshing sweetness of this beautiful drink. So lovely.

  4. September 8, 2009 9:00 am

    I have no idea what a gooseberry is, but that drink looks gorgeous! Love the unusual color!

  5. September 8, 2009 11:26 pm

    That drink looks fabulous…yum! Also you are welcome to post the rice. I hope you like it. Thanks…we will keep in touch.

    • Taymer permalink*
      September 10, 2009 11:26 am

      do u have those gooseberries in latin america?

      • September 10, 2009 8:35 pm

        I have never heard of gooseberry in our island but I will find ask my older family members.

  6. September 10, 2009 8:41 pm

    Oh Taymer, I just remembered we do have gooseberry in Puerto Rico. Its called “Fresas”. I used to eat them right off my Grandmother’s trees. She made jam with them, I have never tried it in a drink form but the jam is so good. You may want to try it sometime and let me know how it was over your toast.

  7. September 11, 2009 9:39 pm

    Is this the Bajan name for them? I have never heard them called this before. I have seen them online referred to as Surinam cherry and in Trinidad they are called cérise.

    • Taymer permalink*
      September 11, 2009 10:27 pm

      right now i have the french antilles guide to fruits and this is not the suriname cherry the name is otaheite gooseberry grossela and the scientific name is *Phyllantus acidus* surinam cherry is red and the scientific name is *Eugenia uniflora*

    • dale permalink
      October 23, 2010 5:57 pm

      a surinam cherry, while looking similar, is something totally different..when ripe, it is red and sweet, with a slightly unusual aftertaste…
      the gooseberries shown are green when young, turning slightly more yellow when mature..very tart when young, they are less so as they ripen, but can never really be considered ‘sweet’ tasting. our family has preserved them using a salt/sugar solution then drying them in the sun or oven.. a great snack , not unlike chinese preserved fruit.

  8. September 14, 2009 11:24 am

    Wow! Maybe I should try this with regualr gooseberries.

  9. September 14, 2009 12:52 pm

    Your photography is in a class of its own!

  10. Naolat permalink
    May 5, 2011 10:32 am

    What a handy recipe! I’m definitely gonna try this!

  11. Tatiana permalink
    August 16, 2012 11:20 pm

    Where can I find this gooseberries?? I’ve been looking for them

Trackbacks

  1. Indian Gooseberry: Ideal Medicines for Health Troubles | Top Acne Relief

Leave a Reply

