Skip to content

Pumpkin Fritters

August 17, 2009

Pumpkin Fritter

These fritters are not exclusive to the Caribbean. How do these taste? Imagine if there was such a thing as a pumpkin doughnut that’s how they taste. I have seen versions of this fritters in Germany and Latin America so it seems like a pretty international fritter that found its home in many countries. I do not promote deep fried foods on this blog in general but these are what they are  so, I will just share the recipe and give alternative uses of the fritter batter. Pumpkin fritters are becoming a lost tradition in Barbados. No one makes them like before and despite being fried they taste really good and can be eaten singly for taste like a fine piece of chocolate. That is why I made 6 with my batter and made bread and pancakes with the remaining batter. If you  are having a lot of people over this is something you can make for a brunch or a dessert. I saw these being served in cane sugar syrup which is very sinful at a very trendy restaurant. I made these with AP unbleached flour which I regret but these will be great  using whole wheat flour. My biggest challenge I thought would be replacing the egg in this but 1 flax egg worked great. So here is the recipe for these sinfully good balls.

V

Alternative Uses of the Batter

Pumpkin Pone :I baked some of my batter in a cake pan and the texture was hard on the outside chewy on the inside which is what we call pone in Barbados . A cake purposefully made with this consistency is a favourite in many Barbadian homes and I hope I can make it soon using cassava. Stir in coconut into the batter and raisins and your pone would be out of this world.

I added some extra flour and wheatgerm to the batter and made pancakes. Very good use will make them again.

I think that more flour can be added to this mixture and you can try to bake your fritters but I did not try this yet.

I saw these fritters being dipped in an Indian Curry sauce so it was a sweet and savoury dish. I am down for that.

Oh in other news I tested out Vegan Brunch  talked about Bagel recipe. L and I had a  fun Saturday night making these bagels for Breakfast Massacre on Sunday. I was impressed with the authenticity of the bagel as I never tried an of Isa’s recipes before. I had some wrinkling on the bagel but it is no big deal. What I wanted was more of a gloss and more colour to my my bagel and I was doing some research and some people boil it in bicarbonate of soda… not sure if that works to enhance the browning. Some people also put cornmeal at the bottom of the  pan to get a crispy bottom. I had my bagel with tofutti cream cheese and raspberry jam such a treat and a change from the regular Breakfast Massacre. The sausage you see is a Linda Mc Cartney Sausage which I liked the taste and which is suitable for vegans. I kinda regret using unbleached all purpose because I love the whole grain taste to my breads but if you want to do with with whole wheat flour but, do use a whole wheat flour that has a whole lot of gluten in it like a bread flour. I made these again with whole wheat bread flour and they were so good . I plan to make a gloss with soy milk or a flax egg and see what happens. Twas a wonderful Sunday Brunch.Vegan Brunch Bagels

Home

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2009 9:56 pm

    My Grandmother taught me how to make these. She made them look like a small tortilla. We call them Tortas. I’ll have to make them sometime…they are delicious. You brought back some wonderful memories. Thanks.

  2. August 17, 2009 11:23 pm

    those look so good and crispy!
    i really love cooking with pumpkin, it’s so ridiculously healthy and has so many benefits to it!..not to mention is very tasty.
    thanks for the recipe!! 🙂

  3. August 18, 2009 12:30 pm

    It is almost pumpkin season again, which I can’t believe. One more pumpkin recipe to add to my collection.

  4. bajangyal permalink
    August 18, 2009 2:54 pm

    i love pumpkin fritters must make some in the near future…also i did some cassava pone this past weekend and it was fantastic!!! my b/f loved it…keep pushing the bajan delights girl:)

    • Taymer permalink*
      August 18, 2009 3:31 pm

      thanks a bunch M. I love them too.I use to make a big batch when I was a teenager and eat them until I got sick lol.I had a really good recipe and I lost such a pity I had to build it back from scratch. I need to source some of that nice yellow milky cassava that we get home. I want to taste that on.I worked at this place where they served the cassava pone with black pepper ice cream. The combo was amazing.

      • bajangyal permalink
        August 18, 2009 5:19 pm

        Actually in Tobago they put black pepper in the actual pone but black pepper ice cream sounds really interesting, I would be really interested to see how that came out.

        Also have you ever experimented with doing a vegan bajan fishcake? I used to experiment with a spinach ‘cake’/fritter and added seaweed and a tofu based one also with seaweed but I never tweaked either of them to perfection.

  5. Taymer permalink*
    August 18, 2009 5:47 pm

    I think u keep reading my mind it is so weird I am looking online for a sea weed that smell really fish. This is so weird that u are reading my mind.I plan to use egg plant as my fish or a dried Chineese mushroom and then I will try to find a seaweed. What seaweed you think smells like salt fish?

  6. bajangyal permalink
    August 18, 2009 7:01 pm

    I use dried nori seaweed sheets, it doesn’t have that strong saltfish smell but I like the flavour it adds

  7. August 19, 2009 12:07 am

    I’m loving your blog! I have an obsession with Caribbean food. I had my first roti when I was a teenager and from there I became completely hooked. I was super lucky to live in a neighborhood with plenty of Ital restaurants, not to mention a few Jamaican places. It’s cool to read about all the different places and their particular cuisines, and your travel guide has me planning a trip to Barabados as soon as I can!

    • Taymer permalink*
      August 19, 2009 10:48 am

      Thanks for visiting Isa. I am happy that you enjoy quality Caribbean food and it is surprising because I do not really get this from most of my readers. You should do a Caribbean Roti post on your blog. It is one of the best street foods and it can be made vegan from the Caribbean. There is a roti called an “I Ti “meaning Ital Roti that I am working on now hope to get it right and speak about Ital food when I am finished my interview with a Rastafarian here. It was nice virtually meet you! Tay

  8. August 19, 2009 11:59 am

    Those pumpkin fritters sound amazing — would love to get my hands on those right now.

  9. August 19, 2009 4:48 pm

    Oh man, I’ve never seen anything like this–which makes me want to try it!

  10. August 20, 2009 3:27 am

    Never heard of these, but they sound delicious! I wonder how many I could make with my 18 lb pumpkin 🙂

  11. August 20, 2009 5:21 pm

    pumpkin’ fritters, eh? sounds like an interesting ingredient combo. i love trying new things… awesome!

  12. August 21, 2009 9:46 am

    These look gorgeous, something I would definitely love! Thank you for the recipe, can’t wait to try it out.

  13. August 1, 2010 1:44 am

    Lov ur site keep up the Vegan world!
    Feel free to visit I site.. http://italandveganworld.com
    One Love
    Trod on

  14. August 1, 2010 1:45 am

    Lov ur site keep up the Vegan world!
    Ital/vegan all the way..
    Feel free to visit I site.. http://italandveganworld.com
    One Love
    Trod on

Leave a Reply

