Skip to content

Better Than Wings

August 7, 2009

Vegan Wings

Today I had a strong craving for something crispy fried and meaty and all the vegans gasp (just kidding). I get craving a lot and it is not about meat it is about protein and flavours I like. I hardly fry anything unless it is a fritter or bake i.e something that has to be fried plus I do not like fried food that much. Now back to my craving. Every Friday when I was a child growing up in Barbados I would have chicken and chips. The only junk food of the week . I did not look forward to the chicken that much it was the chips I loved with sweet ketchup. As I got older these traditions stopped in my household as my dad went Vegan but we never stopped making chips we just baked them instead. IMG_5522

Now back to the craving stay with me here. After 2 weeks of testing and wasting my vital wheat gluten I  developed a Bajan flavoured wing like protein that is so good you will keep going back for more. I first started out with a steamed seitan but the texture was not right. Then I did it with a straight baked seitan still it was not right. I then steamed the seitan cool it score it to add the wet seasoning mix  battered and breaded it, baked it and sauced it three times to give it this fried  looking texture.This is not a very healthy dish but  the fat can be cut down in it drastically. Sorry I did not have the proper sticks so I used toothpicks. I served these with my home made  pineapple bbq sauce and baked french fries with a dash of vinegar just how my dad use to make it.I had just planned to make these into chicken style cutlets but since it was Junk Food Friday I made them into wing shapes. I will post the recipe when I re test them again later in the month. I will also test the shelf life of these and store them in different areas and let you know what happened.

Taste analysis: Very rich in flavour and not doughy like some seitan recipes or not too spongy. Not too chewy as I baked it for over an hour and the coating is so good. I would not let you wait too long for this recipe just bear with me a bit as I re test it. After I made these accidental wings I googled wings and I saw a few bloggers some I know did a vegan wing before so i will not get a prize for my creation but I will have a great treat cruelty free.

kreativblogger

Blog Award: I want to give a very special thank you to Vaishali of Holy Cow who made my Sunday very happy with the Kreavtive Blogger Award. I never got a blog award before so I am really elated that someone thought of me and thought I was creative. Thank you again. I am suppose to pass this one to 7 other bloggers and give 7 Interesting things about me. Look out for that in About Me later this week.

Home

10 Comments leave one →
  1. bajangyal permalink
    August 7, 2009 11:21 pm

    those look really good Tay…looking forward to further updates

  2. August 8, 2009 1:52 am

    I totally know what you mean about craving something fried and meaty. When people look at me strange I explain that I didn’t go vegan because I hate the taste of meat, but because I hate contributing to the suffering of animals. Craving meaty food is fine – eating meaty food from an animal is not!

    I make chicken fried seitan and seitan hot wings. I love them! They definitely satisfy any craving that I might have and they really seem to impress omnivores who often can’t believe that they aren’t eating real chicken flesh.

    And WOW! Your wings look so beautiful and perfectly crispy and lightly crunchy. I love the idea of pineapple bbq sauce, great idea.

    I can’t wait to see the recipe for these, they really look delicious.

  3. August 8, 2009 11:50 am

    My husband, eating vegan only at home, would love me for this. Do you have the recipe & also for the bbq sauce?

  4. Taymer permalink*
    August 8, 2009 12:19 pm

    yes I have the recipe but I need to test it again before. If you cannot wait there is another recipe that caught my eye yesterday from vegan dad here is the link. Tell me how that one goes
    http://vegandad.blogspot.com/2008/05/vegan-boneless-chickenless-wings.html. Instead of using panko you can use regular breadcrumbs to bread this with. For sauce to get them this golden brown sticky texture I used melted vegan butter, grace chilli sauce or tabasco sauce and some ketchup and maple syrup. After baking every 20 mins you drop in hotsauce mixture and bake and you will see the texture start to change.I have not tried his seitan baked recipe yet but it seems to have good reviews but the method I described is how I made mine crispy like that on the outside.Oh one more thing in your seitan use lots of poultry seasoning in the dry mix.

    For the bbq sauce it has been something I have been doing for a while and it needs a lot of ingredients.I will get around to posting this soon but again if you cannot wait a shortcut is getting that dark hickory bbq sauce about 1 cup mixed with half cup pineapple juice, crush 3 cloves or garlic and add some hot sauce to taste. Boil and stir until reduced by a quarter. I sometimes like to crush pineapple tid bits inside.

    I hope I did not confuse you but I do not want to post any definate recipe until I know it is tested again to work out the kinks. The wings taste really good and even taste great cold.

  5. August 8, 2009 12:23 pm

    That looks delicious! I can’t wait until you post your recipe! 🙂

  6. August 8, 2009 5:30 pm

    These look amazing. I too get a craving for protein-rich food with a meat-like texture, and luckily there are so many great vegan substitutes to satisfy those cravings. Your Better than Wings look like a perfectly winning recipe. I definitely would love one of those now– or all!

  7. August 9, 2009 1:07 pm

    They really do look superb. Looking forward to the recipe.

  8. August 9, 2009 5:48 pm

    It’s raining awards in the food blog world and I have one I’d like to share with you. Please pick it up at my blog 🙂

  9. Taymer permalink*
    August 9, 2009 7:18 pm

    Thanks Vaishali I saw it earlier and I was likewow my first blog award. Thank you so much I will pick it up asap and pass it on but it will onlybe 6 since u will be one of my 7

  10. August 13, 2009 7:08 am

    Really looking forward to this recipe. I love all the experimenting you do with different methods and so on, to get the recipe just right.

Leave a Reply

