Skip to content

Coconut Mashed Yam, Classic Carribean TVP Stew and Avocado Salad

August 6, 2009

Lunch fit for a Caribbean Queen

I know what you must be saying did she eat all that fat in one dish? Yes I did, I had half of  the portion of everything plus I can afford it since I do not eat enough fat anyways and I do not use coconut milk usually and the fats in avocado are good for you.Note that the avocado and yam dish does not necessarily need to be eaten together but I was in the mood for both. Yam is a very popular root in the Caribbean because it is mild in taste and stands up better than English Potatoes. I know in the USA some people call a type of sweet potato yam but the yam I am speaking about is not the same thing. Click here to read more about yam and their use. I am told that at times you can find yam in the Asian markets or West Indian supermarkets but they can be a little expensive as they are imported. Yam itches your skin like crazy for a few mins while peeling but do not worry in 10 mins it goes away.

Coconut Mashed Yam

Coconut mashed yam is something my parents made for me after a long day at university. They would serve it with vegan chili usually and a crispy salad. Using coconut milk in yam is a very good idea as the flavours pair well together. When my husband took the first bite into this lunch he asked me what is the starch. I smiled and said the yam you hate so much. The recipe is very simple. Boil your yam and drain. Add 1/4 to 1/2 cup coconut milk and mash. Add 3/4 of a medium grated onion and salt to taste and you  will have a very delicious starch. I did not use a lot of coconut milk and it still tasted good 1/4 cup will do or even a little less.

TVP Stew( Textured Vegetable Protein Stew)

I have been eating TVP stew since I was 13 years old and let me tell you TVP has come a long way. I remember hydrating tvp would have the entire house in panic asking what was that smell with their facesin disgust. Finally the food technologist have gotten it right and tvp can be  used as a protein alternative. A lot of people ask me how I get my TVP/ Gran burger stew tasting so much like minced beef and less like soy. I use the same seasoning I would use if I was making ground mixed beef. Here is a guide to making delicious TVP stew that does not taste bland.

TVP Stew Guide

Hydrate your TVP with hot water. I saw on the blog Seitan is My Motor she soaked hers in a vegetable broth and that is fine too. Saute onions and  a mild chili peppers or sweet peppers in olive oil. Add your hydrated tvp and allow this mixture to fry up. Add about 4 cloves of chopped garlic to your tvp and allow the flavour to mesh. Now add your favourite spices. I love cumin, paprika ,chili and curry. Tomato sauce is your friend. Do not forget the salt and/ Braggs. I usually add some drops of chili sauce at the end and fresh basil. Onion powder is something you would not want to leave out and I like a squirt of American mustard in my sauce. The result is a rich and flavourful stew. Bajan Seasoning saves most stews and a tsp of Bajan Seasoning goes a long way in a stew like this so start getting your herbs together to make a batch. Another thing to to note is that some tvp are preseasoned already so taste your tvp after soaking to determine how much salt or spice you will add. If you tvp as too much water squeeze it out especially if you just hydrate in hotwater.

You can use this stew for spaghetti bolognese too.

Avocado Salad

I had an avocado and I wanted to make a quick salad with it. You just need avocado cubes and some mild chili sliced and white onions. Cut some lime wedges and add to salad. Chop fresh parsley and cover the salad with some lime juice and salt.

Update: I made my first vegan ice cream but I am still working the kinks outs. I hope to have an ice cream post by this weekend but, I am not making any promises.

Home

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 2:50 pm

    That looks like such a great combination! I would never think of adding coconut milk in, but I bet that would work with sweet potatoes too?

    Your pics always make my mouth water!

  2. Taymer permalink*
    August 6, 2009 2:52 pm

    yes it works with sweet potato and green bananas just add some grated onion and salt.
    Thanks.
    I hope you are not too shaken up abt the exam

  3. August 6, 2009 5:16 pm

    I was gonna ask the same question, if this would also work with sweet potato. I’ve never seen a real yam around here, but I think the coconut flavor would also be amazing in sweet potatoes!!!

  4. August 6, 2009 10:06 pm

    I love coconut milk. I’ll bet those yams are delicious!

  5. August 7, 2009 6:54 am

    Ah, now I see why you soak your TVP only for a short period of time. If you use water,there’s no flavour to absorbed. 🙂
    I am really impressed by this dish. I got to know TVP as a substitute for meat. But TVP stew sounds like it’s totally natural to use TVP. It looks really fantastic, I love the presentation and combination with the mashed yam. Awesome!

    • Taymer permalink*
      August 7, 2009 7:16 am

      I do use water but just a little just enough to get the hardness out of it. Sometimes I mix bajan seasoning and marmite in the water so that the flavour would absorb but it does not make a big difference. When I use the big tvp chunks I really go water scare with those because if they get filled up with too much water like a sponge they cannot take on my sauce . This came from years of tvp making. I know esp in Barbados when you tell ppl u are vegan/vegetarian they think u eat tvp everyday! Thanks for your comments:) Tay

  6. August 9, 2009 11:40 pm

    Yuh see now this looks like a fantastic lunch. By TVP do you mean minced soya or soya chuncks. Both have become very popular now and many folks now use it as a way to economize. I must admit I’m not so good at cooking it. But I have a friend wow, you wouldn’t know it wasn’t meat. Great tip about the water! Maybe I’ll give it a try and give my friend some competition.

    • Taymer permalink*
      August 9, 2009 11:46 pm

      I mean minced soya. I need to clear that up on the blog. When I eat it you do not know it is TVP with the spices. In Barbados when I was in secondary school some canteens use to water down their minced beef with it but I would not call it water down I would say improve and economize.

  7. August 10, 2009 12:03 am

    LOL. They do that here too. Re comment on improving- well that depends on who does the cooking!

    • Taymer permalink*
      August 10, 2009 12:04 am

      hahahah Wizzy you kill me. Lol.. Why don’t you go to sleep? Lol

  8. August 10, 2009 12:14 am

    I can’t. You have me thinking about vegan ice-cream. I love any kind of ice-cream. Dessert island scenario = me and those two items. Last meal, once again cheesecake and ice-cream please….coconut ice-cream with a cornstarch base would be very vegan….i love coconut ice-cream…did I mention I love ice-cream???

    • Taymer permalink*
      August 10, 2009 12:20 am

      I only use coconut milk in my ice cream now and I followed Vegan Dad method but chilling the coconut milk in the fridge to get the fatty part and I will use cornstarch since I am out of arrow root. I will make a classic vanilla and sweeten it with raw agave nectar which is sweeter than sugar and low glycemic and add some rum inside and nutmeg. I know what you mean with the island icecream it is always full of ice and watery and coarse. It is refreshing though but it actually tricks u into thinking it is creamy and when u get it is is like a watermelon if u get what I mean. I saw some selling at a street fair here with the old ice cream makers. I would love one of those antique ones. Saw a yougurt machine for 15 euro used but all the covers were busted. Thats my next investment. It is funny when u go vegan you just want to make your own things. Plus vegan yougurt is like 9 usd for containers here . I am going to bed tried to blog today about baking but went swimming and my stuff was ruined as I over proof:(. Will have some new stuff up this week. Have a good week Wizzy. You really made me smile tonight. It is a Caribbean thing!

  9. August 11, 2009 11:20 pm

    This looks great too! The closest I’ve been to your part of the world is Guatemala, and I was surprised by how common TVP is in the markets there, as it’s just an obscure specialty item here. This looks so hearty – great comfort food with coconut and avocado, two of my faves.

Trackbacks

  1. Coconut Mashed Yam, Classic Carribean TVP Stew and Avocado Salad « Vegan In - Vikram's Web Archive

Leave a Reply

