Skip to content

Roti the Ultimate Veg*n West Indian Dish

July 19, 2009
Vegan rotis folded in the traditional parcel

Vegan rotis folded in the traditional parcel

For those of you that have followed my old blog Mouthwatering Vegan Delights may know I use to do many roti post. If you go on it you should still see some recipes for the roti side/ filling.Roti is not necceserily a vegetarian/ vegan dish but most places offer a vegan roti along with the meat roti. In Canada there are many roti shops and you can easily go to one and pick up a veggie roti. There are many roti shops in the USA but it depends on your state. In NYC there are many as several Indo Carribbean families  have settled in New York.Rotishops are generally family businesses and usually these business owners put out excellent product. What is a roti? A roti can be the flat bread or it can mean the whole dish which is the  curried protein filling. So you do not get confused you can ask for a roti skin or roti bread if you just want the bread but usually if you say roti in the Caribbean it means the full dish.

Here you can see the curried tvp,chickpeas and potato filling

Here you can see the curried tvp,chickpeas and potato filling

In my opinion Trinidad and Guyana are the roti capitals in the Caribbean. Barbados has many roti establishments as well but most of them are run buy Guyanese or Trinidadians. You can have roti on a plate with your filling exposed and the skin on the side or you can have it in a wrap folded like a parcel as shown in the photos below.I like this method as it is less messy and it is how I grew up eating roti. You can eat roti with your bare hands like me or eat it with a knife and fork if you do not like to use your hands.The skin /bread of the roti varies it can be dal puri which is a yellow split pea filled skin as shown in the photo or it can be a buss up shut which is common in Barbados.There is another skin that Barbadians make which I think contains lard so ask before buying. This buss- up- shut is a thin flavoured skin and it is not very fatty.I like them both. The key to a good roti is to have a killer curried filling full of flavour. Usually the meat lends to some of this flavour but, when you are a vegan like me you have to give 120% in making the filling esp if you are using tvp or chickpeas as your protein source.

I usually use TVP chunk as my protein source and chickpeas and potatoes as the extra carb. Feel free to use lentils, split peas and carrots and spinach when making roti. There is one that is sold with chickpeas curried pumpkin with a rich garlic flavour and it is oh so good. You can get this roti in Barbados at the restaurants.Today I got up at 9 and made roti for lunch. The filling I made is curried tvp with potato and chickpeas. I used some Bajan seasoning to flavour my tvp and I use tomato sauce and I stirred in 5 cloves of crushed garlic near the end of cooking.My mom usually says that roti is a lot of work and she would never make the skins but if you are like her feel free to purchase skins in the supermarket. Some people use tortilla if they do not want to make skins but I really prefer the authentic roti skins. I decided to use this roti filling in my book so I will not show the recipe today sorry but I have some recipes on my old blog so check there. Oh one more thing you can sub whole wheat flour for the skin but I have made this and I do not love love the whole wheat roti skins. This is the one time I would say to use unbleached all purpose flour but it is up to you and your needs.

If you have any questions on roti or need a filling recipe do not hesitate to contact me.

Home

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2009 4:10 pm

    I literally went to a jamaican eatery in northeast DC yesterday and couldn’t figure out what “roti” was. I ended up getting a veggie pattie, which I think it different… anyways, now that I know I will have to try some! Yours look delish.

    • Taymer permalink*
      July 19, 2009 4:40 pm

      Jamaicans do not eat a lot of roti I think I do not know many Jamaicans by the way . Patty is their thing which is a yellow pastry fillied with goodies. When I went vegan I was like I would never eat another Jamaican patty again oh my goodness because I like some Jamaican food. I plan to try to recreate their beef patty by using tvp and lentils but since I am not Jamaican it may not go veery well since I do not know their technique. You would not get a roti from a Jamaican shop try a Trinidadian Roti shop or Guyanese shop. I never been to Jamaica but they have some interestning dishes not very vegan but their spice blends are great too. Look in the phone book or online to see if there is a roti shop near u I am sure there is one.

      • Anonymous permalink
        April 26, 2010 5:11 pm

        I am Jamaican. We do eat Roti and yes you can get Roti in Jamaican restaurants.

  2. July 20, 2009 8:57 am

    Those look delicious!

  3. July 20, 2009 5:50 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever had roti, but I’m always down for curried veggies stuffed in a flat bread-like wrapper.

  4. July 20, 2009 6:14 pm

    Very nice Tay!

  5. July 22, 2009 8:35 am

    I really need to try and make the skins. Cynthia from Tastes Like Home has an excellent step by step process to make the bread–I always feel badly cheating and using tortillas…

    • Taymer permalink*
      July 22, 2009 8:38 am

      yes use her recipe for the skins or Jehan Can Cook has a pretty good one too. Or try both. I think I was suppose to born in either Trinidad or Guyana sometimes because my food interest stem from these countries a lot

  6. July 27, 2009 3:20 pm

    Oh you KNOW how I feel about Roti now! I just need to hunt up your skin recipe…in the old blog right? I am almost ready to try making this. I have to finish the show first; right now I am all work and no kitchen play, but VERY SOON!

    And yes I will need your filling recipes. the pumpkin chickpea was my favorite, but I would like to try it with TVP.

    SAD NOTE: I can’t find the seasoned TVP here that I found in Barbados. might have to order it online if possible.

  7. September 7, 2009 11:57 pm

    Oooh, time to make some roti!

  8. November 25, 2009 2:23 am

    I have been searching to find a receipe to make the roti that is shown in the picture. I live in Thailand and its difficult to get all he ingrediants. Can you help.

    • Taymer permalink*
      November 25, 2009 2:24 am

      yes i can help send me an email…because i am not sure u ever commented on here before. I will be able to help u then

  9. Gloria permalink
    December 11, 2009 5:26 am

    This looks great! I think I’m going to use seitan as a beef substitute instead of TVP though.

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 11, 2009 8:36 am

      yes you can use either or. I just choose that because I was more accustomed to the taste of a tvp chunk roti. I am happy to have some west Indian readers

  10. Ritz permalink
    December 4, 2010 6:59 pm

    The roti bread looks great! Please share the recipe.

  11. April 19, 2012 11:12 am

    Hello, Just discovered your blog. Please share your recipe for Roti with its vegan filling and spices that you use. Many thanks.

Trackbacks

  1. Roti the Ultimate Veg*n Caribbean Dish « Vegan In The Sun | Ace Card's Caribbean Vacation

Leave a Reply

