Skip to content

Sweet Potato Shepards Pie

July 15, 2009

Vegan Shepard's Pie

Shepard’s pie made with English potatoes is very popular in the UK and to a lesser extent North America. Traditionally this was a casserole for the working man and it is a very hearty dish.It can be easily prepared in advanced and then simple heated up when you are ready for it. I love Shepard’s Pie with english potatoes and tvp filling or brown lentil filling.

For my dinner party a few weeks ago I did a yam Shepard’s pie which was very good but unfortunately I did not get to take picture. I decided to do a sweet potato Shepard’s pie today as I had a fairly fresh sweet potato and I had bought some dried seasoned textured vegetable protein aka granburger as it is called in Barbados. This is pretty heavy and I recommend having it for lunch where you need to be stuffed the most. You can serve this with additional gravy as sweet potato tends to get dry. Sometimes I reserve some of the tvp gravy to serve with this or I make mushroom or onion gravy to add to the top. I usually have this pie with salad or sweet peas.The uneaten pie can be stored in the freezer for a long time. I am not a big sweet potato fan but I fell in love with this dish last year in Barbados at the vegan restaurant. I found their pie very flavourful and a little spicy. I think my version is mild and I have done a pretty good job at getting out that soy taste from the dried tvp.

From the other picture below you can see I am using white fleshed sweet potatoes. I know many of you think that sweet potato is orange but that is only one variety and believe it or not we rarely use this one in the Caribbean. I find it to be too soft and it reminds me of pumpkin too much. I like  the orange variety is soups but I would never use them for fries as they do not hold up. If u find this white variety buy it and make your fries with. It stays up better than English potato. When mashing this variety you can add hot “milk” and vegan butter and you will see it changes from an almost translucent grey silver to white. If you mash it without milk or butter it will stay greyish and that is  great too.

Vegan Shepards Pie

Medium sweet potato,2 tbs butter, pinch of salt, 1 roasted garlic( roasted with olive oil and rosemary) this is optional.shepard pie comp1

Filling:3/4 cup dried  TVP or frozen, 1 medium onion chopped, 1 eshallot chopped 2 tsp olive oil, 2 tbs Bajan Seasoning,1 cup of water, 1 tsp paprika, 1 tsp black pepper, 1 tsp curry powder, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1tsp fresh thyme, 1/2 tsp Marmite, few squirts of Braggs Liquid Amino Acids, 1 tbsp tomato paste, 1 tsp Bajan Hot Pepper sauce (optional), 1 tbsp mustard, 3 tbs yeast flakes, 1/4 cup tomato sauce, 3 garlic cloves crushed to add in your sauce 5 mins before finishing, salt to taste. Feel free to add more Bajan seasoning if you want this stew very very flavourful.

Method

Fry up onion in oil. Hydrate TVP and add 2 tbs Bajan seasoning when it is hydrated add the Bajan seasoning. Add tvp to the pan and cook for a few mins. Add the dry spices followed with water. Add all other ingredients except garlic. Add the garlic in the last 10 mins of cooking

Peel and cook sweet potatoes until firm. Mash with butter until smooth.

Grease casserole and layer a very thin layer of potatoes( I do this because adding the tvp mixture first falls to pieces if there is nothing under to support it).Add your tvp mixture. Then add another thin layer of sweet potato. Decorate top and add some olive oil and dried rosemary. Bake for 20 mins and grill the top for 10 mins. Serve with gravy of your choice or reserve tvp stew.

Home

Here is a little pic I put together showing you what the white sweet potato looks like and how it looks mashed cooked etc.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 4:29 pm

    I live in the Uk and have made a sweet potato version of Shepherds pie, but your addition of TVP looks really good. I must try it sometime, when the weather gets a bit cooler though.

    • latay permalink*
      July 15, 2009 4:33 pm

      Yes I agree with u about the weather thats why I could only afford a little. Well it would never get cooler in the Caribbean so I have to eat it now. Will add some summery lighter meals later in my next couple of post.

  2. July 15, 2009 4:37 pm

    Hey there, love your blog!

    This sounds like a great idea, can’t wait to try it!

  3. highwine21 permalink
    July 15, 2009 4:56 pm

    I love shepherds pie and sweet potatoes, so this combo has to be dynamite!! I have to try this next time I make this dish.

  4. July 15, 2009 8:46 pm

    That’s a winner. I love, love , love sweet potato.

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

  5. July 16, 2009 4:45 pm

    This looks so good! I love shepherd’s pie, but I’ve never made it with sweet potato. Our sweet taters down here are orange-y in color, but yours looks white. Do you think they taste the same? I have a huge ass bag of TVP in my pantry.

    • Taymer permalink*
      July 16, 2009 4:51 pm

      I tasted about 4 different types of sweet potato and the small orange ones in the usa do not taste like the white one to me. The white one is strong and starchy and the sweetness varies to mild to medium. There is another light yellow variety u can use if you do not have white one like mine. I think the orange sweet potato is too soft to make shepards pie but hey maybe u will like it. Try it.

Leave a Reply

