Skip to content

Caribbean Vegan Open for Business (I got your emails…)

January 15, 2012

I read all of your emails last year and even if I did not reply to each and every one of them, I read them and I appreciate your kind words. I decided to open back up Caribbean Vegan because after 8 months not blogging I could not find a way to release my creative energy anymore and that was a little frustrating.

 

I never really explained fully why I left the blogging world but there were two main factors.

1. A sad individual who poaches from other blogs, cooks, chefs caused me to close down Caribbean Vegan. That individual has been publicly lauded for their great work but they are nothing but a fraud to me and many others who knows the truth about them. As my father always told me when I was a little girl…their pigs would come to market.

 

2.I did not like the way certain things happened in the blogging community and after many months of growth I say #$%@ IT…. I have gotten to a place in my life where according to” de Americans” I just am doing me.

 

It pained me when I read all the emails from people who followed Caribbean Vegan and even if I enjoy a life not blogging I think I owe something to the people that support me if only that.

I have decided to open the blog and only post when I want to release that creative energy…sometimes it would be every 2 weeks …sometimes every week but I will not force myself to do a weekly blog post to get a quota. In this way you will get a better product.

 

What has been up with Taymer since last year?

Well…I have a great job now in HACCP consulting and I also get to release my creative energy in this job as I get to play the role as chef on occasions.

I went back home to Barbados in December to see my parents and dogs..was really great.

My hair grew longer and I am thinking about opening a natural hair blog and youtube channel about how I care for my hair with homemade recipes.

 

I started dabbling in Russian cuisine due to my job and I am excited to show some new adapted vegan recipes.

 

I have a book idea that I want to pursue this year and the first post you would see would reflect what will be in the book. I am also publisher shopping now as I want to find a publisher that understands and respects my work.

 

So that is it for now. I just edited photos for my first blog post and it is out of this world and homemade of course…u know me from scratch cooking!

 

Thank you for your support through last year

It is good to be back.

Taymer

31 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    January 15, 2012 4:17 pm

    This just made my weekend! SO glad you’re back, Taymer!

  2. Anonymous permalink
    January 15, 2012 4:22 pm

    Do you, Taymer!

  3. Anonymous permalink
    January 15, 2012 4:22 pm

    Great to have you back, Taymer!

  4. January 15, 2012 4:22 pm

    Do you, Taymer!

  5. January 15, 2012 4:25 pm

    Yay! So so so happy you are back!

  6. Ruth permalink
    January 15, 2012 5:15 pm

    Welcome back!

  7. January 15, 2012 5:34 pm

    Glad to see you back and blogging!

  8. Anonymous permalink
    January 15, 2012 5:40 pm

    I’m so happy that you’re back! BTW….who’s the poacher? Put them on blast!

  9. celyn permalink
    January 15, 2012 9:45 pm

    Yay, Taymer! So happy you are happy to be posting. You deserve the best.

  10. January 15, 2012 11:47 pm

    SO excited that you’re experimenting with Russian cuisine! I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  11. Nat permalink
    January 16, 2012 12:04 am

    Please do a natural hair blog! I would definitely follow. I enjoy ur book!

  12. January 16, 2012 12:52 am

    So happy you decided to return!

  13. Joy permalink
    January 16, 2012 12:53 am

    Poachers be damned. Do you, as it suits you. You have our support!

  14. January 16, 2012 12:53 am

    Really looking forward to all your creations! So glad you’re back to blogging and bringing more Caribbean to veganism.

  15. Nina the Heartbeat permalink
    January 16, 2012 6:26 am

    Hello, Taymer!

    I’ve just discovered your blog (late, I know!) but it interests me enough to follow it, so I celebrate you’re here, too! :) And thinking of the hair care you want to talk us about… I vote for that idea! I’ve always been trying to make a good natural vegetal creme and some other products, but I’m still not able to find out a good recipe. I would appreciate so much your instructions!

    Welcome again!!

    Nina
    xx

  16. January 16, 2012 7:27 am

    Hi ! I just discover your blog and I’m very excited to see your recipes. I’m a vegetarian blogger (not vegan yet) in the French West Indies (Martinique).
    I made my blog to promote the vegetarian cooking, so even if it’s frustrating to be copied, i just remember my first goal. ;-)
    (sorry for my bad english)

    • Taymer permalink*
      January 16, 2012 7:36 am

      je parle francaise Not on this keyboard as it is qwerty I am happy to meet someone from the French West Indies. I will check out your blog today. I understood what you said about your first goal and I share the same opinion now.

  17. Ellie-Marie permalink
    January 16, 2012 10:40 am

    Glad you’re back…I’ve been cooking like a madhatter from your book. Absolutely love it.

    I hope you stay in your happy place and continue to do what makes Taymer happy, not what everyone else wants.

    I totally dig your natural twist out, and will follow your natural hair blog too.

    : )

  18. January 16, 2012 10:54 am

    I am going to follow you now, I started veganism in August, so I never “knew” you… Thanks for letting your blog readers know what went wrong last year and your honesty has me thinking about my own blogs!

  19. January 16, 2012 1:47 pm

    Hi! Lovely to have you back….. Love and hugs.

  20. January 16, 2012 2:37 pm

    Glad to see you back Taymer! Veganism needs more people like you<3

  21. Jemma permalink
    January 16, 2012 4:13 pm

    Hi, new to the vegan community (actually still a vegetarian but getting there). I needed to change my dietary lifestyle and feel better for doing so. Love your website and am grateful that you have continued with the recipes. I’ve tried many of them. Never knew vegan food could be so delicious. Thanks and G. bless.

  22. January 17, 2012 8:51 am

    Glad you are back Taymer. I found your blog last year just in time to read your “goodbye” message but I was not really deterred so I purchased your book and have been crazy about your recipes. My husband is Bajan and I was so excited to learn how to veganize those recipes. The first thing I made was the Bajan seasoning…that thing is amazing!! Last night I made the TVP stew…lord have mercy I don’t even know where to begin…it is delicious. So, thank you for coming back and for sharing, how ever often you decide to do that. Thank you for the book.

  23. January 17, 2012 2:16 pm

    WOOHOO! So glad you are back! I will be checking in vigilantly. :)

  24. Anonymous permalink
    January 18, 2012 1:16 am

    Glad to see your back! I discovered you blog after you left and out of habit I subscribed to your rss. I’m not a vegan but I love your recipes!

  25. Anonymous permalink
    January 19, 2012 3:17 pm

    Welcome back, and thank you for being you!

  26. January 20, 2012 8:48 pm

    This made my day. Welcome back!

  27. January 22, 2012 11:39 am

    Welcome back!! Sometimes I want to quit my blog too but I just can’t stop! I think your plan of only posting when you need to is a great idea!

  28. January 22, 2012 5:49 pm

    I am so glad to see you are back!!!!!
    I am new to the Vegan lifestyle and am loving it. I am therefore new to your blog. I was sad to see it was down when I found it a couple of weeks ago and am of course ecstatic now!!!!!
    Welcome back.
    Would you recommend using wanton skins instead of breadfruit since I do not think I can get it here in Florida?
    Remember Taymer, God sees and knows EVERYTHING. He knows your heart and will bless you for your efforts. He sees those that steal and profit from you and will deal with each one in His time.
    Continue just being YOU!!!!!

  29. sbg4evr permalink
    February 5, 2012 5:09 pm

    I am so happy you are back. I just started following some of your recipes in your book and each one was so delicious.

  30. Lisa permalink
    February 12, 2012 12:00 pm

    So glad you are back!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,560 other followers

