Skip to content

Goodbye

July 13, 2011

It pains me to write this but I will be closing down the blog at the end of the month. Do not worry the recipes and post will stay up but I will not be blogging anymore.

Why?

There are so many reasons but the main one is that it stopped being enjoyable.

I felt like there was a lack of interest which there is there is no doubt denying that and that is OK. There is only a small number of people interested in Vegan Caribbean food as veganism is a niche blog anyways on its own and it is not like the small number of you do not matter but, it is just not working out for me right now.

I got fed up battling with people stealing my recipes and profiting from them even if that is something I kinda accepted over time.

I kinda felt like I was talking to an empty room and even if this may offend some of you who do read …it felt that way to me.

It started to get expensive because I have expensive taste lol and I could not support it anymore. It was time consuming and I am at a stage in my life where I have to put my energy into  other endeavors.

I want to say I am going on a hiatus but I do not want to let anyone down if I do not come back.

I am starting a new chapter in my professional life and I need to focus my energy on that.

I do care about you the readers so I will keep the fb page open and post recipes in the  note section and post photos just like the blog but it would be in an informal setting of course. I still want to give the small number of you that are interested in Vegan Caribbean Food something to read and some new ideas so I am not giving up the Facebook fan page.

I still owe you two more  ice cream recipes and I will put them up on the page next week.

I want to take this opportunity to thank everyone who reached out to me, commented, emailed or just lurked.

Time to move on.

Love Always

Taymer

60 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 8:36 pm

    :( I am sad to hear this, but I completely understand. I wish you all the best!

    And I’m confident that the recipe stealer will definitely get what’s coming to them.

    Thanks for giving us great recipes!

    • Taymer permalink*
      July 13, 2011 8:37 pm

      yes they will..dont worry you will still be seeing some great food on the FB page: Thanks )

  2. July 13, 2011 8:58 pm

    I understand, too. I’ve had an artificially-imposed hiatus that I’m struggling to break free from, still. Too many outside issues that a re larger than blogging.

    The readers do value your work. I always show my wife the new posts and tell her that I’m going to try this or that (as soon as my schedule frees up).

    We wish you the best in whatever you’re up to next. Gonna miss the blog updates, but shoot for the stars, reach your goals!
    Scott

    • Taymer permalink*
      July 13, 2011 9:03 pm

      Thanks Scott.. There are many recipes on the blog to still try no love lost:) One can only give so much..

  3. Anonymous permalink
    July 13, 2011 9:46 pm

    Shucks, I recently came across your blog and really like it. Hope you keep cookin’!

  4. Christine permalink
    July 13, 2011 11:13 pm

    Totally understandable that you’re ready for a break from the blog and wanting to focus on bigger and better adventures. Best of luck! Would you please post a link to your facebook page? I didn’t find it when I searched facebook…

    • Taymer permalink*
      July 13, 2011 11:16 pm

      sorry I did it.. not bigger and better.. just other things:) Thank you again the facebook page is more active anyways:)

  5. Anonymous permalink
    July 13, 2011 11:23 pm

    Your recipes are amazing. Thank you for all the time and effort you put into this beautiful blog.

    • Taymer permalink*
      July 13, 2011 11:53 pm

      thank you for the love

  6. July 14, 2011 12:16 am

    Wow! Glad you are following your heart even though you will be missed. Blogging is hugely time consuming so I understand, especially your blog with all these amazing recipes! I hope you are still going to move forward with your 2nd book. Even though us Caribbean Vegans are a small niche, we really need your recipes! Best of blessings on all your endeavours from here on. onelove always xx

  7. celyn permalink
    July 14, 2011 12:34 am

    I understand but it makes me sad. However! I will be happy as long as you are. I am sending you an email.

  8. Val permalink
    July 14, 2011 12:44 am

    Sorry to see your blog go. But I understand you need to do what you need to do.
    I wish you all the best and blessing in your new endeavor!

  9. July 14, 2011 7:05 am

    Best wishes, Taymer. I enjoyed your posts (and your cookbook) very much. I visited Barbados once about 5 years ago, and to this day, it remains one of my favorite places. Your blog and cookbook bring me back to that beautiful island! Thank you.

  10. July 14, 2011 9:19 am

    Sorry to hear that Taymer but totally understand especially the feeling of talking to yourself and the stealing of recipes. Look forward to hearing about your next venture

  11. July 14, 2011 10:11 am

    Oh! That makes me so sad! But of course you’ve gotta do what you’ve gotta do. And if you ever need a recipe tester for your super delicious food, you know where I’m at. :) Good luck with your endeavors, I know whatever you end up doing will be fantastic!!

  12. Serenity permalink
    July 14, 2011 11:10 am

    I miss you already…… 8-(

  13. July 14, 2011 11:39 am

    Completely understandable. Food is passion, and blogging should be an extension of that passion. If it doesn’t feel right, it’s okay to walk away (for a break, or forever). It takes a lot of courage to admit something like this to yourself and your followers. I commend you.

    While I’m saddened by your decision not to continue ‘beefing’ up your blog with incredible vegan recipes, I’ll be enjoying the wealth of recipes already available on your site and in your book. Best of luck to you on your new endeavor!

  14. Kay permalink
    July 14, 2011 12:56 pm

    Nooo!! I check this blog probably far too many times a week for new recipes,so I don’t know what’ll fill the void in my daily food blog addiction. Although your blog will be missed, I hope your new endeavor goes well! I know Caribbean veganism is a small market, but for the number of us who are impacted and interested, this was a worthwhile contribution. I jumped right into the Caribbean Vegan cookbook when i got it b/c I was excited to be able to make familiar food that fit my new diet. And boy did it come in handy when I visited family in Grenada this year–I was able to hold my own in the kitchen and not seem so strange to my family:-) So thanks again for what you’ve done. I’ll have to find your facebook page…

  15. July 14, 2011 1:31 pm

    Taymer I love this blog and I am not even vegan! Sure it is a niche but a much needed one. Still you’ve got to do what feels right to you and makes you happy. Good luck in your future endeavours.

  16. goldandgray permalink
    July 14, 2011 2:02 pm

    Just came across your blog while searching for a vegan galette recipe. I’ll be reading through the rest of it over time, everything looks delicious! Thank you for taking the time to blog and share your recipes.

  17. July 14, 2011 6:10 pm

    Going to miss you Taymer. Your food post’s are beautiful. I love reading your post’s about where you live and the food that you grew up eating. It does seem a bit slow right now in the blog arena, maybe because it’s summer? I created a facebook page under my blog name to share with all my friends and family how delicious vegan food is. I hope you continue to create wondeful recipes and hope to see another cookbook from you in the future at least. Take care.

  18. bajangyal permalink
    July 15, 2011 6:12 am

    Totally understad Ms. T. wish you only the BEST in your new chapter. Thank you for beig a pioneer and providing delicious, authentic veggie alternatives to Caribbean classics.

  19. Anonymous permalink
    July 15, 2011 7:05 pm

    Wishing you all the very best Taymer, thank you for all your help
    We’ll miss you!

  20. Anonymous permalink
    July 16, 2011 3:05 am

    Hi Taymer,

    I’m so sorry to hear that you won’t be continuing your blog, but I’m glad that you’ll be pursuing what you wish to be pursuing right now in your life.
    I’ve been following your blog for a while, and I just wanted to tell you that you were NEVER talking to an empty room and I wish that you’d never felt that way.
    Since my parents are from Trinidad, I grew up on Trinidadian and Caribbean food. After following a few vegan blogs, I found that I wasn’t really into many of the recipes. I decided to look for Caribbean vegan blogs – and I found yours. I started reading your posts that day and I kept reading the next one, the next one, and so on. I felt that someone could finally speak my <> language.
    Thank you so much for having this blog. I really appreciate your sharing Caribbean food recipes to the world, and Vegan Caribbean food – even better! By the way, you are beautiful!!!

    Alicia

  21. Anonymous permalink
    July 16, 2011 3:12 am

    ***I meant, “food” language, but I used French brackets, and it didn’t post the “food” part.

    Alicia

  22. July 16, 2011 2:40 pm

    I wish you nothing but the best and you enter and pursue this new chapter in your life.

  23. July 16, 2011 7:18 pm

    Taymer…I am really going to miss you…I am already hoping for you soon return…don’t forget to write every so often…you got my email…hugs sweety.

  24. July 17, 2011 3:45 pm

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipes and beautiful photographs. I hope for the best with the new chapter in your life. :)

  25. July 17, 2011 9:05 pm

    Aw, I hate to see you go.. I just happened upon your blog and am thoroughly enjoying it. Looking forward to testing these things out!

  26. katie permalink
    July 17, 2011 9:17 pm

    So sad not long started reading the blog was finally glad to find vegan food adjusted to my taste bud that I like and eat as I became vegan.
    Love your food has inspired me.
    Please make a sequel recipe book also!

  27. July 18, 2011 8:08 pm

    I’m so bummed! I found your blog relatively recently, and have been enamored with it ever since. I know blogging is a lot of work (I never keep up with mine), but I love reading other people’s vegan blogs, and yours quickly became one of my favorites, precisely because it’s so unique! I’ll miss it immensely!

  28. Ron permalink
    July 19, 2011 3:35 pm

    Well, fudge. Just found your blog. Best of luck! :)

  29. Anonymous permalink
    July 21, 2011 2:35 pm

    I, too, have recently found your blog and am really sorry to see you go! Thank you, Ms Mason, for all of the great recipes! As a caribbean girl, I loved your spin on ‘our’ heritage! Best wishes with your new phase!

  30. Bette permalink
    July 23, 2011 2:12 pm

    Yet another person who just found your blog! Best wishes for your new endeavors. I read vegan blogs not just for the cooking but because they are a rare oasis of kindness in the middle of a giant, mean internet. Thanks for providing that. Take care!

  31. Pat permalink
    July 24, 2011 8:09 pm

    Hello, just found your blog – I am traveling to Barbados this weekend (July 30th – August 5th) and so glad I read this before you closed – it will be very helpful for my trip. I have been worried about what I will eat for the week and look forward to taking all of your suggestions. Hope you reconsider – there are a lot of people out there that will find your information useful. Best of luck to you and thanks again for the information!

  32. Anonymous permalink
    July 26, 2011 11:26 am

    Thank You for all the amazing recipes and the inspiration. I from Barbados and I’ve been a vegan for one year this month abd coming across your website was like striking gold in the first months. Best of luck in all your future endeavours. I’ll miss your recipes but I’ll have the book!!!!

  33. yvette permalink
    July 27, 2011 4:11 pm

    Please do not end this blog it is rich with amazing talent. Be encouraged. I just discovered this site today. You have a gift, hold on you have readers out here waiting to learn more. God gave you this gift for a reason.

  34. Anonymous permalink
    August 4, 2011 3:09 pm

    Sorry you aren’t posting anymore. I’ve only just found this site and it looks great.

  35. August 10, 2011 12:27 pm

    Taymer – it was great to meet you by way of the blog and then get to know you through your book, recipes and email. Sorry you are closing down the blog, but believe me I understand :-) I have been on a particularly hectic schedule hence my delayed reaction – I only JUST read this post!
    Take care and all the best in your offline endeavours :-)

  36. August 13, 2011 5:16 pm

    Take good care, Taymer.
    xo
    kittee

  37. August 16, 2011 10:33 am

    I think it’s hard to keep up a food blog, niche subject or not. Also, I have your book and it is beautiful.

    Don’t sweat recipe thieves. They aren’t fooling anyone and in the end, they’re just embarrassing themselves.

    Good luck!

  38. August 21, 2011 8:00 am

    I totally understand where you’re coming from Taymer, your blog will be missed.
    Take care
    xxxx

  39. jacqui permalink
    September 6, 2011 4:29 pm

    I just came across your blog after looking for some natural based food choices. Thank you for leaving it up.

  40. Anonymous permalink
    September 9, 2011 11:11 pm

    So sad to read. I just found this blog today. For some strange reason I never bothered to look up caribbean vegan food as a blog because I didn’t think it existed. I love this blog. I’m definitely buying the book soon. I hope your still out there cooking up a storm because you are fantastic at it. Thank you.

  41. VenusFLY permalink
    September 12, 2011 10:31 pm

    When one is innovative people will indeed steal and profit. Go forth and profit for yourself. I will continue buying any and all books published by you :) <3

  42. Anonymous permalink
    September 15, 2011 3:57 pm

    Awww. Sad. I love your blog.

    • katie permalink
      October 2, 2011 10:26 pm

      can we have the rest of the vegan ice cream recipes please..
      Finally please can you continue to create and share recipes through more cookbooks or e books if thats easier and less costly. That must give your recipes some sort of protection from those just copying and pasting your recipes without credit aswell.
      Thanks

      • Taymer permalink*
        October 6, 2011 6:42 pm

        Dear Katie, Thanks for writing:) I have been through so much more than what was posted here and I am honestly turned off by cooking and blogging again..I need time to heal and grow from these horrible experiences I had with my book, my blog etc….I just can’t…not now. I have creamer I will make some ice cream and send you the recipes via the email address between now and the new year. I am sorry I could not state publicly the explicit details.

  43. Migsey permalink
    October 5, 2011 4:15 pm

    So sorry to hear that you are leaving. I bought your book several months ago and tried the vegan ham, it was simply delicious and I kept going back for more. Continue to follow your dreams and always put God first in everything you do. As the word of God instructs us to bless them that curse you and love our enemies (yes, even the recipe stealer). I wish you success in your future endeavours. God bless.

  44. katie permalink
    October 7, 2011 9:27 pm

    Katie again.
    Its ok you take your time.
    So sorry to hear you have been suffering so much.
    It sound like you have been through more than any person should ever have to go through.
    I wish you all the best you are in my thoughts and I hope that it all gets better for you.
    Good luck for the future you deserve it.

    Dont give up its all about turning something negative into something positive, when things are thrown at you.
    You have done alot of good with this blog helped people educated supported them and entertained them. Its certainly been a hugely positive influence on my life and I will continue to browse recipes for life.
    Dont let anyone or anything make this into a negative for you its one of your greatest achievements and has left you with many happy and thankful fans.

  45. October 8, 2011 11:33 am

    Just found out that you are putting the blog to rest, and so sorry to hear it. I bought your book as soon as it was available and still have yet to try the holiday ham recipe, which is why I bought it! Well, that one plus all of the other great recipes you’ve shared.

    Good luck with this next journey in your life, Taymer. Maybe looking at it that way will help- life is a series of journeys, it’s never only one.

  46. October 25, 2011 3:44 pm

    You are mistaken! The almost 3,000 people on my http://www.facebook.com/VegetarianVeganVillage LOVE it when I post your blog entries on the page. Also, the Vegetarian page (over 180,000 people). If that is a niche, it is one hell of a big one!!! I also post your book on the pages too sometimes and I have my own copy which I love. Please don’t go. More people love you and your recipes than you know.

    • Taymer permalink*
      October 25, 2011 4:03 pm

      No I meant caribbean vegan being niche. Veganism is getting mainstream

      • October 25, 2011 4:11 pm

        Caribbean vegan will go mainstream too. I am always putting your recipes up and people love the option of this really great food. I am a real fan of this kind of food and you do it so well. You are the goddess of vegan caribbean food! I even said so on one of my pages because it is true. This is a really fantastic blog. We really love you Taymer and we love your food. You would be missed more than you would ever know. I have your Facebook page as one of my groups’ favorites as well. You have done a magnificent job and can be very proud of what you have done here and with that great book. Caribbean food is one of the very best cuisines in the world.

  47. November 5, 2011 11:31 am

    I know how time consuming blogging can be and I fully understand. I signed onto your Facebook page and look forward to seeing more recipes there. Best wishes in all that you do!

  48. Fitzburgh permalink
    March 17, 2012 9:49 pm

    wunna serious!! I jus find this blog yesterday and thinking about de mount ah recipes I could get here. I am a vegan, not a born Bajan (born on St Kitts, West Indian through n through) .. this is very sad to hear :((((

    • Taymer permalink*
      March 18, 2012 8:53 am

      There is no wunna on this blog. It is just me.

  49. Ramona Hansraj permalink
    March 18, 2012 4:28 pm

    Hi I am from Trinidad and I am so sorry you got these problems, I just found your site today via Face Book through Caribbean Pot. I am not a vegetarian but I love your recipes which are simple to follow. I have a lot of friends who are vegetarian and when I invite them over I make vegetarian dishes and I got quite a lot of nice ideas from you. Thank you and may God be with you in your future goals. Thanks for sharing these recipes.

  50. glo permalink
    December 9, 2012 1:08 pm

    I bought your book! It is so good. I found the website in the back and wanted to check out the website. It is sad that you are gone I truly am inspired by your vigor. Hopefully you can see the people you have touched and ignore the ones who try to steal from you. I apologize for that pain.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,560 other followers

