Skip to content

Barbados Week: Making the national dish Vegan Cou Cou and Tofish

November 26, 2010

This is the end of  Barbados week and the end of the Vegan MOFO experience for me as well. I came in kinda scared as I did not prepare my post but I managed to do 20 post this month of vegan food. If you did not get to check the other blogs please do especially since in the USA they celebrated Thanksgiving so you may see lots of Vegan Thanksgiving dinners from yesterday.

Cou Cou and Tofish

Cou Cou and Tofish Copyright Taymer Mason

Cou Cou and Tofu Fish Copyright Taymer Mason

Todays post is about Cou Cou and Tofish which is the vegan version of the National Dish of Barbados which is Cou Cou and Flying Fish. Cou Cou has strong African origins and Amerindian and what  Cou Cou is cornmeal cooked with okras and this carb is slightly salted and topped with a sauce called creole sauce and then the protein which in my case is th e Tofish is served on top. This recipe in in Caribbean Vegan. Tofish is a marinated piece of tofu that is then blackened in a frying pan and topped with a flavourful sauce then topped again with creole sauce. It is full flavoured and the tofu taste is gone meaning the soy taste and what is left is  all the good things about fish without the cruelty. I like tofish as there are no raw spots not bones and you just have a mild flavour from the sea weed and you get to enjoy a really nicely seasoned protein.

Here is the birth of Tofish a year or so ago

Tofish Copyright Taymer Maosn

To make good  Cou Cou quality finely ground cornmeal and fresh okras are best along with a trusty Cou Cou stick. I have about 3 or 4 left and if you  really really dying for one I have abt 3 or 4 left and I can post it to u sometime in several weeks as I heard many post offices worldwide  have stopped shipping  medium sized mail to the USA so I do not know when I can mail it out….but send me ur info anyways if you really need it.

Here is what  some ppl have been doing with left over Cou Cou.  Since Cou Cou loses it mellowness it makes bad left overs but press into cakes and cut and grill or pan fry each side and have the dish another day.

The pic is a little bad as I just made a snap shot of it but you get the idea. Can be cut into fries like polenta fries and served with Tofish and use the creole sauce as dipping sauce.

Copyright Taymer Mason

That is it for Vegan MOFO. I will be blogging weekly again. Thanks to those who read the blog during MOFO.

Tay

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Bajangyal permalink
    November 26, 2010 5:51 pm

    Yum! I love coucou and actually prefer it without any gravy/sauce, I know that is almost unheard of for a Bajan.

    I also employ ‘recycling’ techniques for leftover/day old coucou and imho the resulting crust along with some creative dips makes it even more tatsy.

    Thoroguhly enjoyed your MOFO T…Congrats on seeing it through:)

  2. November 26, 2010 11:05 pm

    Good job on surviving MoFo! It’s been fun following your posts. I’m thinking I need to revisit your tofish recipe :)

  3. November 26, 2010 11:39 pm

    Tofish is such a cute name!

  4. November 29, 2010 9:38 pm

    I’ve never heard of cou cou but it looks fabulous!

  5. June 1, 2012 7:15 am

    I leave a response each time I appreciate a post on a website or if I have something to valuable to contribute to the conversation. It is a result of the passion communicated in the article I looked at. And after this article Barbados Week: Making the national dish Vegan Cou Cou and Tofish Vegan In The Sun. I was actually excited enough to drop a thought ;-) I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind. Is it simply me or do a few of the remarks appear like they are left by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are posting on other places, I would like to follow everything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list all of your public sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Barbados Week: Making the national dish Vegan Cou Cou and Tofish « Vegan In The Sun -- Topsy.com
  2. Win a Copy of “Caribbean Vegan”! | TriniGourmet.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,560 other followers

