Skip to content

Holiday Test Run:Vegan Coconut Bread with More!

December 13, 2009

 

Coconut Bread  aka Sweet Bread

Coconut bread is a hearty cake like bread that is made all over the English  speaking Caribbean. It is perfect for having with coffee or tea. Great for breakfast and just an overall traditional Caribbean dessert. The recipe for the bread differs from island to island like most shared dishes. In Barbados our bread is dry and a little dense. Sometimes when someone gives you a bread it feels like a brick wrapped up in paper! In Trinidad their bread is a lighter. My grandfather offered this bread when he met my bf ( now husband) for the first time and my husband really liked it. My grandfather’s recipe yielded a bread that met somewhere in the middle. The nice hearty crust of the Barbadian coconut bread but the lightness of the Trini bread. I did not want to call my grandfather to harass him about his recipe so I decided to try to make a bread that met in the middle. The bread is made by the creaming method which the sugar and fat are whipped until light. I used a flax egg to bind my bread and I increased the nutritional value by adding wheat germ and some molasses. The result is a light rich bread and a hearty crust.

For Christmas in Barbados we have this bread for breakfast along with an array of other cakes. In the past during Christmas Eve you can smell the aroma of this bread coming from 70 percent of the houses. Currently, many supermarket bakeries make this bread but it is not vegan because they use eggs and sometimes milk so buying this bread is not an option for me. Another thing  is that some people are getting too lazy and they do not want to bake anymore so I am afraid in the years to come no one would be even making this at home. I hope  this does not happen. I will be making this bread for Christmas for my family members and pass it off to others as the vegetarian version to see if they can tell the difference.

Happy Holidays!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sunshine permalink
    December 13, 2009 6:58 pm

    fedex me a slice…pleaseeee

  2. December 13, 2009 11:05 pm

    I like a bread that is somewhere in the middle too – not too light and not to dense.

  3. December 14, 2009 6:01 am

    Wow, I can almost smell this!

  4. rory permalink
    January 9, 2010 8:08 pm

    where is the recipe, now i am dying to make this for my family:)

  5. deby permalink
    September 27, 2010 1:36 pm

    where is this fantastic sounding recipe? my dad is from barbados and is crazy about coconut bread. i make him a typical recipe but i’m dying for a vegan recipe.

    • Taymer permalink*
      September 27, 2010 1:41 pm

      My dad helped me develop an excellent one in the book. I like coconut bread but I am no die hard fan but when that comes out of the oven it converts me into a serious coconut bread eater

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,579 other followers

