Skip to content

Buss up Shut, green split pea Dhal and Curried Pumpkin

December 13, 2009

Buss up Shut (Trinidad) Bus’ Ya Shut( Jamaica) and Roti Skins( Barbados), many different names for the same great flatbread.

Buss up Shut( Paratha Roti) is a type of roti skin and probably the most common one . It is made with a few ingredients rolled out and cooked to give soft fluffy flatbreads. If youhave been following my blog you know I love roti making and this type of roti skin is one that is most commonly used in Barbados. Reason being because it is easier to make than the dhal puri. Dhal puri roti takes a little more time than this version. I started making roti skins when I was about 15 years old and never had any logic behind making them. I would just get the flour fat and salt and hope for the best. Sometimes I got lovely skins and other times I use to get cracker like skins. I never really devised a way to perfect them back then. Roti skins are sold  in the fresh section in Caribbean supermarkets and are  easy to use just open heat and serve but they lack that homemade or restaurant feel. I decided to take on  buss -up- shut again  today taking the advice of my good friend Cynthia. Cynthia told me that roti making gets better with time and after  10 years of roti attempting and making I think I finally cracked the code. Roti dough needs to rest when you are making it and there should be a little fat in the dough.Special techniques such as folding and wrapping yield a flakier dough. Investing in a tahwah is a good idea and what a tahwah is is a flat pan strictly for making roti. If you cannot source one use a round pancake girdle or a crepe pan like I do. A pastry brush is your friend and  your surface must be brushed with oil when cooking the roti. Brushing the roti with oil gives a better texture. Overcooking the roti with little fat makes the roti skin hard and brittle.This is the first time I had roti skins with curry on the side. I usual make a roti parcel and eat it like a burrito.

The split pea dhal is made  using the Indo Caribbean method.To get the peas soft  adding a little baking powder to the peas and some oil before throwing it into the boiling water created a better consistency of dahl almost like a dissolved stew. My husband raved up this curried pumpkin. I did not even mean for it to be the centre of the meal as I just wanted to add some sweetness and colour. I slow cooked the pumpkin in curry and garam massala. I  garnished with cilantro and chilli flakes.

Some of my favourite Caribbean bloggers Felix , Cynthia  and Chennette have recipes for Buss up Shut on their blog with step by step tutorials.

Buss in most Caribbean countries means to break so if I told you I will buss your face it means I am going to punch your really hard in your face and dismember your face. As Chennette said bussing the roti skin is a special technique where your break the hot roti with the hands but I cannot afford to do that.This is why my roti skins look smooth.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2009 11:01 pm

    Looks great. I am ashamed to say that I do have a tawa but have only ever made dhal puri once in my life. I do not make roti skins. It’s too easy to call the roti shop or my in-laws, tell them what time to expect you and get the freshly made skins on your way home from work. Very authentic looking skins Tay

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 13, 2009 11:10 pm

      I had something close to a tahwha but it was looking really busted. Now I am doing it in a frying pan and it sucks.Thanks My puri ones look more authentic as I worked on them for a long time. These are not bad but on Cynthia’s blog she speaks about clapping the hot roti with your hands. I tried it and it was too hot for me so i scrunched it up in a clean tea towel. If I was in Trini or Guyana I would never make them at home either.

  2. December 13, 2009 11:09 pm

    We call it Bus’ Yu Shut in Jamaica (I think) – and of course you’re reminding me that I haven’t had curry goat & roti in a really long time!

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 13, 2009 11:11 pm

      I will add the other name to the post. Thanks Tanya.

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 13, 2009 11:12 pm

      by the way your site is really great.

  3. December 14, 2009 4:14 am

    GORGEOUS! What a beautiful plate of food, I love it! Roti bread is absolutely one of my favorite things in the world, there is no better way to sop up the last bites of delicious food. Yum!

  4. December 14, 2009 8:41 am

    That looks fantaaastic… such a healthy and flavorful meal!

  5. December 14, 2009 4:25 pm

    Ah, paratha! I know roti skins to be any roti that’s not wrapped around anything – so dhalpuri roti, dosti roti could be roti skins too. We buss the paratha with the dablahs (the long flat sticks used to turn the roti on the tawah – pictures on my post), there’s a special art to bussing it on the tawah itself…which I have to say I am not skilled at :-D the key to the bussup shut and what makes it easy to buss or separate is really the spreading of fat and rolling or folding to create layers that separate when cooked – and Mom uses cookeen, which is vegan right?

    Your plate is making me hungry.

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 14, 2009 4:50 pm

      I never heard of cookeen but from my quick research it seems it is vegan. I wonder if crisco can work to. to make it more fatty. I really need a tawah with the amount of roti I make a tawah is something. I cannot source one online so I may have to take a trip to trinidad just to buy one.

      • December 15, 2009 1:26 am

        Ah yes, cookeen is vegetable shortening. Mom always says, paratha is supposed to be flaky like pastry, so why not use what one would use for flaky pastry – so crisco definitely would work!

      • December 15, 2009 9:22 pm

        If it wasn’t so dang heavy yuh know I would send mine to you.

      • Taymer permalink*
        December 15, 2009 10:26 pm

        Cynthia told me i can get one from a store in Barbados for a good price

    • December 15, 2009 9:20 pm

      Ah Chennette I was searching my brain for the name of the sticks used to turn and beat the roti. Was just about to call the mother in law too:-)

  6. December 19, 2009 12:10 pm

    Suddenly I feel for roti this morning. :-) I was about to tell you about the dabla but I see Chennette already explained. Good post :-)

  7. December 20, 2009 8:37 pm

    Oh gosh, and here was I thinking that I would make dhal and roti for you when you come. I gotta to change my plan! :D

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 20, 2009 8:39 pm

      you told me not to give any ideas for the dinner but one thing is that we eat very high protein. Whatever you make for us we would love it. You are tastes like home duh!

  8. March 29, 2010 10:15 am

    I’ve been trying to make roti for the past two weeks on a big skillett. It seems to turn out ok.Where can I get a tawa? Every time I look up roti pans for sale on the internet, I pictures of square roasting pans for roasting turkey, chickens, or roast beef comes up! I mean, what’s up with that? Taymer, are tou a Trini?

    • Taymer permalink*
      March 29, 2010 10:20 am

      No I am Barbadian I will see if I can find an online source for a tawah for u my friend in Barbados bought one for me for 20 usd for a large one and it will last me a lifetime Yes I got frustrated and started looking for a tawah and I did not get the ones I wanted but look out for a mail from me later

  9. Ayad Mohamed permalink
    April 22, 2010 11:38 pm

    I’m still looking for a tawa. Thank you so much, Taymer, for getting back to me in such a timely fashion. It is frustrating that whenever I type in roti pans than pictures come up for roasting pans. I think Americans and people who are not familiar in any way with Indian cuisine think roti is short for rottisserie. Dumb! Please leave me a websiter for a tawa! Thank you so much! By the way, today April 22 is my birthday!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,575 other followers

