Skip to content

Decadent Coconut Orange Pancakes with Spiced Candied Coconut Topping

July 12, 2009
This can be used for a themed brunch or even served as a dessert for lunch.

This can be used foncr a themed brunch or even served as a dessert for lunch.

In my household we eat pancakes every Sunday in what we call “Breakfast Massacre”. It is a brunch that must contain pancakes and whatever we feel like having that day. Let say it is our day off from our healthy breakfast. For the past couple of months I have been making a wholewheat pancake which we are happy with but seeing all the pancake post for the week had me wondering of a different pancake that really represents my style of cooking. The mango coconut pancake was created in my mind but never made it to the table as I gave in and ate the 3 ripe mangoes I had for the recipe…sorry guys! Ok I still had the coconut and two oranges on the counter. The coconut orange pancake was made. There have a very interesting taste because all the flavours work well together. The orange zest and juice mixed with coconut butter milk is the best along with the hint of almond. I could not  cover these babies with maple syrup as these are not your regular pancakes. I had to make a special topping for these and I quickly whipped up a  spiced coconut topping. What is life without chocolate? I made some chocolate ganache for these pancakes and we were in business. It was a real taste explosion. These will not be a regular for “Breakfast Massacre” because they are very special and too good to be eaten every week but, these will definitely be showing their face again for special occasions or when we have house guest. Hopefully I will get around to pairing mango and coconut together in my test kitchen but I give in to ripe mangoes easily so I cannot make any promises. Mango season is almost over I cannot believe it is almost over and I have only made one dish with mangoes.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2009 3:05 pm

    WOW! They look amazing!

    • latay permalink*
      July 12, 2009 3:10 pm

      Thanks Katie forgot to put a back link to ur blog. I am getting old.

  2. July 12, 2009 4:37 pm

    LOL no worries!!! Can I feature you in my next pancake post? Your photo is gorgeous!

  3. latay permalink*
    July 12, 2009 4:45 pm

    yes sure no prob

  4. chowvegan permalink
    July 12, 2009 11:49 pm

    Interesting idea for pancakes, Breakfast Massacre indeed! :-)

  5. July 13, 2009 5:10 pm

    Yum, yum! When I first saw this post, I thought, I hope she’s submitting these to the pancake contest…and sure enough, you did. I love anything with coconut! I also love the idea of a Breakfast Massacre!

  6. July 14, 2009 5:28 pm

    I like the sound of breakfast massacre. :) And those coconut orange dessert pancakes– gosh, they sound incredible!
    I don’t blame you for eating the mangoes– I’d probably have done the same!

    • latay permalink*
      July 14, 2009 7:45 pm

      Yes there are so amazing with the works meaning the chocolate and orange and the spiced coconut topping. I only ate 1 with the works as we did not have the breakfast massacre this Sunday and then we tried them on monday plain and they were great too but I prefer them dressed and just one for a very special treat. You should make them do not us enjoy them alone.

  7. July 22, 2009 11:16 am

    Those sound fabulous! What a way to start your day!

  8. July 28, 2009 12:06 pm

    They look yummy. I love orange so much :-D

Trackbacks

  1. IHOP, Eat your Heart Out « Chocolate-Covered Katie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,580 other followers

