Skip to content

Green Mango Chutney/Relish with Trinidadian Doubles

June 24, 2009

Mango Chutney

When I heard of mango chutney I use to  turn up my nose as I had tasted it in the past and I did not like the overly sweet taste as an accompaniment to my curry. Usually you can find all types of mango chutney out there but  the recipe varies from different regions of Indian. Trinidad and Tobago has a large Indian population and many of their dishes are very spicy curry based dishes. These dishes are not always  like the ones you would find in Indian as they are adapted to suit their environment. I have a big mango tree outside my house and I wanted to take advantage of these fruit that was in season. I was planning on making mango butter but every time the mangoes get ripe I eat them so saving up 10 mangoes would mean I need to discipline myself. I decided to make a green mango chutney. When I say green I mean unripe mangoes. My mangoes were starting to turn a little yellow but by far very green as no sweetness could be tasted. I wanted to make a relish that was mildly spicy yet flavourful with a hint of sweetness so green mangoes were the best bet. There are mango chutneys made with ripe mangoes and you can search for this on-line but I prefer to use the mango here like a vegetable and prepare it green. This is my version of how I like my mango chutney. Green mango chutney is the best thing to enjoy with your curries. It is a match made in curry heaven.

Trinidadian Doubles

Now after I made this mango relish I wanted to do something that could really show it off. Doubles!! I know many of you never heard of it but it is a popular Trinidadian street foodIMG_4924 and it is totally vegan.It is made up of two fried breads which is fritter like in texture and the dough is tasty as it contains cumin,tumeric and curry. It is fried very quickly and Trinidadian style chickpeas and put in the center and you can choose whatever condiments you wish. The condiments are mango chutney,golden apple chutney ,tamarind sauce, pepper sauce, chive sauce and finely chopped cucumbers and chopped onions. It is wrapped in paper and it can get very messy if you do not know how to eat it. In Trinidad there are double men all over the streets and you observe the working folk pulling over to get some doubles before moving off again. I was amazed as I watched men throw doubles in their mouth and  seemed like they swallowed them whole. I love Trinidad!!. The doubles are always so fresh and tasty there. In Barbados there are a few places that sell fresh doubles on the streets now. Since I am not in Barbados anymore I kinda missed eating doubles so I made some yesterday for my husband to try.He really loved it so he got one this morning for a snack. I am jealous because as I took the photos the smell was so amazing. I did not get to wrap it up the traditional way so I served with like a sandwich. Here are two wonderful sites with the recipe for doubles. As I am not a Trini or a double making expert I would send you to these lovely sites which are Trinidadian and they know  doubles better than I do( Trinigourmet and Chennette’s) website.

Home

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2009 11:48 am

    Hi Caribbeanvegan, What a beautiful picture of the chutney with the mango leaves! The chutney sounds amazing. I’d love to give that a try next time I can find some raw mangoes here.

    • latay permalink*
      June 24, 2009 11:51 am

      Thanks. It is a dish that is not motivating but once u make it and eat it with your curries you are hooked. I am sorry I took so long to do some at home.Thanks for visiting. Taymer

  2. June 24, 2009 6:40 pm

    oh this is the best, a fresh grated mango chutney with all our fried delicacies :-) and with rice. I salivate whenever I think about it. There a lady who sold aloo pies on campus in Trinidad, fat, potato-stuffed deep-fried goodness, and she had the best grated mango chutney to fill it with. Oh, I’d have that whenever I could, despite the heartburn…

  3. June 26, 2009 5:52 pm

    latay,

    It looks delicious! I have never heard of Doubles before. It is very interesting to learn about this ethnic food. Your green mango chutney looks great. Thanks for the link to the bara recipes too.

    Debbie

  4. June 27, 2009 8:41 am

    I just love mango chutney – and Doubles sound divine!

  5. October 3, 2009 8:58 pm

    Let’s me honest: Doubles is a reason to get UP in the morning! If you feel like you want to commit suicide, then ask a good friend to bring you some Doubles. You will remember all your reasons for living, plus add a few more, LOL!

    Faith

    • Taymer permalink*
      October 3, 2009 10:07 pm

      yes they are so good it is a food group for me when i have them available. I remember photographing this double and it was for my husband for a snack for work and then he took it up and wrapped it up and i felt so dejected

  6. December 17, 2009 1:15 am

    Went to Trinidad for Carnival for the first time ever this year and ate.doubles.almost.every.day. Yes, Trinis mash up some doubles! I was making friends with every doublesman trying to get extra peppa sauce on mine.

    I find I was not liking how they do roti so much – I am a dahl puri person and a curry connoisseur, and one would think that Trini rotis were hot stuff, but they were not like old style Roti Hut, which is my roti measuring standard.

    And seriously, how do you do your bara?

    • Taymer permalink*
      December 17, 2009 1:20 am

      i do not even remember howi did ths. i have re create it for the book next month. the sites have good recipesbut none of them worked alll the way for me. omg i loved roti hut the one that use to be in ch ch lol now it moved and t sucks hubb does not like trini rotis either roti is roti for me ilike a thin skin the skins on trini roti can be thick sometimes mixed with potato is too carby

Trackbacks

  1. Welcoming a bounty of Golden Apples « Vegan In The Sun

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,561 other followers

